We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resport, except for ONE thing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome resport, except for ONE thing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed at Solara on Feb 8/13 for a few nights, and loved how amazing the resort looked and how beautifully appointed the condos were. Everything was perfect, until we were awoken at 7am by the sounds of metal garbage bins being dragged across the parking lot by Solara staff. The banging and clanging began at 7am (no idea why they would do this at this time), and did not end until 8am. Then, when we thought it was over, in drove the garbage trucks which proceeded to lift and smash the bins around for another half an hour while they were empying them. We are at a loss as to why Bellstar would not have the garbage pickup schedules for a more reasonable time, such as the afternoon. Would love an explanation on this one before we return again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Sienna O,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us at Solara Resort & Spa. We are pleased that you enjoyed the majority of your stay with us and that you enjoyed our luxurious suites! The spacious layouts, top of the line furnishings, and gourmet kitchen’s set the stage for a most relaxing home away from home! Spring is near in the Rockies and will soon be ideal BBQ’ing weather using either the private BBQ’s on the balconies or our larger propane BBQ’s in our courtyard while of course basking in the sun!

We would like to assure you and our readers that your experience does seem excessive and not the norm. The town does have us, along with the other residents and resorts in the area, on a rather early pick-up schedule, however, the process has not been as lengthy as you describe. Typically the entire process only takes 30mins or less and does not seem to be overly disruptive to our guests. Our teams endeavor to bring the bins out as quietly as possible just prior to the refuse truck arriving as we never want to disrupt our guests’ slumber, we will follow up with the teams to ensure they are following these protocols. We will also continue to work on having the pick-up rescheduled to a later time.

We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you once again, please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail or if I can personally assist you with your next booking.

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    121
    55
    34
    14
See reviews for
188
107
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evansburg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

After a glowing recommendation from friends, we booked three nights in the largest suite at the Solara for a "mini family vacation". The 1800 sq ft, three bedrooms & queen sofa bed provided plenty of room for 7 adults and 2 babies. Being able to fit a playpen in the walk-in closet of the master suite was a fun bonus. Having a full size stove and fridge with a big freezer worked very well as we did all our our cooking and eating in the suite. A couple small annoyances - it took half a day until the fridge's ice-maker actually started making ice, no dish cloths or tea towels were provided - we had to go out and purchase some.
Several family members used the fitness faciltiy - all was good. One wanted to book a service at the spa, but we found the prices prohibative.
Movie night was fun! The high chair provided worked well. We did bring one of our own folding chairs, as there are only 6 around the table.
We definitely would consider returning to this property as a special treat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear travelmom1976,

Thank you for sharing your first experiences at Solara Resort & Spa with our Trip Advisor readers. We are absolutely delighted to read that you and your family were able to come together and not only enjoy the amazing amenities that Solara has to offer but also to enjoy time with eachother! We feel very privledged to be able to host you for such a lovely and important occasion!

Our 2 and 3 Bedroom Premium suites are extremely spacious and do provide an excellent setting for gatherings such as yours or gift openings, baby showers etc. Our Guest Services Team is onsite 24hrs to ensure our guests have everything they need; we do have a large icemaker that we are able to provide guests’ with as much as they need as well as assist in providing more dish cloths and towels. Our teams are dedicated to providing exceptional service to all of our guests and owners and are just a quick dial away, even just to say hi! They love that too!

We must also thank your friends for recommending us. First hand word of mouth recommendations are the highest of compliments. We are very proud of the services and accommodations we provide at Solara and nothing makes us happier than knowing that we were able to assist families and friends getting together and making lasting memories.

We are so glad that you enjoyed our nightly movie nights, during the week we feature a nightly movie and on weekends we feature two! A family friendly film at 7pm and another at 9pm for those who are still awake at 9pm! On your next visit when the little ones’ are a bit older they can enjoy frolicking in our Kidz Splash Area and learn some strokes in one of our relaxation pools!
We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Solara Resort & Spa, don’t forget! You’re part of the family now and are eligible for our repeat guest rate!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

This was my first time staying in Canmore and I was so amazed by the room that I had. It was very large and had all the amenities that you would think of in a hotel room and more. I liked the fact that this room had a full kitchen, so it was more of an apartment style. It was finished very well and I felt very comfortable. I loved the fact that there was a fireplace in the bedroom. That was very nice.

Would absolutely come back to stay here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear sjcan8119,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience about your first visit to Canmore and Solara Resort & Spa! We are so pleased that you enjoyed all the wonderful amenities that Solara has to offer! The suites are fully equipped to offer all the comforts of home with luxurious finishing’s to offer our guests the option of kicking back and relaxing with a home cooked meal or to head out and enjoy one of Canmore’s many excellent eateries. After a busy day out enjoying the many activities in and around Canmore or having a gourmet meal in town our guests can then retire back to the suites and sit and relax in front of the fireplaces while taking in the magnificent views!

