We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Solara Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Solara Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Solara Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
EARN $50 HOTEL CREDIT
Ranked #9 of 32 hotels in Canmore
GreenLeadersGold level
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We had a five night stay at Solara in October 2012 and loved every minute of it. Our apartment was well furnished, clean and well maintained. The heated carpark was an unexpected bonus.
We found the staff whether front of house or house keeping to be friendly and competent. Only gripe was that the use of the gym was expensive so we didn't use it. We were fortunate to see early snow falls whilst in Canmore which made the surrounds even prettier. Being Aussies we always the enjoy the snow and a fireplace! Solara is well located being close enough to restaurants and the town centre. We dined in a couple of places recommended by staff and were not disappointed. We preferred Canmore over its more famous neighbour and genuinely expect to return there in the future. We would definitely stay at Solara again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Bankgirl,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Solara Resort & Spa! Our management teams read each review and use it to continually improve our level of service to our guests!

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed the units and Canmore so much! They are very luxurious and are fully stocked so our guests can relax in their home away from home after taking in the beautiful sights of the area! Canmore and Solara Resort & Spa provide an excellent base for exploring the Bow Valley, whether it be the hiking trails in the summer and fall or skiing or snowboarding in the winter!

Canmore does boast some amazing eateries and our Guest Services Team always loves to share our local knowledge and suggest places that we know our guests will have a great experience at! We love what we do and where we live! Our entire resort team is dedicated to providing exceptional service to our guests and owners. I am so pleased to read that we were able to make a difference during your stay.

We can’t wait to welcome you back to Solara, perhaps in the winter when the snow is definitely falling :) And remember! you are part of the family now! and will receive our exclusive repeat guests rates on future stays!

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    80
    41
    26
    13
See reviews for
149
89
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Upon arriving we could not help but notice how unclean all the applicances were in our room. We were covered in someone elses dog hairs as our dog does not shed and under the couch was not clean. You would think that with a $20/day dog fee that they could vacuum the carpets a bit better. We then noticed that when you closed the blinds in the living room that you could see through them from the outside, not too good when you are on the main floor. As we were sitting in the living room we heard a loud noise that we thought was a transport or diesel truck right outside our room but it turned out to be the fan for the room. Throughout our stay we could also hear the fan from the other rooms beside us starting and stopping. The doors from the room to the hallway are not sound proof so we could hear people talking in the hallway very clearly including the cleaning staff that would stand around talking outside our door. Some other things to mention are that there was only an indoor hot tub and the fireplace was just electric and provided no heat. We have stayed at other dog rooms before which have just had a walkout directly from the room but this one had a balcony with no exit so we had to go down the hall and out the main doors to let our dog out. For some Pros, the room did look nice, the beds were comfortable and the shower was nice. Upon check out we were also over charged.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear SMJCal_1,

Thank you for taking the time and providing comments about your recent stay with us at Solara Resort & Spa, we appreciate all forms of feedback.

I am sorry to read that you did not have an entirely positive experience during your stay with us. We are very proud with our affiliation with Pets Can Stay Canada and that we are able to provide a variety of rooms where our guests can bring their four legged family members to enjoy the holiday with them! Not all of our pet units are on the main level with a walk-out, many guests do appreciate this variety as it allows differing views etc. Guests can always request certain features or locations within the hotel, a ground level walkout for instance, at the time of booking, prior to arrival or even at the time of check-in. We will always do our best to accommodate and meet these requests. We absolutely apologise for the oversight of some of the previous pet hairs found in the unit, we have communicated your comments to our Housekeeping Managers so that they can follow up with their teams.

We are pleased to read that you did enjoy the unit as well as the spa inspired bathrooms and showers featuring the full body jets. Excellent after enjoying all the outdoor activities that Canmore has to offer! The units are equipped with lovely electric fireplaces that have multiple features that can suit many occasions: one can simply have it on the first setting that will provide the aesthetic appearance of a fire yet not generating any heat; the second setting will turn the fan on to heat slightly; by hitting the on button a third time it raises the heat to the highest setting.

Solara does offer some amazing amenities including our two indoor relaxation pools which we have excellent photos of on our website, our indoor kid’s splash area which is always a hit, and our full size movie theatre where we play nightly movies for our in-house guests.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail, we of course would like to welcome you back and I would be more than happy to assist you with a future stay.

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitecourt, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at solara resort for three nights. Everything was perfect! Our two bedroom suite was beautiful and had everything we could have wanted and way more! We will definitely stay again and would highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi jamhut,

Thank you for your short but sweet review of Solara Resort & Spa! We love to hear that our guests’ have enjoyed their stay, especially when they go so far as to say it was perfect! Our teams are truly passionate about ensuring our guests enjoy their time with us and in Canmore. Our units are equipped with gourmet kitchens, spa inspired bathrooms, and luxurious furnishings to allow for a most relaxing and exceptional stay.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Solara Resort & Spa, don’t forget about our exclusive repeat guest rate when making your next reservation.

