We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May Long Weekend Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Support an Olympian
Ranked #9 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“May Long Weekend Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Was there for a wedding May Long. Booked a two bedroom and the room was great. Planned to do a BBQ for about 25 guests the night before the wedding. Extremely small ELECTRIC BBQ on the deck, that was totally under qualified for the job. Shared one of the two Gas webers that the hotel has in a communal area which solved the problem, but I could see a real line up during the busy months for those two units.

Great walk to town that we did many times. Find the Boardwalk or Creek path and avoid the main Road.

Only problem with the resort was the extremely illl-equipped swimming pool area. Was surprised at how poorly designed that was.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Jamie M: Thank you for your 4/5 rating regarding your recent trip noting our spacious and clean suites. I do appreciate the comments about the Bar B Q electric grill on the balconies, but by law we are not allowed to have a larger and propane Bar B Q's on the balconies, thus we placed two much larger propane bar b q's in our amazing courtyard. Thank you once again for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    147
    58
    37
    17
See reviews for
217
122
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 via mobile

we saw the rooms last year to book for our wedding and we were so excited. in total we had about 10 rooms booked ranging from 1-3 bedrooms. we were all scattered between the 3 lodges, which made it impossible to mingle with our guests. us personally changed rooms 3 times, the first was so filthy our feet were black, and the night of our wedding our honeymoon suite was already occupied even though we confirmed multiple times. we were "upgraded" to a two bedroom instead, and the ac was broken. all of our guests struggled with their stay, something was broken, missing, and so filthy in each room. when we wanted our room cleaned the cleaning staff told us to contact the front desk with an ignorant look. one time our bed was made and we had to ask for the garbage to be emptied. we left our towels on the bathroom floor so we could get new ones and they we're never replaced or picked up. we didn't even have a clean cloth to wash our counters, all that was there was an old one with crumbs in it. we had one guest change rooms 4 times! thankfully we had a beautiful wedding but the solara was definitely not part of it. I spent my wedding night cleaning the floors so my wedding dress wouldn't be black. I would never stay here again or recommend It to anyone! the only pool was pooped in and instead of it being cleaned it was wrapped with caution tape for the whole weekend. I hope this review will direct other brides and grooms or other large groups! horrible Place to stay. the econo lodge is by far excelling over the solara for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear Lp C: Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Please accept our apologies for all the trouble and inconveniences caused. No excuses can be offered except we have failed in our service.

I communicated directly with you regarding our service and with the hopes of a recovery, but which you declined. Should you re-consider our generous offer, please feel free to contact me personally.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Solara turned out to be the perfect jumping off place to explore the Banff area.

The suite was very comfy, clean and well appointed. It's a short walk into restaurants etc - so the location is great.

For winter travellers there's a fireplace in the living room and both bedrooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Judy L: Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your recent stay with us! Our guests love our fully-equipped and spacious suites and fantastic location. Thank you once again for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great place to stay. We traveled with our family of 5, 2 adults, 3 children and it was a really comfortable and wonderful place to stay. We arrived at 430p for check in, our room wasn't ready, made us wait for about an hour more. Once in our room, we were amazed at how really beautiful the room was. It had a Fully equipped Kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms each with a full bath, and in the deck a BBQ. To add to that a complimentary wine for the time we waited. Yes, it had a few things that I felt were missing such a TV in one room but missing it in the other and a light bulb or 2 burned. Swimming pool was small but we were in and out and only had a few minutes to use it, so nothing we couldn't live without. They also have a theater that shows recently released movies but unfortunately their popcorn machine was not working. Overall, really excellent experience, would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kaadil: Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review regarding your most recent stay with us. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay in our fabulous suites with everything they have to offer and that you found them clean and comfortable. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you and your family on your next trip to the Canmore area.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The air conditioning didn't work for 2 days and after several unsuccessful efforts to fix it, the manager decided to move us to another suite which was decidedly better. Front desk and hotel management were great but no so the housekeeping. In our 9 day stay, the room was only cleaned once but they didn't bother to clean the coffee maker or replenish the coffee.
The rooms are great especially if you can get the view of the mountains. The kitchen is very well equipped. My wife even baked a cake. Great location to visit Banff, Yoho and Jasper national parks - especially Banff.
All in all, it was a great experience. We will certainly stay at Solara if we ever visit the Canadian Rockies again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor in "Chinook" lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review and to rate your recent stay. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with 'home away from home' services and each of us were disappointed to learn of the many issues you encountered with your stay. However do really appreciate the great review. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Solara. When I booked the trip, I requested a mountain view room. Our unit was on the third floor of the Chinook building with very nice mountain views.Thanks Solara! We were right next to the elevator but it was very quiet. The unit was wonderful...lovely furnishing and décor. There were two entrances to our 2 bedroom/2 bath unit. The first entrance led to a beautiful bathroom and bedroom with a fireplace. Large closet with nice robes to use. We loved the cucumber soap they provided in the bathrooms. The other part of the unit had a walk thru bathroom to the bedroom and its own private balcony. We even spotted a bunny one morning out the balcony. The kitchen was large with nice stainless steel appliances and everything you could need. We had a nice size living room with a balcony. TV's were large and we had 3 in the unit so everyone was happy. Internet worked very well and was very fast. We also had a closet with a stackable washer and dryer. The unit and the grounds were immaculate. There was a nice outdoor area with tables, chairs and bbq grills. They show movies every night in their theater and there is even a kids game room. No pool but they have a hot tub, wading pool and kids splash area. They have a well appointed gym with very nice equipment. They even have bikes guests can use. Location is close to town and easy to get on the highway. Banff was 15-20 minutes away and Lake Louise an hour. It was a great place to relax and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. We were third floor of Chinook building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jennifer K: I’m absolutely delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us! Our Team Members always want to provide our guests with a unique and special experience and when we get great feedback like yours, we know we’re meeting our goals! Also Thank you for noting our clean, spacious and well-equipped suites. Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon for a great rate, but even then I'm not impressed enough to return. One person was left to check in guests, resulting in about a 20 minute check in procedure. That's not a good start. The pool area is terrible, good enough for my three year old but my five year old was bored to tears. The childrens activity center is filled with broken toys and games and toys without sufficient pieces to actually use. This enhances creativity as we were able to play with a castle using sand timers as the people. :) Lots of small things in the suite showing a lack of care. My king size bed in one bedroom was two twins pushed together. Even my three year old could feel it was not one bed. Burned out light bulbs in already dark bathrooms. Door handles that fall off of patio entrance doors. Lamp pull levers broken. One robe for a family of four. Overall the suite had nice finishings and great space but without the customer service or decent amenities, I can't see myself returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Lara P: Thank you for selecting Solara Resort & Spa as your resort for you recent trip to Canmore. Our Team is committed to delivering amazing hospitality experiences, and it is with deep regret that we did not achieve this goal during your most recent experience with us. Maintenance is of the utmost importance in the hotel industry and what you experienced during your stay is certainly not a Solara standard. Our goal is always to exceed guest expectations and I would appreciate speaking with you to gather further details. My direct line is 403-609-3600 x15009.

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.