We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Canmore to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #13 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

On our way to Revelstoke and decided to break the trip with an overnight in Canmore. The Holiday Inn is easy to find from the highway and not far from the town centre. We were upgraded to a King suite with a nice sitting area separated from the bedroom with a fridge and microwave - spacious, clean, and modern - T a very reasonable price. The front desk staff (Analyn in particular) were so welcoming and helpful even charging my phone for me as I had forgotten my charger. It is a nice quiet spot away from the town centre but still close enough to access the services and restaurants. Seems family friendly and there were some corporate groups here too.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    110
    41
    15
    4
See reviews for
71
116
11
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Had to have a weekend meeting, so decided that it could be in Canmore as well as Calgary, so booked rooms and a meeting room at the Canmore Holiday Inn. Everyone was pleased with the rooms, the staff were simply superb, even the meeting room was set up nice and was comfortable. With this being close to an afternoon of snowshoeing, great food in Canmore and the beautiful scenery, this was a great place to be even if you have to get some work done. :-)

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A winter season visit to the Rocky Mountains is a bucket-list item. If you have a week to spend, it is worth renting a condo-style unit, but if you just have 1 or 2 days this hotel will fit the bill nicely. Canmore is the less-expensive alternative to Banff.

The only negative to this hotel is the weird dining room. It looks like an afterthought. No ambience at all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We planned a family ski trip over New Years and enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is close to the highway but you can't hear the traffic at all (and we were facing the highway). That being said, it's a quick exit to Banff for skiing or dinner. The hotel was packed for New years eve and I was worried that it was going to be noisy. There were some party revellers at about 1am but they were not that easily heard and we all enjoyed a good nights sleep. There is no pool and only a small 8 person hot tub. Not easy to find the hot tub empty and quiet so we never used it. Staff are very friendly and the complimentary breakfast is fantastic. There was a mix up with our ski tickets that the hotel supplied when we first booked in October for this event. It is probably best to confirm everything before you come down as we did not and had to buy a youth ski ticket even though we had already paid (they told us in October that the price we paid included youth but it did not). All in all we will stay here again, but will just double check everything before hand.

Room Tip: They do not supply youth ski tickets at all (even though the person at the desk said they did). The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We got a great rate at this hotel and it was perfect as a base for exploring the Rockies and Skiing. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Peaceful setting just off the highway and not far from town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Well you are welcome back anytime! We love hearing reviews like that. We are in the business of making Holidays and if we can be a part of your memories then we know we have done our job!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

We had a good stay here, the outdoor jacuzzi was awesome!! Staff were pleasant and rooms were clean and comfortable, location is away from railway and downtown (short drive to downtown, 2mins tops) which I liked. My first negative is the restaurant, the food was ok, not great but ok. My second is the heat in the room, we turned it off and it just kept pumping- it was -30 C -super cold- but we had to keep the window open, it was still super hot in the room. I would however, stay here again for sure- the rest of the stay was good enough to counter the issues- the scenery was amazing.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We decided at the last minute to head up to Canmore for some skiing and snow shoeing. Most hotels were sold out but we were able to get a room at the holiday in for a fairly good price (given the high season). The hotel seems to be fairly new and the rooms are in good condition. The room was comfortable but could have been a tad cleaner. Nothing outrageous but a few things that should not have been there. Overall, a good value option that is within a 5 minute drive to the main area of Canmore and a 10 minute drive to the gates of Banff national park. This is a good value option and we would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are always constantly looking at reviews as a way to increase satisfaction.

We are conveniently located of exit 89 and we offer superb views and zero traffic noise and the gates of Banff National Park. Sometimes you can glimpse elk, bear and even the local bunny rabbits in our parking lot.

Canmore offers a variety of eateries and activates that you won't find in the National Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points
Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.