We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a setting!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Canmore

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Flexibility & Breakfast!
Ranked #14 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Coquitlam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wow what a setting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nestled into to the entrance of Sliver Tip is this gem... rooms are great! I have stayed there a few times now on my travels and would highly recommend it.

The outside of the inn is more of a lodge with a great fireplace roaring in the entrace. The rooms are extremely roomy and well appointed. Soft towels were also a bonus.

Room Tip: I was fortunate to visit during the week ad was upgraded due to being a priority club member...get o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    102
    39
    15
    4
See reviews for
67
113
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Driving from Calgary to Canmore via the highway 1A you have beautiful sights of the changing country-side onto the Rocky Mountains. Canmore is just a small town, however well equipped with shops and restaurants in a nice surrounding. Although Banff is more attractive and offers a nice variety of attractions - so commendable to visit - the stay in Canmore is more relaxed and not so expensive.
The hotel is quite average: a thorough renovation is becoming necessary ( like for many other hotels in the Rocky Mountains area). However the service was first rate and very friendly.
The room (king bed suite) was large and clean, but old-fashioned.
For the breakfast service one needed some extra time, but the quality was in order.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Very clean and friendly enviornment - close to Banff and Lake Loiuse. Easy access to Bow River and the beutiful trails. Staff were very friendly. Reasonable rates. Only 40 minutes from Banff. I recommend set aside some time to explore the town of Cannmore - especially the Bow River hiking trails.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently for a wedding at SIlver Tip. We were so pleasantly surprised by the excellent staff and overall comfort of this hotel. Our room was clean and comfortable and our view-spectacular! The Three Sisters in their glory! Waking up to that site is just amazing!
We only had one meal-a special brunch arranged by the family and it was terrific as well. I understand that those who dined for breakfast on another day had to wait way too long. Hopefully they will get that straightened out. Proximity to the town of Canmore is good, you most likely have a car if you are travelling through the Banff area. If not, it is an easy 20 minute walk over the bridge to lots of restaurants and stores. I really would like to emphasize the tremendous staff at this hotel. Friendly, accommodating and efficient-just what you want at a hotel when you are travelling.

Room Tip: We were in room 221 and the view from this side was just amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments! 360 degree views will ensure you get what you are looking for when you visit Canmore. Holiday Inns invested a billion on a major refurbishment globally and the result is outstanding. We hope you got to try some of our pillow menu options, soft pillow, firm pillow, neck pillows, is your preference. I am sorry to hear for the inconsistency in the Restaurant and we are taking your comments seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

When we arrived the girls at the front desk were very welcoming and helpful. Every room had an amazing view of the mountains. The jacuzzi room was great, very clean and spacious. The hotel is just off the highway and only a few minutes from the downtown shops and restaurants. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write this review. We hope you get a chance to stay with us again in the near future. Please take advantage of the great offers available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012 via mobile

The view alone is worth every penny! Gorgeous! We just stayed one night and are from Calgary but the view still gets me every time.

Front desk staff was excellent. Professional with a happy demeanour which makes it more of an enjoyable experience.

One drawback was the hours of operation in the restaraunt. We couldn't get a drink at 4 pm on a Saturday afternoon. Not a big deal but would have been nice.

Would go back anytime with no hesitations.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hicanmore, General Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you for your wonderful comments. Unobstructed views is one of the many reasons our guest enjoy their stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, WI
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Newer facility with a recent change in ownership. The staff was friendly but you got the feeling they were new in the business. Nothing really bad just missteps. We were there three nights. On day two when returning in the evening our room had not been cleaned. On day three our keys would not work even though we were booked for another night. We had been upgraded to a two level suite on the third/fourth floor. The suite was nice with a bath on each floor. However, both the air and walls got thinner with the altitude. We could hear the people talking in the next room and they ran their jacuzzi late at night. Filling it was actually louder than running it. The “regular” rooms may not have the same problems. The price was a little higher than warranted for the accomodation overall but it is a touristy area and that may be the norm. We wouldn't be opposed to staying again but would likely look for options next time.

Room Tip: Two level suites have more noise issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Canmore, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Frankee7,

Thank you for leaving us a review of your recent stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re are sorry for any inconvenience the confusion on the room keys and the noise from the other room may have caused you during your stay. I have taken note of your comments and this will certainly be looked into. We do value the comments we receive from our guests as these help us improve the quality and service that we offer.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Canmore

Address: 1 Silvertip Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2Z7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Canmore
#7 Family Hotel in Canmore
#9 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Canmore 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Canmore Hotel Canmore
La Quinta Canmore
Four Points Canmore
Canmore Four Points
Holiday Inn Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.