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband, daughter, son in law, 2 grandchildren and myself had a 3 night stay at the resort November/December.
We checked into the resort late the first night and the next day we had a knock on the door in the morning asking did we require housekeeping. We informed the cleaner we would be leaving our into momentarily and she said she would return in 5 minutes. We got back to the resort late in the afternoon and there was no sign housekeeping had been in. We were asked at 5 pm if we wanted service which we declined as we were preparing dinner in our suite. The next day we had no service at all so I checked the brochure that we got at check in to see what services were provided if any. We were supposed to have our beds made, towels changed and garbage removed each day but this was never done. We had put the used towels in bath and these were never taken away which confirmed we had not had any housekeeping service. I mentioned this at check out and the clerk did not seem at all perturbed by our complaint but she did give us $20 Bellstar coupons for our inconvenience!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara K, Front Office Manager at Solara Resort & Spa, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Hi Mizpa,

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Solara Resort & Spa, we apologise for the miscommunication and oversights of our housekeeping team. We do offer light daily service that includes garbage and recycling removal, towel exchange and beds made. On the fourth day for longer stays we do a full linen and towel exchange. We had just launched our newest Green Initiative, Stay Green/ Stay Rewarded that gives our guests the opportunity to forgo the light daily service and are then rewarded with our Green Bucks, which is what our GSA presented to you upon departure perhaps misreading the situation. I did speak with this agent after your departure and I can confirm that they, like all of our team members, are very concerned about our guests and their enjoyment and any complaints that our guests may have. The agent did immediately contact housekeeping regarding your comments and concerns.

Again we do apologise for the oversight and have communicated your experiences to our Housekeeping managers who will be working with their teams regarding communication and follow-up if they attempt to provide service to a room but are asked to come back later.

Thank you again for your feedback and we do hope that we can host you once again, please do not hesitate to contact me directly if you would like to discuss your stay in further detail.

Yours In Hospitality,
Sara Kinzie
Guest Services Manager
Solara Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Could not access on site Gym with my daughter who is an athlete. I was told it was a private facility within the hotel! They should tell people this when you book that the Gym is off limits.

Very slow internet, like very slow dial up

No bellman's carts available at check out for over 2 hours!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Heated underground parking was an unexpected bonus. Cork flooring throughout the unit was nice. Deep soaker tub was wonderful, same for the separate shower. Decent view of the mountains. Easy access from the highway and into town. Quiet location.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Sayed at the Solara with my wife for our 10th wedding anniversay and our stay was simply fantastic.

We stayed in a 1 bedroom unit on the main floor of the Aurora building facing North. Both check-and check-out were a breeze and staff were friendly and courteous. After check-in we proceeded to park our vehicle in the heated underground parking which was huge! The room was very spacious and quite simply beautiful and very nicely appointed. Where to begin - the kitchen is gourmet and the kitchen appeared to be well equipped although we ate out at restaurants during our stay so we did not actually use it! Higher end appliances, granite counters and a wine fridge complete the gourmet feel. The furniture in the dining room and living room were also quite nice with a leather couch and club chair. An electric fireplace in both the living room and the bedroom were quite nice from an ambience standpoint (altough I would have preffered a gas fireplace). Also, both the livingroom and bedroom had a flat panel tv and there was a Sony PS3 in the living room which served as a DVD player. The bedroom was beautiful and the bed comfortable wihile the bahroom was also quite nice as they have body jets and a rain shower. Also, the unit was very clean. The only thing I can think about complaining about is the low lighting in the bathroom.

We did not use the amenities offerred by the property although we did check them out. The theatre is a great idea and I suspect a great hit with kids. The gym and spa faciliies also appear to be quite nice. We also checked out the indoor hot tub and relaxation pool and we were a little disapointed as we would rather an outdoor hot tub and the relaxation pool is really a small wading pool for kids (they did have a spray area as well which would be great for younger kids).

On a final note, we read many of the reviews posted on Trip Advisor prior to booking our stay and have to say that those people who rated this property as average are probably people who simply complain about everything. We have stayed at other properties in Canmore / Banff area and Solara was the best of them. I travel for business quite often and can say this is without a doubt a much better property than most places I have stayed at. I would not hesitate in recommending this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Solara Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solara Resort & Spa

Address: 187 Kananaskis Way, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0A3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Canmore
#1 Business Hotel in Canmore
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Canmore
#2 Spa Hotel in Canmore
#3 Luxury Hotel in Canmore
#7 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Solara Resort & Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stunning Rocky Mountain architecture grounds the Solara vacation experience in authenticity, making your retreat the perfect Canmore vacation! Solara Resort blends the absolute best of a Rocky Mountain holiday with the elegant details of a high-end urban hotel. Choose from spacious, fully equipped 1, 2 or 3 bedroom suites with up to 1700 square feet of luxurious space. Linger on your own private balcony or terrace, soak in breathtaking mountain views or snuggle beside your slate fireplace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Solara Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solara Hotel Canmore
Solara Resort And Spa
Solara Resort & Spa Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Solara Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.