We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay & Spa
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Solara turned out to be the perfect jumping off place to explore the Banff area.

The suite was very comfy, clean and well appointed. It's a short walk into restaurants etc - so the location is great.

For winter travellers there's a fireplace in the living room and both bedrooms.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Judy L: Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your recent stay with us! Our guests love our fully-equipped and spacious suites and fantastic location. Thank you once again for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    141
    57
    34
    16
See reviews for
207
120
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Great place to stay. We traveled with our family of 5, 2 adults, 3 children and it was a really comfortable and wonderful place to stay. We arrived at 430p for check in, our room wasn't ready, made us wait for about an hour more. Once in our room, we were amazed at how really beautiful the room was. It had a Fully equipped Kitchen, living room, 2 bedrooms each with a full bath, and in the deck a BBQ. To add to that a complimentary wine for the time we waited. Yes, it had a few things that I felt were missing such a TV in one room but missing it in the other and a light bulb or 2 burned. Swimming pool was small but we were in and out and only had a few minutes to use it, so nothing we couldn't live without. They also have a theater that shows recently released movies but unfortunately their popcorn machine was not working. Overall, really excellent experience, would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Kaadil: Thank you for taking the time to write an excellent review regarding your most recent stay with us. I’m pleased you enjoyed your stay in our fabulous suites with everything they have to offer and that you found them clean and comfortable. Once again, thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you and your family on your next trip to the Canmore area.


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The air conditioning didn't work for 2 days and after several unsuccessful efforts to fix it, the manager decided to move us to another suite which was decidedly better. Front desk and hotel management were great but no so the housekeeping. In our 9 day stay, the room was only cleaned once but they didn't bother to clean the coffee maker or replenish the coffee.
The rooms are great especially if you can get the view of the mountains. The kitchen is very well equipped. My wife even baked a cake. Great location to visit Banff, Yoho and Jasper national parks - especially Banff.
All in all, it was a great experience. We will certainly stay at Solara if we ever visit the Canadian Rockies again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the 4th floor in "Chinook" lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review and to rate your recent stay. Our team takes great pride in providing our guests with 'home away from home' services and each of us were disappointed to learn of the many issues you encountered with your stay. However do really appreciate the great review. Once again, thank you for your review and I do look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had an amazing stay at Solara. When I booked the trip, I requested a mountain view room. Our unit was on the third floor of the Chinook building with very nice mountain views.Thanks Solara! We were right next to the elevator but it was very quiet. The unit was wonderful...lovely furnishing and décor. There were two entrances to our 2 bedroom/2 bath unit. The first entrance led to a beautiful bathroom and bedroom with a fireplace. Large closet with nice robes to use. We loved the cucumber soap they provided in the bathrooms. The other part of the unit had a walk thru bathroom to the bedroom and its own private balcony. We even spotted a bunny one morning out the balcony. The kitchen was large with nice stainless steel appliances and everything you could need. We had a nice size living room with a balcony. TV's were large and we had 3 in the unit so everyone was happy. Internet worked very well and was very fast. We also had a closet with a stackable washer and dryer. The unit and the grounds were immaculate. There was a nice outdoor area with tables, chairs and bbq grills. They show movies every night in their theater and there is even a kids game room. No pool but they have a hot tub, wading pool and kids splash area. They have a well appointed gym with very nice equipment. They even have bikes guests can use. Location is close to town and easy to get on the highway. Banff was 15-20 minutes away and Lake Louise an hour. It was a great place to relax and we wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view. We were third floor of Chinook building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Jennifer K: I’m absolutely delighted that you had such an excellent stay with us! Our Team Members always want to provide our guests with a unique and special experience and when we get great feedback like yours, we know we’re meeting our goals! Also Thank you for noting our clean, spacious and well-equipped suites. Once again, thank you for your review and I look forward to hosting you again on your next trip to Canmore!


