We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute charming getaway experience -” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Red Deer, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“An absolute charming getaway experience -”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is a treasure waiting to be found - we visited on a snowy winter weekend - and it was as wonderful as a postcard... The room was charmingly decorated, cozy, and the jetted tub added to the luxurious cocoon sensation.

If you are hungry - do not look any further past the menu in the pub on the main level.

Our dinners were scrumptious - and breakfast the next morning (included in the room rate) was far above the typical "continental" fare one often encounters...

Drawbacks - the jetted tub was reasonably hot - but could have been a few degrees hotter for our liking - (others may not be "hot soakers")

Overall - this is a place that we wil definitely be returning to!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying in one of our Victoria Suites!! We are so tickled that you enjoyed your stay and the food in our pub!! Thank you for writing such a nice review and we hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    79
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
38
188
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My parents and I stayed four nights at the Georgetown Inn in May 2013, in Canmore for my eldest daughter's wedding. We met nothing but the greatest service - in fact I can say that I've never seen better, more cheerful service from any hotel I've ever stayed at. We just so enjoyed everything about the inn, in major part because the staff were all happy to be doing what they were doing. In addition, the rooms are very comfortable and the food in the pub/restaurant is very good - special kudos for the awesome French toast which we enjoyed each morning!

Well down, Georgetown Inn staff! Keep up the great service!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you!!! It is always so nice to hear that our guests are enjoying every aspect of our little Inn!! We pride ourselves on our customer service and are so glad you shared this with us and everyone on Trip Advisor!! Thank you so much and we hope to see you back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Canmore is a good place to stay if you're going to spend some time in and around Banff. It's an easy 20 minute drive East on route 1. We enjoyed our 3-day stay at Georgetown Inn, a well-run hotel with comfortable rooms, friendly staff and very good pub-style restaurant. We would not hesitate to choose it again.

Room Tip: We and our friends stayed in two of their 'Elizabeth' rooms, which were a good size and in o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Georgetown!! We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, our food and our customer service. We are here to make your holiday the best it can be!!! We do hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We went to Canmore for a 2 night getaway. The inn is very charming and has a real warmth to it. We had a Victoria room which included the 2 person jacuzzi and a fireplace. Breakfast was included. Our first morning the breakfast wasn't great. The fried potatoes were overcooked and dried out. Next morning it was much better. The servers in the restaurant are very friendly. It was a cozy stay. Only thing I would suggest is that the coffee and shampoo/conditioner were replenished for the 2nd day. Not a deal breaker just convenience. One thing to keep in mind is the inn's proximity to the train. It woke us up a couple times each night. Nothing they can do about it but something to be aware of.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for staying at the Georgetown Inn! Sorry to hear that the first morning your breakfast hash browns were too cooked, I will definitely let the kitchen know...We are so pleased that everything else was to your liking and thanks for recognizing that we cannot control the train!!! Thanks again and we do hope you come back soon!!!!.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Have to agree with others that this is a true gem. The rooms are very comfortable and roomy, ours came with gas fireplace and Jacuzzi. Both came in handy as our day in Canmore was cool and wet. While our clothes dried off in front of the fire, we warmed up in the tub. The pub is also charming, breakfast was excellent, as was the evening meal we shared there. One minor quibble about our room - the window covering didn't reach the top pane so room got very light in the morning.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room if you can, the vaulted ceiling made it feel even roomier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Quaint retro Inn with a very welcoming atmosphere in a beautiful town. We enjoyed the cozy in-room fireplace, with the cookies and tea that were provided. Front Desk staff was pleasant and helpful. Dinning Room staff was pleasant and efficient and the food was great.

RGJ
Tavistock, ON
Apr 27, 2013

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for sharing such wonderful compliments with the Trip Advisor community, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.....we hope to see you back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didsbury, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We spent our anniversary at the Georgetown Inn. It is a beautiful and inviting old inn. The staff is warm and helpful. We like the Victoria room. The breakfast that is include is excellent. We will definately come back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Happy Anniversary and thank you for spending it with us.....we hope that you spend many more with us!!! Thank you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#3 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.