We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in style...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stay in style...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful at the front desk. All my questions were promptly and politely answered when I called the service desk. We booked several rooms for our family members attending our wedding; the room layout varies widely from room to room, but none will disappoint. The event coordinator, Monique Hendrickx, was extremely helpful and accommodating arranging room reservations for our wedding guests and family.

Room Tip: You can hear the loud return-air vent from about mid-way down the hallway from within the nearby uni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Ryan W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate all feedback and are always pleased to see our hardwork and training being recognized by our guests.

Next time you choose to stay at a Bellstar Hotel & Resort don't foget to mention that you have stayed with us before and take advantage of our loyalty guest discounts.

Yours in Hospitality,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    72
    34
    23
    11
See reviews for
128
76
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

In January, I had a great time at Solara. The Spa was small but accessible and friendly. I had a great massage there and love the amenities in the locker room. They do have XXL robes for us plus sized people!

The service was good and the front desk answered any questions I had with appliances, thermostat malfunction and fireplaces.

I enjoyed my stay and love the easy access to the heated underground parking in Canadian winter.

Room Tip: Be prepared to wait on a holiday if you're room isn't cleaned ahead of time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Bluewater08,
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write such a great review. We are very proud of our amenities at Solara Resort & Spa, and have a variety of them ranging from a fun splash park for children, to a movie theatre for the whole family, and, as you have mentioned, a luxurious spa for our guests to enjoy.
We look forward to hosting you again. Please remember to take advantage of our loyalty program and get your lifetime discount at any Bellstar Properties as well as join our E-club news letter for any upcoming specials or packages and what is happening on and around the Resorts.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Yours in Hospitality,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Our stay at the Solara Resort & Spa was appalling. I fully agree with the other negative reviews on here. Staff are rude and as for the management, don’t bother wasting part of your holiday trying to resolve an issue. Both managers are condescending and abrupt with an “I can not be bothered attitude”

The rooms are spacious with good appliances, but poorly finished, cleanliness is below standard for a resort like this: Dirty Dishes, Pet Hairs, Marked bedding, Debris on the balconies! The list really does go on…

As for billing issues, we had a battle at reception as were quoted one price and given confirmation and then on departure our bill had increased by 30%!

The location is great but there are many more resorts in Canmore where you can actually relax and enjoy your holiday.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Samantha63,
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive. This helps in our continuation of training for service excellence.
I do apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. I have shared your comments with our Team and the Department Managers in order to correct and improve in all these areas. We do ask that if issues arise during your stay that you bring them to our attention immediately in order to have the chance to rectify the situation and have our guests enjoy the rest of their stay.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Yours in Hospitality,
Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently went to Canmore to ski in Sunshine. My husband and I our two year old son and our parents thoroughly enjoyed our three bedroom condo at Solara! With 1400 sq ft on the 4th floor the 5 of us had ample room to stretch out and relax, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms spacious, kitchen was wonderful for cooking. The condo was very clean and we had wonderful views of the mountains. The resort itself has many options for family activities. We were able to use the pool with our son each day, enjoy a movie in the theatre and hang out in the games room. Fabulous resort for couples, friends and families looking for a home away from home with the perks of being in a resort. We also went to the Spa at the resort. It was fabulous and relaxing! Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear TravellinMama17,

Thank you for choosing the Solara Resort & Spa for your home away from home. We all enjoyed reading your wonderful review. It’s nice to see that you were able to enjoy the amazing ski hills of the Valley that have some of the most breathtaking views, as well all the amenities the Resort has to offer.

We do have some amenities that no other properties have, such as the movie theatre (the only one in Canmore). Out teams also enjoy movie time, nothing beats the delicious aroma of fresh popped popcorn in our lobby for our guests to enjoy. On special occasions we also have complimentary fun filled activities for the children and family such as waffle mornings, scavenger hunts and arts and crafts day.

We look forward to your next visit with us. Please make sure you inform us that you are a repeat guest to enjoy our loyalty program and join our E-club to get up to date information and specials on our Resorts.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had the chance recently to spend a weekend at this wonderful resort. We wanted a quite relaxing retreat away from the city and despite the resort being busy it was peaceful. The suite was excellent and provided us everything we needed. Very luxurious 1 bedroom with 2 fireplaces and a deck with BBQ. We used the property as a home base and spent one day in Banff. If you are looking to get away in the mountains and want to enjoy some quality time relaxing and making some of your own gourmet meals this resort is perfect. I found the kitchen to be fully equipped.
We enjoyed the pool, however ran out of time to visit the Spa. We have added this property to our list of great destination properties and hope to return next time with friends. Thanks Tanya and staff for providing us with a great western hospitality.

