We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful place!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EARN $50 HOTEL CREDIT
Ranked #11 of 32 hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersGold level
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“What a beautiful place!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Solara from may 18th to 20th and we're very impressed with this place. Being 5 We had rented a 2 bedroom suite with sofabed. Both bedrooms had a tv and fireplace as the living room did. A beautiful gourmet kitchen with luxury kitchen accessories. 2 beautiful bathrooms with body jets in both showers. The balcony had a table and 6 chairs and a BBQ. There is a water play area for smaller kids, a wading pool and a hot tub, so no pool for bigger kids to play in, that was kinda surprising. The Resort is about a 10 minutes drive from downtown and hiking areas. All and all I definitely recommend this place. Will certainly return!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Daniel_Sophie,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Solara Resort & Spa. We thoroughly enjoy feedback such as yours, and we are glad to see that you and your family were able to use a lot of our amenities in and out of the rooms. I also hope you were able to make use of our 98 seat theatre that features 2 movies a night, with popcorn buckets and treats available.

We look forward to your return. Please do not forget to take advantage of our Loyalty Program with discounts at all Bellstar Hotels & Resorts.

Yours In Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    191
    80
    37
    26
    13
See reviews for
141
81
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

April 2013 my wife and I spent our anniversary at Solara. This was a wonderful treat and fabulous property. It is an easy walk downtown and easy access to whatever you want to do. Parking underground was excellent and our one bedroom suite with balcony was incredible. It is well thought out and had everything to make our weekend special including a free movie in the theatre at Solara. We will be going back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Rwillie_53,

We are always so honoured to be able to host such special occasions like anniversaries!

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience with the Trip Advisor community, this is such an excellent platform for travelers to comment and provide true insight to assist others in making the often difficult choice of what resort to stay at.

Solara Resort & Spa is a fabulous setting to celebrate a romantic weekend away! With the cozy fireplaces in the living room and bedrooms, breathtaking views, as well as some of our units boast a lovely soaker tub for a romantic relaxing time. We have romance packages available as well to enhance our guests stay available upon request as well as the ability to have champagne, wine of choice, rose petals, etc! Our team loves to know when our guests are celebrating something special at the time of booking so that we can anticipate and help set the stage for a memorable and romantic time spent together.

Our team looks forward to hosting you once again and hopefully assist in making more magical memories.

Yours In Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Have stayed twice recently for wedding planning visits and not disappointed. Great staff and suites are very very clean spacious and quiet. Great destination. Stayed in great view rooms well appointed.

Room Tip: Upgrades are worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Thank you Amy K!

It's always such a treat to hear great reviews like yours and we appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences you had during your stay at Solara Resort & Spa. Our Resort is very spacious and an excellent destination for all sorts of gatherings such as weddings, reunions, holiday gatherings etc.. I hope you were able to partake in some of our amenities such as the relaxation pool and hot tub, the 98 seat theatre or perhaps the One Wellness Spa.

We would love to host you again if or when you return to the Bow Valley. If you choose to stay with the Bellstar Resorts please remember to take advantage of the Loyalty Program and recieve your discounts.

Yours In Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I recently booked 5 rooms for 3 nights at this hotel for a work retreat. Of the 4 hotels our groups has stayed at in Canmore in the past 2 years this was by far our favorite. The accommodations were deluxe! We had 4 -2 bedroom suites and 1 premium 3 bedroom suite that we also used as a meeting space which worked well. The suie had a large balcony and comfortable ambiance. We brought in our own food for breakfasts and had lunch catered and brought in by various Canmore restaurants. We decided not to book the meeting rooms as one was very small and the other did not have any windows. If you are going to work in the mountains, it is nice to enjoy the view! The kitchens were well equipped, the bathrooms were lovely, the linens were cozy and when you asked them to replace your towels they did. The theater is a nice amenity and several of our group enjoyed the spa. The only complaints our group had was about the noise in the rooms and hallways that sounded like motors and fans. Also, the hot tub would be more enjoyable if it were outside or at least had a view of the beautiful mountain scenery.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hallways have great windows and fabulous light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My gf and I had a 2 night stay at the Solara Resort and Spa on April 26th - 28th for a good friends wedding. We had the bedroom suite and it was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Hardwood floors, granite countertops, stainless steel appliances (full size fridge with ice maker, stove/oven and dishwasher) and 2 fireplaces (although these were not functional and only cosmetic - they did not actually give off any heat). The shower/tub was simply fantastic as it had a rainshower head and 2 horizontal jets that just doused you in water. 2 lcd flat screens, one in front of the couch mounted on the wall over a fireplace and another in the bedroom in front of the king bed. It was spotlessly clean and even had a washer and dryer. The good size balcony had a patio set so you could eat outside and take in the fresh air. The bbq unfortunately wasn't gas/propane and was electric but it still did the job on the steaks. We unfortunately did not have any time to book at the spa but the hot tub was great. The suites are super quiet and I could not hear anyone in the surrounding rooms or in the hallways at all.
I definitely would recommend Solara if you just wanted a very relaxing getaway and also the ability to prepare your own food so you don't have to eat out for every meal.
Hats off to the front desk as they were very pleasant and friendly especially the long haired blonde (I'm really sorry I forgot your name) who checked us out and let us come back and search our room to try and find the ring I had lost :(
All around excellent stay and absolutely amazing suites!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Four of us gals stayed in your wonderful resort. We booked a 2 bedroom, 2 bath premium suite and it was worth every penny! And it was still very reasonable. The bedrooms and baths were spacious and luxurious - perfect for bubble baths. The living area, balcony and kitchen were all well appointed.
We requested an early check-in, and the front desk advised me on my cell that the room was ready. Great service at the front desk and beyond. We'll all return again for sure!

Room Tip: Choose a premium room - well worth the extra dollar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear LUCKYLADY10_99,

Wow thank you for taking the time and sharing you recent experience at Solara Resort & Spa!

We are so pleased to hear that you and your friends had such a great time! We always love to hear when our guests are able to enjoy the resort and create lasting memories! Our 2 Bedroom Premium units are perfect for friends gathering, family stays, as well as wedding events. They provide the largest living areas of our two bedrooms as well as a large kitchen space- great for preparing a meal in the gourmet kitchen or just sitting around catching up! All of our premium units are on the top floor with vaulted ceilings and of course a spacious balcony with a BBQ that can be used rain/snow/or shine!

Our entire team at Solara is dedicated to providing exceptional service as you have experienced! We are here 24 hrs a day and are always ready and waiting to offer up activity and restaurant suggestions, or provide complimentary DVD rentals to be view on our PS3 players in the event that a quiet night in is on the itinerary!

Thank you again for your excellent review, remember you are now part of the family and are eligible for our guest appreciation rate! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours In Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, ON
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We would like to thank everyone at Solara Resorts for making our trip so memorable. Our apartment was perfect and had everything we needed. Great location, close to town. A special thank you to Shannon at the front desk, very polite and helpful, lot's of great information to make the most of our stay. Spa was also wonderful, great service.

Room Tip: Great views of the Three Sisters!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Wendy06,

Thank you for you fantastic review. The staff at Solara Resort & Spa are constantly striving to meet our guests needs and excell in service excellence. It's always a pleasure to read that our guests have had the opportunity to experience this and share it with others.

The Spa is a great amenity that many of our guests get to enjoy. I hope you also had the opportunity to take advantage of our theatre as well as our relaxation pool and hot tub.

We would love to have you back, please don't forget to take advantage of our Loyalty Guest program on any of our Bellstar properties as well as take advantage of our packages and specials which you can recieve on our e-club program.

Yours in Hospitality,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canmore
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.