On your next visit you should take in a complimentary movie in our full size theatre or relax in our hot pool! We encourage our guests to speak with our Guest Services Agents as they are always keen to offer up suggestions to our guests on where to go and what to see while exploring the valley. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back during your next visit to the Bow Valley and offering our Exclusive Repeat Guest Rates at Solara Resort & Spa!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The room was lovely with plenty of room. Problem is with the underground parkade, very dirty and does not appear to be cleaned ever. Limited access to fitness center, as outside memberships have been sold and as a hotel guest, well never did get access.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi gailgunn,

We absolutely appreciate when our guests’ take the time to provide feedback on their recent stays with us at Solara Resort & Spa. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our suites and appreciated the spacious layouts that provide our guests with the maximum comfort during their time with us. Our teams are always honoured when we are able to host wedding groups at Solara and love to assist in any way we can to elevate such a memorable occasion. Canmore and Solara Resort & Spa are such magical places to celebrate weddings, anniversaries and romantic getaways!

In regards to the parkade, they are swept daily but this time of year definitely poses a challenge in keeping the dust and dirt to a minimum, especially with the volume of traffic our parkade sees. On that note we are actively addressing the situation and have scheduled it to be professionally cleaned through a commercial provider to remove the excess dust and dirt left behind.

We are dissapointed to hear about, and apologise for, your experience at the One Wellness Fitness Centre. They are a separate business to Solara, however, our guests and owners are to have complimentary access to this facility. We will be speaking with them in regards to your experience and will work towards a solution. Their space does have an occupancy limitation that is bound by building codes which may have been the reason for your experience, not that they were saving space for outside memberships? I would definitely appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience to gain a better understanding of the situation.

Thank you again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us at Solara Resort & Spa. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly about your most recent experience and updating you on our initiatives as well as show you on your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 adults and one kid. The offer came with a "2x1" dinner at the Iron Goat Restaurant. We got a voucher for the 2 x 1 but only for one meal, irrespective of the number of people in the room. I explained the manager that 2 x 1, means 4 x 2...that if for example in a shoe store it says "2x1" I would pay 2 pairs of shoes if I buy 4. He said that no, that was only a voucher, even if were 4 adults in the same apartment. The hotel is nice, the only thing we disliked were that the hottub is indoors and the cheap management that will not honour their word.

Room Tip: remember, cheap manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MarioFeld,

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa, our management teams reads all reviews uses them to continually grow and increase our level of service to our guests.

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with our Stay from $129 promotional offer that included a 2 for 1 Entree and that you found it be misleading. This of course is never our intention. The offer was designed and priced to include one voucher per room not per couple as stated in the description of the promotion on our website. We have run many promotions that have included this 2 for 1 entree offer at a restaurant in Canmore and have always received positive feedback. We will definitely look at our verbiage again to ensure that the descriptions are clear for our promotions, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the resort, we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Solara or to another one of our Bellstar Properties the next time you are in the area. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail as I am always pleased to speak with our past, present, and future guests to ensure an exceptional experience!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent our 2yr anniversary at the Solara resort. First the bad, I had noted when I booked online we requested a 3rd or 4th floor room. We ended up with a second floor room, right above the main underground garage. The room was also right beside the garbage room, so we heard a constant loud buzzing noise all day and night. I was told all rooms were occupied. Too bad as sleeping at night wasn't as comfortable as we were hoping. Good thing for ear plugs.

Now for the good. We stayed in a 1 bed suite in the Bow building. The room was fantastic, very clean, extremely spacious and had everything you need to relax and stay in Canmore. We did not really use any of the amenities but heard really good things about them. The wifi worked great, mainly for web surfing. The bed was large (King) and extremely comfortable. We loved the shower with the multiple shower jets and heads. This shower helped after our snowshoeing days.

We can't wait to stay here again. As a repeat customer, I am told we can get a 15% discount, let's hope this is true.

Room Tip: I suggest you stay in either the Chinook or Bow buildings. Bow rooms are in the main building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Desi_Travel_Guy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We, at Bellstar, use all of our reviews to constantly improve our services to fit our guests needs. I would like apologize for the inconvenience of the location of the room you were staying, we do try our best to meet everyones requests.

I am glad to hear that you did indeed enjoy the room and what it had to offer as well as enjoy some outdoor activity which Canmore is well known for. We are looking forward to your return and when you make your reservation please express your preferences and we will do our best to accomodate them. Don't forget to mention that your are a repeat guest so you can take advantage of our loyalty discount.

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decided to pop down to Canmore this past weekend short notice was able to get a 1 bed suite at the Solara resort and spa. Cost for what we recieved was excellent, front counter staff very welcoming upon arrival filled us in on the ammenities within the building, place even has a theatre. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear KingKevie,

We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their experience with the Trip Advisor community and are delighted that you chose to stay with Solara Resort & Spa on your most recent trip to Canmore!

We never get tired of hearing that our guests’ enjoyed their stay with us! All of our teams at the resort are passionate about providing exceptional experiences for all our guests, from our Housekeeping team through to our Guest Services Team! We love sharing all that Solara has to offer: our relaxation pools, kids splash park and of course our full size movie theatre; as well as the amazing activities that the Bow Valley has to offer.

Our rooms are equipped with state of the art kitchens and the top of the line furnishings making for a most comfortable stay. Great as a base to explore the Bow Valley, or just sit and relax with the fireplaces on!

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Don’t forget to take advantage of our Exclusive Repeat Guest rates when making your next booking!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.