Room Tip: If you are planning to make some of your own meals everything is provided for you, from plates and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear StonyCowboy,

Thank you for staying with us at the Solara Resort & Spa. We are delighted to see that you had such a perfect weekend away at our resort. I am pleased to read that you made use of most of our amenities here at the resort and next time around hopefully you can take advantage of the beautiful spa and what it has to offer.

When you decide that you want to get away and enjoy the Majestic Rockies and one of our Bellstar Resorts again, please let us know that you are a repeat guest and enjoy the benefits of our loyalty program. You can always join our E-club program that will alert you of any upcoming specials and packages as well as what is going on within and around our resorts.

Thank you for your review and looking forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed numerous times, each time brought it's own issues, each time the management apologies, promise to do something about it, the next time you visit, the same problems plus many more, the same lack of professional staff and especially the Manager, Tanya, quite literally, an individual playing at being a manager, time to choose a new profession I think Tanya! Each time you raise a genuine issue, our personal examples are:
Kids running up and down the corridors to all hours, noise from rooms above and below, drunks in the street at the rear of the complex, Unclean rooms covered in pet hair, damages, other peoples garbage, the internet not working, maintenance guy coming round when ever the hell he pleases (without the correct equipment), the air con / heating being broken, the balcony having cigarette butts on them despite a total ban and apparently cleaned by the cleaning staff, the bins are collected on Friday morning, don't expect to sleep in as they locate them at the front for up to 3 hours before collection where the local birds may feast on the scraps and the stink wafts into your room beyond that when you raise the issue you are told it must happen! really? do you need to empty the bins in the main foyer of the complex for all the waste water to pour out onto the paved area / entrance to the car park? while we are on the subject of car parking, our vehicle was damaged in the car park by persons unknown (I expect a resident who was accessing their cages) no point in mentioning that though as the management will plead ignorance and their security detail consists of 1 guy who walks around like 'Mall Cop'. The resort offers Government discount, as long as you stay during the non-holiday season, as a member of the Military our holidays are often at the holiday season when the kids are off school, if you are a member of the Military avoid this place like the plague, they are rude, careless and their manager will make you feel like she is doing you a favour by giving you discount at the Military rate, oh and by the way, the Discount of 35% is for the Canadian Military only! if you are a member of the British or other, you get 15% at best. If you read this and feel it is exaggerated, try a stay and write your own review, I can guarantee if you are happy with the standard, you have very low standards. I WOULD ENCOURAGE ALL TO READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS AND STAY AWAY. Suffice to say we will never stay there again, the price is that of a 5 Star resort, the service and standard of accommodation is well below 3 star, sad really as they could have been so successful. I have rated it poor only because there is nothing lower, abysmal is more appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Angry4U,

Thank you for staying with us at the Solara Resort & Spa. We appreciate every guest response and take all of them seriously. Every Trip Advisor posting is reviewed by our Department Managers as well as staff to see the areas in which our guests feel we need to improve as we strive for service excellence. We are proud of our properties and want to deliver nothing but the best to our guests and owners.

I do apologize for the negative feelings that your experiences have caused at the resort, and although you have stayed numerous times since 2011, your sudden comments come as a surprise as most were never discussed in our past communications. We do ask that if there are any issues with your stay that we are alerted immediately in order to have the chance to rectify the situation and the guests can go on enjoying the rest of their stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Joined some friends at this resort in a 3 bedroom suite. Very spacious. Great open concept kitchen& living space with a fireplace. Very comfortable beds. Has underground parking.
Hot tub was quite large but all indoor. Did not make use of the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear CharissaDawn,

Thank you for staying with Solara Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear that you had a great mountain retreat at our resort. Our 3 bedrooms are fantastic for retreats and family stays as the 1341 square foot room leaves lots of space for everyone to enjoy together or “retreat” away to the private bedrooms. We would love to have you back, summer is coming and you can take advantage of our beautiful decks with private bb’s and maybe next time take a relaxing trip to the Spa. When making your next reservation please mention that you are a repeat guest and take advantage of our Loyalty Program, you can also subscribe to our e-club for upcoming specials and packages.

Thank you again,

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Solara Hotel
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta
Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#8 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#12 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.