We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Canmore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EARN $50 HOTEL CREDIT
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersGold level
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Weekend in Canmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Decided to pop down to Canmore this past weekend short notice was able to get a 1 bed suite at the Solara resort and spa. Cost for what we recieved was excellent, front counter staff very welcoming upon arrival filled us in on the ammenities within the building, place even has a theatre. Room was clean and comfortable. Would definetly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Dear KingKevie,

We always appreciate when guests take the time to share their experience with the Trip Advisor community and are delighted that you chose to stay with Solara Resort & Spa on your most recent trip to Canmore!

We never get tired of hearing that our guests’ enjoyed their stay with us! All of our teams at the resort are passionate about providing exceptional experiences for all our guests, from our Housekeeping team through to our Guest Services Team! We love sharing all that Solara has to offer: our relaxation pools, kids splash park and of course our full size movie theatre; as well as the amazing activities that the Bow Valley has to offer.

Our rooms are equipped with state of the art kitchens and the top of the line furnishings making for a most comfortable stay. Great as a base to explore the Bow Valley, or just sit and relax with the fireplaces on!

Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back soon! Don’t forget to take advantage of our Exclusive Repeat Guest rates when making your next booking!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    99
    49
    30
    14
See reviews for
171
99
7
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

There's no better way to visit the Canmore and Banff area than to take a lovely condo unit and soak up the beauty of our magnificent Rocky Mountains. Solara's units are chic and cozy; the beds are the ultimate in comfort! Some buildings have better wifi reception than others. If you need to conduct business during your visit, make sure you ask for a room with good wifi.

Room Tip: Aurora building has some Wifi issues. Bow building (directly across from the lobby) was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We booked at this resort for a friend's wedding as it was being held at the resort. We were not expecting to have a room as large as the one we got and had a great time while there. We booked a one bedroom and it was plenty of space for the two of us, we will definitely be returning for another stay. The huge kitchen and washer and dryer were not expected and were a great surprise! The muliple shower heads/jets were also a treat. The only downside was the mattress was a little on the hard side so the first night was difficult to sleep but that could possibly be due to my 9 months pregnant self.
We did not make it to the swimming area as we were busy with wedding related activites but will be checking it out next time.
Even though housekeeping was not scheduled to clean our room they still knocked on the door and asked if we needed anything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The condo itself was beautiful and well kept. nice quiet location.
we attended a wedding in town and biked in between reception and activities. It was very easy to get to bike trails from here.

The pool is situated indoors, but it felt like it was in a basement dungeon... (I think it was windowless) We walked into the pool area, looked around and walked right back out. No one wanted to swim in there because it felt very claustrophobic. Poorly designed layout. Not somewhere we wanted to swim.
For that reason alone, I would not go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahzad M, Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you for your review of Solara Resort & Spa! We love to hear that our guests’ have enjoyed their stay, especially when they go so far as to say it was perfect! Our units are equipped with gourmet kitchens, spa inspired bathrooms, and luxurious furnishings to allow for a most relaxing and exceptional stay. However we feel sorry about your feeling about the indoor pool facility.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Solara Resort & Spa, don’t forget about our exclusive repeat guest rate when making your next reservation.

Thank you,
Shahzad Majeed
Rooms Division Manager
BellStar Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledon, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at Solara Resort over Christmas. We took a 2 bedroom premium suite for 4 adults and one 10 month old. The suite was beautifully furnished, quite comfortable and spacious enough for all of us. There was a beautiful view of the mountains out our windows. We had a fireplace in the living room and in each bedroom. The fireplaces are electric, and purely for effect. They produce no heat, just look nice. The beds are large and very comfortable. The bathrooms are huge with a deep tub and fabulous shower. The lighting is very dim…hard for putting on make-up. The kitchen was very well stocked for cooking Christmas dinner. It was very clean, with new appliances. There is an electric grill on the balcony...a bit of a challenge to cook on, but the results were excellent. There were enough dishes for one meal, so we ran the dishwasher a few times a day. The housekeeping staff came daily to empty garbage and provide us with dishwashing supplies. They would ask if we needed anything, but would forget to bring what we asked for. And then a few days later we would get two. Not a big deal…if you called the front desk they’d deliver it right away. The rooms are cleaned after three days for those staying more than three days. These suites allow pets, and it was obvious the place was inhabited by a dog with very long fur before our stay. The fur was in the area rug, and dust bunnies were around. It definitely could have been better cleaned before our arrival. In future I would request a suite that didn’t allow pets (if there are any), as one of my family had some allergies from the fur.

