We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Canmore to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would recommend.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night - a girls night out. The rooms were quite clean, spacious and comfortable. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room and didn't have an opportunity to use the restaurant.

My only caution is to check your bill carefully. I paid for the rooms online when booking, confirmed that the rooms were paid in full upon check in and somehow they still managed to charge my card a gain that night. They acknowledged the error when I brought it to their attention, and I'm waiting to ensure the credit was processed appropriately.

In spite of this issue, I would still stay here again and recommend it for a Canmore getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you want a hotel in Canmore that is a little out of the way and quiet this is a great option. Wonderful views of the mountains at every angle (except in the hot tub). The rooms are spacious and come standard with microwaves and fridges (very convenient). The only downside is the restaurant seems to make their own hours depending on how busy they are, we really wanted to have dinner their instead of leaving the hotel at about 8pm and they said the chef already went home and were closing - even they their sign states they were suppose to be open until 9:30pm. Great outdoor hot tub - even though its tucked away at the back of the hotel and doesn't have much of a view of the mountains but still was nice.
The staff were all great!!

Room Tip: Choose one that faces the front of the hotel if you want a unobstructed view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerleo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to Banff. I wanted to see how the city has grown since we passed thru 15 years ago. It was very quaint. It is on the other side of the interstate. So, if you are looking to walk outside and get a coffee, this probably will not fit your bill.

The rooms were quite. They are a little small by American standards. Good bath with strong shower. They did have 2 types of pillows on the bed: soft and firm. But, I found all of them too big as I don't like my neck jacked up while I sleep.

We got this hotel off travelocity and scored a pretty good deal, so overall, I would say I'm happy with our stay. And, I did sleep really good which is always worth bonus points. My husband used the gym and said it was very nice - great towels, clean equipment, bottled water.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view and I don't really know if there is one. Everything is beautiful outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for writing a review and we are glad you took advantage of the great discounts we offer in opaque sites such as Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were there for 2nights in March. Beautiful views even tho it was close to the Highway. It has been renovated about 2-3 yrs ago so very fresh and clean looking. We are Priority Club members and what a joke, they give you ONE bottle of water!!
The biggest drawback would be no breakfast included. The restaurant downstairs had a delicious brunch for 12.95 though.

Room Tip: If u want a high ceiling vaulted room get one facing the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPTAIN0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Right off the highway but rooms were quiet. View from all of the rooms was spectacular and if you are lucky, a large herd of elk will be grazing in the lawn right in front of the hotel!
Staff were excellent - esp the Front Desk staff who had great recommendations for everything in the area. We were there for a large sports event which booked up the hotel but the hotel handled the crowd well.
Only disappointment was the restaurant which was mostly closed and the one meal we did have there was not good. There was apparently a recent staff change so that may improve with more experience.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms on the top floor have lofted ceilings and large windows showcasing the great view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rainyvanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time for your review and I am glad we delivered our promise in most areas. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

To start with the top asset of this hotel: the front desk is handled by two young ladies (Anylis and Veronica) who are the personification of hospitality. Arriving there after a transatlantic flight and a drive from Calgary in a snowstorm, the warm welcome was most appreciated. Rooms are large, clean, with a nice view of the mountains. The city is a couple of minutes away, the highway around the corner, the National Park entrance only 2 miles away. Compared to Banff the price is a plus, and the scenery is certainly not less impressing. Only disappointment: the restaurant was most of the time closed. However the room had a microwave and a refrigerator. A short trip to Safeway and a liquor store solved the catering problem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Overall this is a decent hotel and if it wasn't for housekeeping, easily 4 stars. However, tough to make up for service that is truly inadequate. We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and both full days (day two and three of the stay) the job that housekeeping did was horrific! From what we heard ( we had a number of friends staying at the hotel as well), we certainly weren't alone. One day all that housekeeping did was replace the towels (didn't make the beds, clean the room, etc.,) and the second day they made the beds but did nothing else. We had friends who's rooms were skipped entirely. There's an old analogy - doesn't matter how good the meal is, if the service is horrible, you probably won't go back. That sort of sums up this hotel experience.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank BradChambers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear BradChambers,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We value your comments, as they enable us to further improve our services and to surpass the very high standards our guests expect. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay and we regret you found our housekeeping services less than satisfactory. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.7 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,096 reviews
0.8 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
5.1 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#10 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points
Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing