We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Support a Olympic Athlete
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here as a mini-vacation from our regular lives in Calgary. Our girls like the kids play room and the pool. One thing to note is that the pool area has a hot tub, and the kids splash park, and a little wading pool, but no "real" pool for adults, so don't expect to be doing laps here.
We had the two bedroom premium suite, which was massive and very nice. The en-sute bathroom was larger than some hotel rooms I've stayed in! The beds were nice, and there were extra duvets in the closets if you somehow were cold. We like it to be cold while we sleep, and these large buildings stay warm, so we ended up sleeping with the windows open, despite the freezing temps outside. That may not be an issue for most people. Location is not close to other Canmore attractions, so you'll be driving everywhere.

Not cheap, but we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Premiums suits are on the top floor, and are apparently quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Good day Calgary_guy_yyc,
Thank you for your nice review, it always is appreciated. Certainly that without being "specifically" a children resort, we do indeed have facilities that kids always appreciate … consequently parents also!

We have great pride in the level of luxury of our amenities and suites, so very happy that you have enjoyed it. We do have many frequent peak periods that yes our resort gets rented for a certain price, but I would encourage you to sign to our e-club on Bellstar website. This will allow you to receive all our offers along the way. You will greatly appreciate some incredible promotions as different periods that will let you enjoy Solara once again at some very special price.

I look forward to see once again, and please do not hesitate to let us know on your next reservation that you are a valued repeat guest, you will automatically access a much better rate.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    163
    68
    40
    18
See reviews for
244
134
8
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We stayed in Solara Resort & Spa of Canmore for a week during June 2013. It was for a relative's wedding. Unfortunately, the wedding was cancelled due to flooding in Canmore even in Calgary. It rained for 3 days. We lost power and stayed in dark for about few hours. And later, we were told the water source was contaminated and we can't even use it for brushing teeth, etc. It was horrible experience. We stayed in 3-bedroom suite on top floor. Our room has balcony. However the side we are facing has a giant fan below. It's constantly on and make huge noise day and night. The only time off was during resort lost power ironically. The resort looks pretty new. Next to the check in desk, there are space set up for selling those units. However, during our stay, we saw paint starts to peel off the wall due to water leak in the wall some places. There are buckets here and there in the hallway on our floor to collect water dripping from ceiling. I'm very disappointment on the quality on this resort since it appeared to me it's supposed to be very nice resort. All and all, during the whole disaster, the resort management didn't provide any help or any compensation for our lost. It feels like they don't even care. What a horrible experience.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Good day flypig100,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts in regards to certainly the most terrible period that Alberta has lived in years. I regret that your event in Canmore was obviously affected by the flood, which was a Provincial disaster. We did, as you mentioned, have to place some buckets in some of the hallways since the water has been such falling for days. Frankly, we have been very lucky to sustain very limited damages as opposed to most of the city here. A good part of the residents had simply a river going through their living room.

I cannot explain why you have this impression that nothing was done by us at this period. I actually invite you to go back read all the comments on Trip Advisor regarding that same period of events as so many people simply thanked us for actually keeping them informed all the time. More precisely, we did call all the rooms the first few days when any major changes happened, such as reopening the roads. As you must remember, no roads were accessible coming in or going out of Canmore. Yes at some point, the city restricted the use of water for possibly being contaminated from the flood. We did actually provide bottles of water to all our guest. The lobby was immediately also transformed into a "crisis room" from where the news were on, the recent changes were all updated and any important communication was actually passed on. Our guest being "trapped" at the hotel, we did only ensure to cover a minimum of cost for the hotel and guest were actually "very pleased" with this. Our guest have been actually thanking us for this.

Finally, we even then welcomed emergency personnel from RCMP and CP rail mainly. We also reached out to the city and sheltered a dozen of families for weeks/months that had no other homes!

Again, I encourage you to look at any comments we have received for that period that proudly thanked us and others locally for being a solid united community at that difficult period. But I truly apologize that this act of god has affected your stay in Canmore for your friend wedding.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fort mcmurray
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Solara is a ultra modern condo styled hotel in Canmore. Honestly, it feels like a friend lent you his home for the week or week-end. Everything is clean and modern. The bath and shower set up are super nice, the three way shower is to die for. A lot of these places are nice but the shower sucks, or the linen sucks, not here. The bed is very comfortable, again with good linen. There is a movie thetre downstairs, looks to hold about 100 people or so. There is a hot tub pool downstairs as well. I have stayed in many places in the area, this is without a doubt the nicest so far. There is not a lot of natural light, so if this is a prerequisite, you may not like it. The kitchen is super modern and everything works fine. The location is on the main road thru Canmore, so everything is close. The desk staff are uber personable, would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: There are view rooms available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Good day GarywFortMcmurray,

Thank you for your kind and especially very fair review; you obviously have some good experience of the Canmore area.

We indeed have some incredible quality amenities at Solara that our guest simply witness by themselves and appreciate without a doubt; basically our units were made of taste and quality. But we now reach, as the "uber personable" members of the front desk, a fine team of dedicated professionals that seeks to assist such guest as you, including in maintenance. Even having enjoyed fully your stay with us, please let us know what we could have done better for you. We will then be grateful to welcome you back.

I hope to hear personally from you for your next visit,

Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Imagining our wedding day and even more important ,the honeymoon, was nerve racking. My friend told me about Banff and as I looked into it I found The Solara Resort and Spa. We were amazed ,not only at the facilities , but how true online photos were. Well the photos were exact.From check in to leaving service was good. We had some trouble locating maintenance after hours for washer machine problem in our room. The amenities in the room were very nice to have. Fireplace to full kitchen were great. Banff National Park,the town of Canmore ,was nice and real close to Banff made vacationing here truly amazing.
We did cave exploring ,private fishing charter and alot of trail hiking ,all were life long memories and of course marrying such an amazing woman to share these adventures was great.

Room Tip: Just a small problem with washer in room and the fact we could not get a maintenance was the only ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Good day Reenche,

Well, what a pleasure to see that while already experiencing one of the few most important moment of your life, that our little piece of life of this world, .. Solara, did actually completed a beautiful and unique time for you. Thank you, we are very greatful and I certainly hope we can welcome you back anytime. Please let me know absolutely.

I truly wish you the best for a lifetime of happiness:-).

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

When we booked this condo we were expecting to find a different sort of place. The rooms were nice and well appointed, the beds comfortable (please give us a sheet and maybe a blanket instead of just a thick comforter!), but the building design felt more like a hotel than a condo. (We were also surprised to find that this part of town is condo-land with many, many condos in the area.) The spa facilities seem very nice, the gym had some great equipment and a pleasant layout. The parking situation was somewhat awkward but better than the 'maybe this time it will work' elevator situation. We had to contend with some noise from the hallway and the room above ours -- loud closet doors, furniture rearranging and noise from their open balcony. We enjoyed a beautiful mountain view but uncomfortable seating on the cramped balcony. The furniture in the living room area wasn't very comfortable and made for awkward television viewing. Aside from stained carpeting by the elevator/hallway, the room was clean and well maintained. The staff was friendly.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Good day PJ P,

Thank you for your last review with Solara. Certainly that the style and range of accommodations in Canmore are all mainly based on condo type, especially for the size and luxury of the amenities.

From your comments, I am happy to let you know that our bi-annual full cleaning of the carpets was done since then and they look immaculate. I hope you'll have a chance to see it also by yourself soon. I am sorry to see that some of yours neighbors were loud as we are not known for being a loud type of clientele. But obviously there are many type of guest. I hope however we'll have the chance to see you back soon at Solara. Please let us know at the time as a repeat guest.

Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at the Solara was so wonderful, we are already planning to do this again next year. We were two couples sharing a two bedroom condo and it was excellent. We were able to bring snacks and food to make our own breakfast and the kitchen had all we needed. Us ladies spent a good portion of a day at the spa and were treated extremely well there. Frederique at the front desk was excellent and helped us not only to find the restaurant we wanted to go to but she made a reservation and called a cab for us as well. Everything was very clean and set out nicely in the condo. We were very pleased with the value of the condo and the spa had mid-week prices that even though were went on the Monday of a long weekend made it quite affordable for the lovely treatment we received. The next time we're in Canmore, we will check for this property first.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Good day MollysMum661,

Such great to read your comments on having a great long week-end at Solara. I will make sure to pass on your comments to the One Wellness & Spa team since you kept such a royal souvenir from their treatments.

As for the hotel services, I will also ensure to let know all front desk team and most especially Frederique for the appreciation of their services. Frederique is actually with us since a very short period of time and has shown such great skills and professionalism with the guest.

I thank you for your visit and look forward that you come back visit us and please let us know ahead as a valued repeat guest.

Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Solara for 2 nights in September. We have stayed in many types of condos, B&Bs, vacation rentals & hotels over the years and were disappointed with our stay here. The room itself was beautiful, however, we had to keep our windows closed and could not use the balcony as we were located beside a large exhaust system of some type which was noisy and smelly. Our room was missing a few of the items it was supposed to have so we had to call to have them brought to us and to ensure that we weren't charged for them upon checkout. We tried to call the front desk several times and were unable to get through which was frustrating. The location is good and the one bedroom suite was beautiful but when you're paying top dollar, the expectations are higher for the full experience to be 5 star.

Room Tip: Be sure to request a room away from the noise & smell of the ventilation system. Check the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean-Francois B, Regional Director at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Good day Ontariosunseeker1,

Especially coming from a far distance as Ontario, it certainly is very disappointing to read that you were not satisfied as you deserved, regardless of the price. I appreciate you loved the quality and luxury of the units, but truly apologize for the inconvenience you had. Basically, the disappointments you expressed can be put on two elements:

First the noise of the surrounding ventilation fan: We are already taking the necessary steps to ensure we can correct all the recent additional noise that the building ventilation system has been producing. The site is still made of 3 large buildings and necessity some complete systems, but certainly that it should not affect your stay as it did. We heard well your constructive comments and will ensure to correct it as much as possible. I thank you for this.

Secondly the calls at reception: Large occupancy means occasional large number of simultaneous calls. However, it definitely is unacceptable that we could not take your calls repeatedly. I assure you that this is not at all our usual efficiency and will ensure to put a strong focus with our team on-site.

Especially as a frequent guest of various types of accommodation, we would love to have you experience once again our property at its deserved level. From spring time (exact date to be confirmed), we’ll have a full complete new restaurant and bar at Solara which aim to be the warmest, most beautiful and most welcoming in Canmore. Please let us know if you consider visiting again the area as this would be a perfect time for us to impress you at your deserved level. I would be delighted to assist and welcome you as a valued repeat guest.

Thank you again for your constructive comments.

Sincere Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Canmore
0.0 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
4.6 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mystic Springs Chalets & Hot Pools
1.4 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#9 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.