We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Winter break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We stayed here last week for a couple of days. From the minute you walk in the door it's very warm, friendly and homely. Some areas need a little TLC but the rooms are clean and the bathrooms modern . The Victoria room has a little kitchenette, a gas fireplace and a 2 person jacuzzi tub and plenty of space. A bonus for us was a kettle and teapot as well as the usual coffee pot. It has a pub where you can have breakfast and a regular menu. The full English is very good and if not included is $10 including tea or coffee. The staff were all very efficient and friendly . We would definitely return . Good deal from Travel zoo.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you fro taking advantage of our Travel Zoo special..we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again very soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    86
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
40
205
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

to start with the room was not dusted, the cookies where not baked and where not shortbread.
the room was way to hot!!!!!, all night could not sleep because of the noise, the power went off at 6:30 a.m. and the heater was noisy ,could not get any help with the problem... So that was the end of our night . BUT. the food was very good in the bar Thank You! and the people were very nice to.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Joanne:

We are glad you stayed with us and thank you for oyur comments. We are sorry to hear that you had a restless evening. If you would like to discuss this further please contact judy@waymarker.ca We are glad that our staff and food in the pub was a positive during your stay...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at the Georgetown for 2 nights in February. The place is charming and very old English. The elevator was a manual lift in which you held the button down until it reached your floor, then opened the door. Filled with lovely antique furnishings, paintings and knick knacks, we felt like we had arrived in a smaller version of Downton Abbey. Our room was on the top floor, a huge room looking at the Three Sisters Mountains. A king sized 4 poster bed greeted us as we opened the door, a large jacuzzi tub to the left, a fireplace and 2 arm chairs completed the scene. A wardrobe with bathrobes and room to hang our clothing, an antique dresser with a lovely English tea set and absolutely delicious shortbread cookies made my day. We felt that we could just cocoon all weekend and never leave this inviting room. Breakfasts were included and the Pub downstairs provided a small menu but the food was great. Look for the daily specials. On one of the nights, they had fish and chips; 2 pieces for $10, a great deal and delicious as well. The only complaint I had was that the bed had a foam topper over the mattress which was extremely hot and uncomfortable. Perhaps it's time for the matresses to be replaced rather than trying to plump them up with foam.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with the Trip Advisor community!! Thank you for comparing us to Downton Abbey....we are a "Charming Inn" and have alot of comforts so thank you for pointing this out. I will let management know about your bed comments as we do listen to our guests.....we really do hope that you visit us again soon!! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was our second stay the the Georgetown Inn in Canmore Alberta. We were just staying for one night to celebrate our anniversary. We started our visit with some post skiing snacks in the pub located at the Inn. The pub food was really good, as was the complementary breakfast the next morning. You can order right off the menu for breakfast - very nice.
The pub is very authentic and has many antiques which helps to add that "old" feeling to the building.
We had a room that was on the 3rd floor with a really nice view of the mountains from the king sized bed (which was a little soft for me). The room had a gas fire place and a two person jacuzzi which was nice after a day at the ski hill. There was also a separate bathroom with shower which was small but adequate. I also liked that there was a kettle for making tea, much better than trying to manage with the coffee maker. Also a couple of sugar cookies if you needed a snack.
I know that many people mention the trains that go right by the Inn day and night, but they didn't bother us at all.
Overall it was a good experience and the price was right, but it just seemed like the whole place needed some spring cleaning - walls in the bedroom, bathroom and pub could all use a good wash.
Canmore is a great little town and the inn is within walking distance of several great restaurants.

Room Tip: Top floor is really nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for spending your anniversary with us. Our little inn is all about romance!! Thank you for your comments and we will be starting our "spring cleaning" right away! We hope that you come again for your next anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We chose Georgetown Inn to celebrate our 21st wedding anniversary. From booking to checkout the staff and venue was awesome, friendly, personable and helpful. they went out of their way to make our 2 day stay romantic and pleasurable. We stayed in the Victoria room and we where met with Champaign on ice and chocolate covered strawberries in our room. The food in their quaint pub restaurant is out of this world and well presented. Can definitely recommend their fish and chips. You certainly get value for your money. The only feedback i can give is that maybe it is time to replace the carpets, but other than that you are tops and we will be back! Thank you for making our stay and anniversary memorable!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Happy Anniversary and thanky ou for spending it at the Georgetown!! We love helping our guests celebrate and make it a special time for them so thank you!! We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of our cozy Inn and hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I found this hotel through a search with trip advisor and selected based on its ratings, as well as an included breakfast as advertised on Expedia. I ended up booking through booking.com and got a basic deal.

Much to my surprise after a non-refundable reservation, there was no meal plan included. When I arrived at the hotel, I inquired and the front desk responded this way: "Oh, I see that you booked your room through Booking.com. Unfortunatly we can only extend a free breakfast through reserving directly through us. So next time, please feel free to call us directly and if you find a cheaper price online, we are happy to match it!"

So, even though I had no warning ahead of time and even though they would price match, they still refused to offer me the included breakfast. Just because I had the audacity to find them through a 3rd party venue and apparently should be penalized for it. It cost us $20 plus for two orders of french toast. Which would have been included otherwise.

Other than that, the room was nice and clean. It was our anniversary and so we spent extra on the Jacuzzi room and were quite happy with it. All of the waterworks appears to be fairly new and in excellent repair. The carpet appears a little outdated and we could hear the resturant below us. However thats the nature of a smaller, older venue like this, I guess. I would recommend this location, excluding the whole breakfast fiasco.

Room Tip: Book directly or lose out on breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for writing your thoughts as we appreciate everything that our guests have to say...we apologize for any inconvenience about the breakfast. It is by no means a penalty. We just want to encourage our guests to book directly through us and come back. When guests are repeat guests we reward them with breakfast included with their stay. As a promotion we offered breakfast for a period f time on third party booking engines but that promotion ended and by no means was it meant as a mark against any of our guests. It was just an added bonus/promotion.

If you would like to discuss this further please do not hesitate to contact me at judy@waymarker.ca

Thank you and we do hope that you call us to book again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

When the weather on the mountain was too bad for skiing, we went to Canmore for lunch and ended up selecting the Georgetown Inn. We knew the inn as a B&B, not a restaurant.
For my lunch I started with the best Onion Soup I have ever had anywhere. Onion soup can be salty, but this was delicious, with a very unique flavour. I would love to know what herbs and spices they add to it.
I followed the soup with the Farmhouse Salad, which was huge and delicious. The balsamic dressing was served on the side, which I like. I could not finish it all and they readily boxed it up for me and even included the dressing on a sealed container. Great service!
It was good food, a friendly server and an enjoyable lunch. It was on the expensive side, but we were in Canmore, a touristy town.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank youf or writing about our pub. 90% of of menu we make from scratch like our onion soup and dressings. We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your meal with us and hope you will be back soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.