We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Save Saved
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save Mid-week 15% off
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Eugene, Oregon, United States
1 review
“A Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Hello,
I decided to drive from Eugene, Oregon to see the Canadian Rockies and wanted a good place to stay. I have always been pretty “plain” in accommodations so would not have found a place like the Georgetown Inn without searching on-line. I really liked the rooms and location. I appreciated being away from the “hectic scene” in Banff. The view was spectacular and the food very good. However, my best experience was the desk clerk. He was very friendly and accommodating. And then when I found my car needed repairing [900 miles from home] he called the best shops in town. Because of his recommendation I was able to get my car repaired the next day.

Thank you,
Jim Mitchelmore

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you Jim Mitchelmore for doing your research and finding us!!! We are so happy to have had you stay with us and happy to help you when your had your car troubles!!! I will be sure to pass along to Cory our Guest Services Manager that you made such nice comments!!! Canmore is more laid back than some other communities so thank you for pointing this out to other fellow travellers!!! Please come back again soon and this time no research needed!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    76
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
181
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband & I went there for our 14th anniversary and we felt welcomed and homey as soon as we walked threw the front door. The staff was friendly & knowledgeable. They were helpful & went above and beyond. The room was clean and comfortable. The bed were super comfy. The view was nice even though there was other buildings. You could still see the mountains, which is what we wanted. We will go back again and maybe take the kids next time.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Well Tara B, Happy 14th Anniversary!! Thank you fro sharing your special occasion with us and we are glad to hear that you felt at home!!! We hope that you do bring your kids next time as we do have a couple of larger rooms to fit your whole family!!! Thank you again and see you soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here two nights mid-July on our way to Alaska, visiting the beautiful scenery in Banff area. Fantastic Inn! Homey, staff friendly and welcoming, peaceful. Room was relaxing, and the food in the restaurant was great, best shepherd's pie for dinner I've had in long time. Breakfast was also good, lots of choices for breakfast. Location of inn was perfect; Canmore is a nice town with all amenities and services.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Sandra M, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Alaska ad thank you for staying with us on your way!! Glad to hear that you enjoyed our pub for two of your meals and hope that you will come back some time to stay again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Georgetown Inn (August 15th-18th, 2013). We chose the Inn as it offered a unique experience. It is evident both inside and out that a great deal of thought and attention was put into the planning and construction of the Georgetown Inn. It is a brief of fresh air amongst numerous hotels offering standard accommodation. When we entered our room, a welcome cup of tea along with shortbread cookies awaited us. We enjoyed a beautiful room overlooking the front entrance. It was very tastefully decorated offering English charm. All of the staff were wonderful and very welcoming! They make customer comfort their top priority. If you have an opportunity during your stay, I would encourage you to enjoy the French toast for breakfast. It's delicious! I highly recommend the Georgetown Inn, and we look very much forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room overlooking the front entrance/street as it is quieter location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you Kristl3, for noticing that we are unique in everyway!!! We want to provide that different experience of accommodations to our guests!!! Customer service is our top priority so thank you for noticing our staff!!! We appreciate all of our guests and especially you for such kind thoughts about our little Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Second time at the Georgetown Inn. Love it. Nice to stay in a place that doesn't feel like every other place you have ever stayed. Complimentary breakfast a la carte is a nice bonus (might have to ask when booking).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you Dennis L for coming back and staying at the Georgetown again!!! The complimentary breakfast is offered to our returning guests as a perk and we are glad you enjoyed it!!! we hope you come back again and again!! Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I was very pleased with our stay at the Georgetown Inn in Canmore. First of all, it is very charming both inside and out. The Staff are very pleasant. We had a lovely room that faced the front street. It was so refreshing to have a room that isn't "cookie cutter", same old, same old. It was very cozy and very cute. The bed was very comfortable and the bed linens were very pretty.
It is full of antiques and you have the feeling you are staying in an old and charming mansion.
It has a wonderful restaurant decorated like an Irish pub.
We had breakfast in there twice and it was very good with reasonable prices. I wished I had tried a dinner there, but will plan on that next time. It also has a great patio-courtyard with gorgeous flowers all along the fence.
It is within walking distance of the main downtown area. We'll definitely come back again. By the way, people seem to complain about the trains, but personally I find it to be a comforting sound and did not find it to be a problem at all.

Room Tip: Room 218, is in a good location, quieter with the window facing the side street (really the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you AprilBWinnipeg for staying with us and writing such a glowing review of the Georgetown!!! We are so glad to know that you enjoyed our pub breakfasts and we hope you do come back to try the dinners...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moutain West
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Although the Georgetown is surrounded by typical modern lodging venues, it stands out for its great personality and character. It's like walking into an Irish inn, complete with pub. We had a room with a spectacular view on the second floor. Get the breakfast included rate - the french toast is delicious. It's also within walking distance of the downtown area, which is very convenient given the traffic and parking issues in town.

Room Tip: The Elizabeth room on the second floor, opposite end of the pub side is nicely appointed and great v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you snow_is_old...we are so pleased that you enjoyed our unique Inn....Thank you for the great review and for sharing it with your fellow travellers...we hope that you come back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.