As we were traveling with a little one, we needed a crib and high chair in the suite. Since we booked this many months in advance, we spoke with the resort numerous times to make sure they could provide both. We were reassured each time that the crib and high chair would be in the suite when we arrived. Upon arrival, we asked if this was so. The young woman at reception responded that ‘they did not guarantee cribs, it was first come first serve.’ Well, I was very unimpressed with this response. They did offer a play pen with no sheets, which was not acceptable. Eventually we rented a crib…which I would have done before arrival to avoid the aggravation. I suggest you do so if you need a crib.

We stayed in the Aurora building. This one is furthest back in the complex. There is underground parking...a very nice touch as the weather was very cold. In order to get to the main reception area, where the pool is, you need to go outside or through the underground parking to get there. A bit of a trek, but not a really big deal. There are two pools, one hot and one cool, and a child’s water play area. The hot pool is a large hot tub, and the cool pool was very cool. They were also very chlorinated, and we were itchy when we got out. There was a nightly movie in the theatre, but we didn’t make it to any of them.

There’s lots to do in this beautiful area. Great downhill & cross-country skiing. Exploring Banff & Lake Louise. Good shopping locally and good restaurants.

Despite a few hiccups, I would recommend Solara Resort & would definitely stay there again. It’s a beautiful place with excellent amenities, at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shahzad M, Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at Solara Resorts & Spa. You feedback is very important for us to know about our service standards and to bring it to the next level.

At Solara Resorts & Spa (A property of BellStar Hotels & Resorts) the golden rule is to send guests off with a smile and good memories. We are glad that you have experienced our service excellence the way you deserve.

Please contact us anytime to arrange for your next visit at the Solara Resort & Spa.

Kind Regards,

Shahzad Majeed
Rooms Division Manager
Bellstar Hotels & Resorts Canmore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This was our second visit to Solara. This stay was for 2 nights just after New Years. The suite was clean and spacious. Checkin service was a bit slow - there only one person at the reception desk.
We'll be back for sure and recommend Solara to others.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear IanM,

Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experiences about your most recent stay with us at Solara Resort & Spa! We are always pleased to read when our repeat guests continually enjoy all that Solara has to offer and want to share it with others.

The rooms are indeed beautiful and spacious, great for romantic weekends or a weekend to spend away with family and friends in some of our larger suites. We have everything from luxurious one bedroom suites to three bedroom premium suites that are over 1600 sq feet with large living areas and kitchens, perfect for entertaining!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a five night stay at Solara in October 2012 and loved every minute of it. Our apartment was well furnished, clean and well maintained. The heated carpark was an unexpected bonus.
We found the staff whether front of house or house keeping to be friendly and competent. Only gripe was that the use of the gym was expensive so we didn't use it. We were fortunate to see early snow falls whilst in Canmore which made the surrounds even prettier. Being Aussies we always the enjoy the snow and a fireplace! Solara is well located being close enough to restaurants and the town centre. We dined in a couple of places recommended by staff and were not disappointed. We preferred Canmore over its more famous neighbour and genuinely expect to return there in the future. We would definitely stay at Solara again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Bankgirl,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Solara Resort & Spa! Our management teams read each review and use it to continually improve our level of service to our guests!

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the units and Canmore so much! They are very luxurious and are fully stocked so our guests can relax in their home away from home after taking in the beautiful sights of the area! Canmore and Solara Resort & Spa provide an excellent base for exploring the Bow Valley, whether it be the hiking trails in the summer and fall or skiing or snowboarding in the winter!

Canmore does boast some amazing eateries and our Guest Services Team always loves to share our local knowledge and suggest places that we know our guests will have a great experience at! We love what we do and where we live! Our entire resort team is dedicated to providing exceptional service to our guests and owners. I am so pleased to read that we were able to make a difference during your stay.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to Solara, perhaps in the winter when the snow is definitely falling :) And remember! you are part of the family now! and will receive our exclusive repeat guests rates on future stays!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#1 Green Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#3 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.