We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic weekend at Georgetown Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Save Saved
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save Mid-week 15% off
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Okotoks, Canada
1 review
“Great romantic weekend at Georgetown Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My wife and I spent three days at the Georgetown Inn and it was excellent.
First, to have breakfast included was a bonus, but this was no ordinary continental breakfast, the pancakes (flapjacks) and french toast were absolutely incredible — what an amazing touch.
The room was just as we had asked. It was also quite comfortable and the large jacuzzi tub was fantastic - especially after a day snowshoeing in the mountains. Victorian room was just great.
Everyone was so friendly and we had a great evening in the restaurant/pub as well.
We will certainly be back and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a mountain escape — and that does not include a chain hotel.

Room Tip: I would suggest Victorian room for romantic getaway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and posting such a lovely review!!! Our goal is to provide that romantic experience so we are so pleased to hear that it worked for you!! We can't wait to have you come back!!! I will be surer to tellt he servers and kitchen how much you enjoyed our pub!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    71
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
163
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

This little Inn has so much charecter. From the moment we booked in the staff treated up like royality. We stayed in the Victorian Room. I was very impressed with how clean not only our room was but the entire Inn. It was decorated nicely. The food was very good. I would recommend the French Toast . Wow the best I have ever had. I also had a Clubhouse it was served on an intresting bread that to my suprise turned out to be one of the best Clubhouses I have ever had also. As you can tell I was very impressed with our stay . The cookies and Tea on arrival in our room was a nice touch.

Room Tip: Our room was good. The hotel is in a good location. It was easy to get everywhere we wanted to go. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
We are so happy that you spent your holidays at our charming inn!!! Thank you for writing such a delightful review and we really hope to see you in the New Year!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent a few nights at The Georgetown Inn and was increadably impressed, such a cozy atmosphere! Check in was a breeze and the room was fantastic! Clean and spacious with a wonderful fireplace that was much needed in the morning. I loved the plush bathrobes that were in the room as well. The cookies served with the tea were FANTASTIC!
Lovely stay and a wonderful staff that were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noticing our little extra touches like the tea trays upon arrival and I will be sure to let our wonderful staff know you appreciated them!! Thank you again and Happy Holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A cosy atmosphere, and welcoming staff made it a very enjoyable getaway for my daughter and myself. Lots of character and history in the decor, and staff were attentive to all our needs. Very much a family feel, not a big chain where you are just a number. Our room had a king bed, and a sitting room with armchairs to curl up in to watch tv or enjoy the fire. A DVD player was available on request for movies. There was a corner spa tub so I could soak while watching a movie. We were even able to bring our dog (a golden retriever!) with us when most places consider her too big to bring along. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and a dinner in the pub, seated by a crackling fire. Food was delicious and reasonably priced, and the portions were large. We are very much looking forward to going back. The only negative we found was that because their sign out front has no spot lights on it, it was a little hard to find in the dark on the first evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review....it was such a pleasure having you with us and it was so great meeting your beautiful retriever Lily!!!! Crosby (our pet concierge) loved her!! We hope to see you again very soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived with so much excitement and it quickly declined. It was frightening. We were taken to a room about 2 feet behind reception desk, so close that when I walked out of my room I was face to face with the receptionist. It seemed like Grandma's house....except Grandma had been passed away for many years and hadn't cleaned or changed anything in that time. We left as soon as possible. I am amazed the price was so high, even more amazed that people leave great reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your input about our cosy inn......we are sorry tohear that it was differetn than you expected. If you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me judy@waymarker.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed two nights here for a birthday get away. Loved it. The suite was very nice with a huge comfortable bed, and a sitting room with a fireplace and a corner spa tub in an alcove so you could sit in the tub and watch the fire. We ate at the English style pub for two dinners and two breakfasts and enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. There were also little extras, like a tea tray and (because they knew it was my birthday) some chocolate covered strawberries. For a romantic getaway or just a nice place to stay in Canmore I would definitely recommend the Georgetown Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are honoured that you stayed with us for your birthday and are so tickled that your enjoyed it. We love doing these small extra touches so our guests feel at home and pampered especially on such an important day for you. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cute hotel and pub not a chain atmosphere in a good location in downtown. We stayed one night in the Georgetown Inn in a king bed room. They have only rooms with one queen bed or 1 king bed so not really condusive to sharing friends only couples. While the bedding was nice the room was not particularly appealing. Dirty light switches and bathroom doors. Scuffed dressers gungy looking floors. The hotel was not full but they put us right over the door of the back entrance that slammed when someone entered or left and we had the most expensive room in the place so that was not appreciated with people coming and going after midnight.The pub below is ok nice atmosphere with what tasted like premade meals. The lobby and common areas are dirty and dark. For 189.00 you can do better in Canmore even the holiday inn has much cleaner standards. Look around before you book.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.