We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Spring Break Package
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We recently went to Canmore to ski in Sunshine. My husband and I our two year old son and our parents thoroughly enjoyed our three bedroom condo at Solara! With 1400 sq ft on the 4th floor the 5 of us had ample room to stretch out and relax, the beds were comfortable, the bathrooms spacious, kitchen was wonderful for cooking. The condo was very clean and we had wonderful views of the mountains. The resort itself has many options for family activities. We were able to use the pool with our son each day, enjoy a movie in the theatre and hang out in the games room. Fabulous resort for couples, friends and families looking for a home away from home with the perks of being in a resort. We also went to the Spa at the resort. It was fabulous and relaxing! Definitely would stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear TravellinMama17,

Thank you for choosing the Solara Resort & Spa for your home away from home. We all enjoyed reading your wonderful review. It’s nice to see that you were able to enjoy the amazing ski hills of the Valley that have some of the most breathtaking views, as well all the amenities the Resort has to offer.

We do have some amenities that no other properties have, such as the movie theatre (the only one in Canmore). Out teams also enjoy movie time, nothing beats the delicious aroma of fresh popped popcorn in our lobby for our guests to enjoy. On special occasions we also have complimentary fun filled activities for the children and family such as waffle mornings, scavenger hunts and arts and crafts day.

We look forward to your next visit with us. Please make sure you inform us that you are a repeat guest to enjoy our loyalty program and join our E-club to get up to date information and specials on our Resorts.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    131
    56
    34
    15
See reviews for
196
111
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stony Plain, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Had the chance recently to spend a weekend at this wonderful resort. We wanted a quite relaxing retreat away from the city and despite the resort being busy it was peaceful. The suite was excellent and provided us everything we needed. Very luxurious 1 bedroom with 2 fireplaces and a deck with BBQ. We used the property as a home base and spent one day in Banff. If you are looking to get away in the mountains and want to enjoy some quality time relaxing and making some of your own gourmet meals this resort is perfect. I found the kitchen to be fully equipped.
We enjoyed the pool, however ran out of time to visit the Spa. We have added this property to our list of great destination properties and hope to return next time with friends. Thanks Tanya and staff for providing us with a great western hospitality.

Room Tip: If you are planning to make some of your own meals everything is provided for you, from plates and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear StonyCowboy,

Thank you for staying with us at the Solara Resort & Spa. We are delighted to see that you had such a perfect weekend away at our resort. I am pleased to read that you made use of most of our amenities here at the resort and next time around hopefully you can take advantage of the beautiful spa and what it has to offer.

When you decide that you want to get away and enjoy the Majestic Rockies and one of our Bellstar Resorts again, please let us know that you are a repeat guest and enjoy the benefits of our loyalty program. You can always join our E-club program that will alert you of any upcoming specials and packages as well as what is going on within and around our resorts.

Thank you for your review and looking forward to your next stay with us.

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have stayed numerous times, each time brought it's own issues, each time the management apologies, promise to do something about it, the next time you visit, the same problems plus many more, the same lack of professional staff and especially the Manager, Tanya, quite literally, an individual playing at being a manager, time to choose a new profession I think Tanya! Each time you raise a genuine issue, our personal examples are:
Kids running up and down the corridors to all hours, noise from rooms above and below, drunks in the street at the rear of the complex, Unclean rooms covered in pet hair, damages, other peoples garbage, the internet not working, maintenance guy coming round when ever the hell he pleases (without the correct equipment), the air con / heating being broken, the balcony having cigarette butts on them despite a total ban and apparently cleaned by the cleaning staff, the bins are collected on Friday morning, don't expect to sleep in as they locate them at the front for up to 3 hours before collection where the local birds may feast on the scraps and the stink wafts into your room beyond that when you raise the issue you are told it must happen! really? do you need to empty the bins in the main foyer of the complex for all the waste water to pour out onto the paved area / entrance to the car park? while we are on the subject of car parking, our vehicle was damaged in the car park by persons unknown (I expect a resident who was accessing their cages) no point in mentioning that though as the management will plead ignorance and their security detail consists of 1 guy who walks around like 'Mall Cop'. The resort offers Government discount, as long as you stay during the non-holiday season, as a member of the Military our holidays are often at the holiday season when the kids are off school, if you are a member of the Military avoid this place like the plague, they are rude, careless and their manager will make you feel like she is doing you a favour by giving you discount at the Military rate, oh and by the way, the Discount of 35% is for the Canadian Military only! if you are a member of the British or other, you get 15% at best. If you read this and feel it is exaggerated, try a stay and write your own review, I can guarantee if you are happy with the standard, you have very low standards. I WOULD ENCOURAGE ALL TO READ THE NEGATIVE REVIEWS AND STAY AWAY. Suffice to say we will never stay there again, the price is that of a 5 Star resort, the service and standard of accommodation is well below 3 star, sad really as they could have been so successful. I have rated it poor only because there is nothing lower, abysmal is more appropriate.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Angry4U,

Thank you for staying with us at the Solara Resort & Spa. We appreciate every guest response and take all of them seriously. Every Trip Advisor posting is reviewed by our Department Managers as well as staff to see the areas in which our guests feel we need to improve as we strive for service excellence. We are proud of our properties and want to deliver nothing but the best to our guests and owners.

