We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding in Canmore” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
50% OFF THIRD NIGHT
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersSilver level
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wedding in Canmore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The room was lovely with plenty of room. Problem is with the underground parkade, very dirty and does not appear to be cleaned ever. Limited access to fitness center, as outside memberships have been sold and as a hotel guest, well never did get access.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi gailgunn,

We absolutely appreciate when our guests’ take the time to provide feedback on their recent stays with us at Solara Resort & Spa. I am happy to read that you enjoyed our suites and appreciated the spacious layouts that provide our guests with the maximum comfort during their time with us. Our teams are always honoured when we are able to host wedding groups at Solara and love to assist in any way we can to elevate such a memorable occasion. Canmore and Solara Resort & Spa are such magical places to celebrate weddings, anniversaries and romantic getaways!

In regards to the parkade, they are swept daily but this time of year definitely poses a challenge in keeping the dust and dirt to a minimum, especially with the volume of traffic our parkade sees. On that note we are actively addressing the situation and have scheduled it to be professionally cleaned through a commercial provider to remove the excess dust and dirt left behind.

We are dissapointed to hear about, and apologise for, your experience at the One Wellness Fitness Centre. They are a separate business to Solara, however, our guests and owners are to have complimentary access to this facility. We will be speaking with them in regards to your experience and will work towards a solution. Their space does have an occupancy limitation that is bound by building codes which may have been the reason for your experience, not that they were saving space for outside memberships? I would definitely appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly about your experience to gain a better understanding of the situation.

Thank you again for taking the time and reviewing your stay with us at Solara Resort & Spa. I look forward to the opportunity to speak with you directly about your most recent experience and updating you on our initiatives as well as show you on your next visit!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    121
    55
    34
    14
See reviews for
188
106
8
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment for 4 adults and one kid. The offer came with a "2x1" dinner at the Iron Goat Restaurant. We got a voucher for the 2 x 1 but only for one meal, irrespective of the number of people in the room. I explained the manager that 2 x 1, means 4 x 2...that if for example in a shoe store it says "2x1" I would pay 2 pairs of shoes if I buy 4. He said that no, that was only a voucher, even if were 4 adults in the same apartment. The hotel is nice, the only thing we disliked were that the hottub is indoors and the cheap management that will not honour their word.

Room Tip: remember, cheap manager...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear MarioFeld,

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa, our management teams reads all reviews uses them to continually grow and increase our level of service to our guests.

We are sorry to read that you were disappointed with our Stay from $129 promotional offer that included a 2 for 1 Entree and that you found it be misleading. This of course is never our intention. The offer was designed and priced to include one voucher per room not per couple as stated in the description of the promotion on our website. We have run many promotions that have included this 2 for 1 entree offer at a restaurant in Canmore and have always received positive feedback. We will definitely look at our verbiage again to ensure that the descriptions are clear for our promotions, thank you for bringing your experience to our attention.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the resort, we do hope to be able to welcome you back to Solara or to another one of our Bellstar Properties the next time you are in the area. Please feel free to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail as I am always pleased to speak with our past, present, and future guests to ensure an exceptional experience!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent our 2yr anniversary at the Solara resort. First the bad, I had noted when I booked online we requested a 3rd or 4th floor room. We ended up with a second floor room, right above the main underground garage. The room was also right beside the garbage room, so we heard a constant loud buzzing noise all day and night. I was told all rooms were occupied. Too bad as sleeping at night wasn't as comfortable as we were hoping. Good thing for ear plugs.

Now for the good. We stayed in a 1 bed suite in the Bow building. The room was fantastic, very clean, extremely spacious and had everything you need to relax and stay in Canmore. We did not really use any of the amenities but heard really good things about them. The wifi worked great, mainly for web surfing. The bed was large (King) and extremely comfortable. We loved the shower with the multiple shower jets and heads. This shower helped after our snowshoeing days.

We can't wait to stay here again. As a repeat customer, I am told we can get a 15% discount, let's hope this is true.

Room Tip: I suggest you stay in either the Chinook or Bow buildings. Bow rooms are in the main building which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya Y, General Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Desi_Travel_Guy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay. We, at Bellstar, use all of our reviews to constantly improve our services to fit our guests needs. I would like apologize for the inconvenience of the location of the room you were staying, we do try our best to meet everyones requests.

I am glad to hear that you did indeed enjoy the room and what it had to offer as well as enjoy some outdoor activity which Canmore is well known for. We are looking forward to your return and when you make your reservation please express your preferences and we will do our best to accomodate them. Don't forget to mention that your are a repeat guest so you can take advantage of our loyalty discount.

Yours in Hospitality

Tanya Yurko
Area General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decided to pop down to Canmore this past weekend short notice was able to get a 1 bed suite at the Solara resort and spa. Cost for what we recieved was excellent, front counter staff very welcoming upon arrival filled us in on the ammenities within the building, place even has a theatre. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear KingKevie,

We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their experience with the Trip Advisor community and are delighted that you chose to stay with Solara Resort & Spa on your most recent trip to Canmore!

We never get tired of hearing that our guests’ enjoyed their stay with us! All of our teams at the resort are passionate about providing exceptional experiences for all our guests, from our Housekeeping team through to our Guest Services Team! We love sharing all that Solara has to offer: our relaxation pools, kids splash park and of course our full size movie theatre; as well as the amazing activities that the Bow Valley has to offer.

Our rooms are equipped with state of the art kitchens and the top of the line furnishings making for a most comfortable stay. Great as a base to explore the Bow Valley, or just sit and relax with the fireplaces on!

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Don’t forget to take advantage of our Exclusive Repeat Guest rates when making your next booking!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

There's no better way to visit the Canmore and Banff area than to take a lovely condo unit and soak up the beauty of our magnificent Rocky Mountains. Solara's units are chic and cozy; the beds are the ultimate in comfort! Some buildings have better wifi reception than others. If you need to conduct business during your visit, make sure you ask for a room with good wifi.

Room Tip: Aurora building has some Wifi issues. Bow building (directly across from the lobby) was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked at this resort for a friend's wedding as it was being held at the resort. We were not expecting to have a room as large as the one we got and had a great time while there. We booked a one bedroom and it was plenty of space for the two of us, we will definitely be returning for another stay. The huge kitchen and washer and dryer were not expected and were a great surprise! The muliple shower heads/jets were also a treat. The only downside was the mattress was a little on the hard side so the first night was difficult to sleep but that could possibly be due to my 9 months pregnant self.
We did not make it to the swimming area as we were busy with wedding related activites but will be checking it out next time.
Even though housekeeping was not scheduled to clean our room they still knocked on the door and asked if we needed anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The condo itself was beautiful and well kept. nice quiet location.
we attended a wedding in town and biked in between reception and activities. It was very easy to get to bike trails from here.

The pool is situated indoors, but it felt like it was in a basement dungeon... (I think it was windowless) We walked into the pool area, looked around and walked right back out. No one wanted to swim in there because it felt very claustrophobic. Poorly designed layout. Not somewhere we wanted to swim.
For that reason alone, I would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahzad M, Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa! We love to hear that our guests’ have enjoyed their stay, especially when they go so far as to say it was perfect! Our units are equipped with gourmet kitchens, spa inspired bathrooms, and luxurious furnishings to allow for a most relaxing and exceptional stay. However we feel sorry about your feeling about the indoor pool facility.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Solara Resort & Spa, don’t forget about our exclusive repeat guest rate when making your next reservation.

Thank you,
Shahzad Majeed
Rooms Division Manager
BellStar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Green Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.