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spruce Grove
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a Groupon for a great rate, but even then I'm not impressed enough to return. One person was left to check in guests, resulting in about a 20 minute check in procedure. That's not a good start. The pool area is terrible, good enough for my three year old but my five year old was bored to tears. The childrens activity center is filled with broken toys and games and toys without sufficient pieces to actually use. This enhances creativity as we were able to play with a castle using sand timers as the people. :) Lots of small things in the suite showing a lack of care. My king size bed in one bedroom was two twins pushed together. Even my three year old could feel it was not one bed. Burned out light bulbs in already dark bathrooms. Door handles that fall off of patio entrance doors. Lamp pull levers broken. One robe for a family of four. Overall the suite had nice finishings and great space but without the customer service or decent amenities, I can't see myself returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear Lara P: Thank you for selecting Solara Resort & Spa as your resort for you recent trip to Canmore. Our Team is committed to delivering amazing hospitality experiences, and it is with deep regret that we did not achieve this goal during your most recent experience with us. Maintenance is of the utmost importance in the hotel industry and what you experienced during your stay is certainly not a Solara standard. Our goal is always to exceed guest expectations and I would appreciate speaking with you to gather further details. My direct line is 403-609-3600 x15009.

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
622 reviews 622 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

My wife and I are retired and travel 7 months out of 12 and have for the passed 3 years so we have stayed at many more hotels then the average couple.We should have realized we were in trouble when the directions we got were wrong and it took us 35 minutes to find Solara after getting off at the right exit. Not only did we try using the directions , but we asked 3 different locals with out much help. The front desk people were very nice, but didn't know much about what was going on. The only person was a saleswoman Faye and we got the impression the front desk people were summer help. We were given a room as far away from the elevator as possible. The room was set up very nice, but we couldn't get wi-fi and the walk was too great for my wife who has 2 hips replaced. After much to do they did find another room which wasn't as nice as the first, but it was closer. In this room they had to give us a cable to connect to the internet to make it work. The A/C didn't work so we had to keep the windows open and they must have sent at least 3 different maintenance men to try and fix the A/C, but no one could make it work. We used the washer dryer that was in the room and during the spin cycle the units moved so much the the dryer which was on top of the washer was hanging over the washer and the whole set up had moved 2 feet from where it started out. They fixed that and I spilled some water on the kitchen floor so I wiped it up with a wash cloth and my foot. The floors in the kitchen hadn't been washed we think in, well who knows. I did take pictures of the filth and in fact Faye also saw it when she came to check on the room. The next morning housekeeping came to make up the room and we were 15 minutes from leaving so we asked if they could come back in 15 minutes and we saw them when we were leaving and said the room was ready to be made up. When we returned at 5:30 pm the room was not made up so we called and Faye came to check with the house keeping people and were told after we told them we were out of the room in the AM that they couldn't get to our room because they had others to do. If it could have gone wrong at Solara it did. When I saw this was the worst place we ever stayed at believe me it was a horror show at best. They did credit us for one night and seeing Faye's face when she saw the filth was priceless. If they get there act together it might be a good place to stay. It is in a good location, the rooms are larger than most hotel rooms, it has a full kitchen and washer and dryer. I can say that we will be talking about Solara for many years to come and not in a good way.Oh I almost forgot many of the light fixtures were broken because they were very cheap units. One of them we needed to plug in and unplug to turn it on and off, because it had not other way to work. LOL As for the wi-fi we have a computer, a IPAD Air, a cell phones and 2 Samsung S4 cell phones, none of them could get a signal in the first room and it was very poor in the second.

Room Tip: Check out whatever room you get and make sure it's clean and things work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Richard F: The team at Solara is shocked regarding this review. The vast majority of our valued guests thoroughly enjoy the tremendous value we provide!. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your experience at our hotel, and we will be reviewing your comments with our team to improve the product and services within our hotel.

Thanks again for your feedback,


Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I just returned home having spent two days and nights at Solara in Canmore. It was an outstanding experience. We had a group of 9 leaders from a company gathering for a two day working session. The rooms were beautiful and inspiring. Shared accommodation with separate rooms allowed for additional connection time in a comfortable way. The staff was excellent - friendly and helpful. The fitness facilities and spa are top notch. The location is also convenient - the short 15 or so minute walk to our favourite restaurant allowed for additional outdoor time and ability to appreciate the views. We met couples, families and conference groups all staying at the resort and all seemed equally happy. I highly recommend it. I guess the elevators could be a little faster but that was a reminder to slow down, breath and enjoy the mountain environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darryll H, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Phil M: Thank you for taking the time to post an excellent review regarding your recent stay with us! I’m pleased you enjoyed our location, steps away from downtown Canmore. Thank you also for mentioning the One Wellness Spa located in our main building. I have forwarded your positive comments to them. I look forward to hosting you and your colleagues again on your next trip to Canmore.

Kind Regards,

Darryll Hunter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.