I do apologize for the negative feelings that your experiences have caused at the resort, and although you have stayed numerous times since 2011, your sudden comments come as a surprise as most were never discussed in our past communications. We do ask that if there are any issues with your stay that we are alerted immediately in order to have the chance to rectify the situation and the guests can go on enjoying the rest of their stay.

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on Trip Advisor.

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Joined some friends at this resort in a 3 bedroom suite. Very spacious. Great open concept kitchen& living space with a fireplace. Very comfortable beds. Has underground parking.
Hot tub was quite large but all indoor. Did not make use of the spa.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear CharissaDawn,

Thank you for staying with Solara Resort & Spa. We are glad to hear that you had a great mountain retreat at our resort. Our 3 bedrooms are fantastic for retreats and family stays as the 1341 square foot room leaves lots of space for everyone to enjoy together or “retreat” away to the private bedrooms. We would love to have you back, summer is coming and you can take advantage of our beautiful decks with private bb’s and maybe next time take a relaxing trip to the Spa. When making your next reservation please mention that you are a repeat guest and take advantage of our Loyalty Program, you can also subscribe to our e-club for upcoming specials and packages.

Thank you again,

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Have stayed at a number of hotels in the Canmore and Banff areas, and this is the nicest place we have stayed so far. Comfortable bed, very quiet, nice view, roomy accommodations. High end appliances.

It is very family oriented, with a separated spray play area in the pool room, along with full kitchen and bbq on balcony.

The front desk staff was very hospitable and friendly.

Made for a very relaxing stay.

Only complaint would be that the elevator is very slow, I recommend taking the stairs when possible.

The hot pool was enjoyable, and is larger than most hot tubs you often find in hotels in the area.

Room Tip: some rooms have a better view than others. I suggest trying the bow wing facing south, the higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear BillnEdmonton,

Thank you for staying with Solara Resort & Spa. We are pleased to read your positive comments and how you enjoyed your stay. Our team strives for service excellence as well as to offer the best in amenities. The Bow Valley is a beautiful destination with lots to enjoy and we would be honoured to host you for your visits. When making your next reservation please mention that you are a repeat guest and take advantage of our Loyalty Program, you can also subscribe to our e-club for upcoming specials and packages.

Thank you again,

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice overall stay but some rough edges. We rented a 2 bedroom suite for 1 week of cross country skiing in the area. The unit is billed as luxury and it is well designed. Bedrooms are large, beds are comfortable (if the pillows a bit too full for me) bathrooms are spacious and OK, nice living room, hot tub in the building...but cleaning is lacking. They offer "light" cleaning every day with a full every 4 days. I would call the light cleaning more like "lighting" cleaning. Very superficial! As well windows are dirty, fridge makes a loud noise, kitchen is a mix of very well appointed but lacking something as basic as a good frying pan, cleaning supplies are very limited and clearly insufficient.

We enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear brozas,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Solara Resort & Spa and for providing us with your feedback. I hope that you had a great time crossing-country skiing while with us! I do apologize for the cleaning service as it was not up to your standards. I will communicate with the Assistant Executive Housekeeper and see what services were provided when they did clean your room. We do not want the guests to feel that our staff does anything superficially and we want you to feel comfortable and at home with us. Next time you visit us, please let us know if there is anything that is lacking or that you feel we could improve on while with us and we will do our very best to accommodate your needs.

Thank you once again and I hope you have a wonderful day!

Yours in Hospitality,

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were considering staying in Canmore for a few days with our dogs and were looking for a dog friendly place. It was hard to find one acceptable place which could also accept 2 big dogs.
After considering renting it through kijiji, I called the Solara resort. I spoke to a manager, she was very professional and friendly, I was sold my the fact that I did not did not feel as if I was bothering her since I caught her right at the end of a meeting. She offered me a fairly competitive price for a 2 bedroom dog friendly condo for 2 nights, it was better than what was online!
When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised! The place was amazingly clean and huge. The staff was friendly and very informative, we felt welcomed and really enjoyed our stay. Since it was a condo, we had a kitchen that we used both nights, 2 full bathrooms (one was an Ensuite), tv and fireplaces in each rooms. It was quiet and close to Banff! I used to love Grande Rockies but Solara won this one! We will definitely go back there for our next time in Canmore.
P.S.: we did not use their restaurant or the room service so we cannot comment on that.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear brozas,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Solara Resort & Spa and for providing us with your feedback. I hope that you had a great time crossing-country skiing while with us! I do apologize for the cleaning service as it was not up to your standards. I will communicate with the Assistant Executive Housekeeper and see what services were provided when they did clean your room. We do not want the guests to feel that our staff does anything superficially and we want you to feel comfortable and at home with us. Next time you visit us, please let us know if there is anything that is lacking or that you feel we could improve on while with us and we will do our very best to accommodate your needs. Thank you once again and I hope you have a wonderful day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.