We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place, Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Save Saved
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Nice Place, Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

My wife and I normally spend a few days in early spring visiting Banff, but chose Canmore this year. The Georgetown Inn looked like an interesting place, different from your typical room, so there we booked.

We arrived early and were greeted graciously even though we needed to make changes to our reservation. The Victoria Room we stayed in is not your typically cookie cutter. It has a large Jacuzzi tub and easily controlled fireplace plus a wonderfully comfortable, king sized bed. The room was clean and in great shape. Very comfortable.

After chatting for a while with Rosemarie, at the front desk, we returned one afternoon to find she unexpectedly went out of her way to help us find locations for places we mentioned wanting to visit, going so far as to mark out directions on a local map for us! It was greatly appreciated.

Everyone we encountered was pleasant and cheerful. Breakfast was varied and plentiful. Drinks were on hand at the cozy pub at our leisure. The Jacuzzi and fireplace are warm and relaxing. All helped make for a nice, comfortable stay. Thanks! We'll be sure to see you again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Georgetown Inn!!! We are quite different and that is what we are known for....we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Victoria Room, food, pub and staff!! Thank you again and please be sure to stay with us again, we would be more than happy to have you!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    64
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
32
143
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edson, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

MY husband and I spent 3 nights/4 days in Canmore at this Inn. It was quite lovely! We stayed in a Victoria room with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace. The room was very quaint, and everything was clean and in order. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The front desk clerk looked up and printed off information for areas to snowshoe for us!! We had breakfast daily at the pub downstairs and that service and food were great. Would definitely recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for spending 4 days with us and we are so glad that you enjoyed all of it. I will be sure to let our staff know your appreciation!! We hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the Georgetown Inn we were in love with the stlye the staff at the desk and in the pub.We had to change our reservations and the staff was more than helpfull.Each room has it`s own warm and cozy style and very clean.We ate all our meals at the Inn for price taste and the staff we just did not want to go anywhere else the menu had so much to choose from,there were four of us and we all ordered different dishes and we all we very happy with our dishes.The breakfast was free but if you just went for breakfast at the Inn the prices are very reasonable and woth it.We would return again with pleasure.Thanks to the staff for making our visit so enjoyable we loved our stay>

Room Tip: Any room would be a great room as they are all different and welcoming.all views are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you Heather and Wayne for staying with us, we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pub and our staff!!! Thank you and we do hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We went to the Georgetown Inn for a late anniversary night out. We loved everything about
the Victoria room from our cookies to the 2 person jaccuzzi as well as the fireplace.
All the staff that we encountered were extremely pleasant and went out of their way to
make sure that we had a great experience. Judy who checked us in and said she would
see us for breakfast the next morning was great. She made sure that she caught up with
us before we left to give us a hug good-bye.
We will think of the Georgetown Inn anytime we want a truly memorable experience.
The food was wonderful and very delicious from lunchtime, supper and breakfast on Sunday.
We did not have a bad meal! I would stop there to eat anytime I go west from Calgary.

The Georgetown Inn allowed us to change our reservation when a snowstorm was predicated
for an earlier weekend and booked us for the next available weekend two weeks later.
We are glad that we made the decision to go to the Georgetown Inn.

Room Tip: I would expect all Victoria rooms are great - so much space and you feel you are in a mini apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you, thank you!! One of our goals at the Georgetown is to provide our guests with a memorable experience and make them feel a part of "our home". So thank you for sharing this with the Trip Advisor community. We will be sure to let our staff and Judy know that you appreciated their hospitality. Anniversaries celebrated by our guests are important to us and we thank you for letting us be a part of that.....we do hope that you come back very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I recently stayed there with my missus this past weekend and we enjoyed the accommodations very much, we were in room 302 with some friends as well staying in different rooms, 301 and 207 respectively. It felt cozy with the fireplace and the ambience was excellent. It had an old style feel to it where as a hotel room would have been just like the others in the same building. Each room had its own unique character which made the stay all the more enjoyable. The travelzoo voucher didn’t do this place justice as my friends and I would have gladly paid the regular room rates. If ever we are in Canmore/Banff area again this year, Georgetown Inn is our destination. Thanks to the staff for their friendliness and the waitresses as well at the restaurant who we tipped for providing such excellent service (since breakfast was provided).

/FG + Friends
http://www.studiofg.ca

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you to you and your friends for staying with us and enjoying our uniquely decorated Victoria rooms. We are happy to hear that each room being different was a plus for your stay. I will be sure to let the pub staff know how much you enjoyed their service. We do hope that you come back again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here last week for a couple of days. From the minute you walk in the door it's very warm, friendly and homely. Some areas need a little TLC but the rooms are clean and the bathrooms modern . The Victoria room has a little kitchenette, a gas fireplace and a 2 person jacuzzi tub and plenty of space. A bonus for us was a kettle and teapot as well as the usual coffee pot. It has a pub where you can have breakfast and a regular menu. The full English is very good and if not included is $10 including tea or coffee. The staff were all very efficient and friendly . We would definitely return . Good deal from Travel zoo.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you fro taking advantage of our Travel Zoo special..we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

to start with the room was not dusted, the cookies where not baked and where not shortbread.
the room was way to hot!!!!!, all night could not sleep because of the noise, the power went off at 6:30 a.m. and the heater was noisy ,could not get any help with the problem... So that was the end of our night . BUT. the food was very good in the bar Thank You! and the people were very nice to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Joanne:

We are glad you stayed with us and thank you for oyur comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a restless evening. If you would like to discuss this further please contact judy@waymarker.ca We are glad that our staff and food in the pub was a positive during your stay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta
Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
#10 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.