We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Spent a few nights at The Georgetown Inn and was increadably impressed, such a cozy atmosphere! Check in was a breeze and the room was fantastic! Clean and spacious with a wonderful fireplace that was much needed in the morning. I loved the plush bathrobes that were in the room as well. The cookies served with the tea were FANTASTIC!
Lovely stay and a wonderful staff that were very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thank you and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for noticing our little extra touches like the tea trays upon arrival and I will be sure to let our wonderful staff know you appreciated them!! Thank you again and Happy Holidays!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    94
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
224
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

A cosy atmosphere, and welcoming staff made it a very enjoyable getaway for my daughter and myself. Lots of character and history in the decor, and staff were attentive to all our needs. Very much a family feel, not a big chain where you are just a number. Our room had a king bed, and a sitting room with armchairs to curl up in to watch tv or enjoy the fire. A DVD player was available on request for movies. There was a corner spa tub so I could soak while watching a movie. We were even able to bring our dog (a golden retriever!) with us when most places consider her too big to bring along. We enjoyed 2 breakfasts and a dinner in the pub, seated by a crackling fire. Food was delicious and reasonably priced, and the portions were large. We are very much looking forward to going back. The only negative we found was that because their sign out front has no spot lights on it, it was a little hard to find in the dark on the first evening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for leaving such a lovely review....it was such a pleasure having you with us and it was so great meeting your beautiful retriever Lily!!!! Crosby (our pet concierge) loved her!! We hope to see you again very soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Me and my boyfriend arrived with so much excitement and it quickly declined. It was frightening. We were taken to a room about 2 feet behind reception desk, so close that when I walked out of my room I was face to face with the receptionist. It seemed like Grandma's house....except Grandma had been passed away for many years and hadn't cleaned or changed anything in that time. We left as soon as possible. I am amazed the price was so high, even more amazed that people leave great reviews.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your input about our cosy inn......we are sorry tohear that it was differetn than you expected. If you wish to discuss anything further please do not hesitate to contact me judy@waymarker.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed two nights here for a birthday get away. Loved it. The suite was very nice with a huge comfortable bed, and a sitting room with a fireplace and a corner spa tub in an alcove so you could sit in the tub and watch the fire. We ate at the English style pub for two dinners and two breakfasts and enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. There were also little extras, like a tea tray and (because they knew it was my birthday) some chocolate covered strawberries. For a romantic getaway or just a nice place to stay in Canmore I would definitely recommend the Georgetown Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are honoured that you stayed with us for your birthday and are so tickled that your enjoyed it. We love doing these small extra touches so our guests feel at home and pampered especially on such an important day for you. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cute hotel and pub not a chain atmosphere in a good location in downtown. We stayed one night in the Georgetown Inn in a king bed room. They have only rooms with one queen bed or 1 king bed so not really condusive to sharing friends only couples. While the bedding was nice the room was not particularly appealing. Dirty light switches and bathroom doors. Scuffed dressers gungy looking floors. The hotel was not full but they put us right over the door of the back entrance that slammed when someone entered or left and we had the most expensive room in the place so that was not appreciated with people coming and going after midnight.The pub below is ok nice atmosphere with what tasted like premade meals. The lobby and common areas are dirty and dark. For 189.00 you can do better in Canmore even the holiday inn has much cleaner standards. Look around before you book.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ever since we moved to Canada, we've been looking for a getaway location to match the little bed and breakfast in the English Lake District that we visited two or three times every year. Finally we think we have found it. The Georgetown Inn is small but cozy, and the rooms are very well appointed. The bar and restaurant are excellent - we particularly enjoyed the French toast for breakfast.

I should add that due to a technical problem, the room we had booked was not available on the night. The staff went out of their way to resolve this for us and to compensate us for the disappointment, and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and apologies for any mix ups.....we are glad that we could resolve your issues right away . Thank you for your patience!!!! We hope to see you again very soon!!!! Thanks so much for your kind words.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Need some inspiration for your vacation? This is definitely a place with some character. Antique items fill the lobby and old movie posters hang the walls. There is even an interesting pub that makes the most incredible Guinness steak pie...OMG I don't even like gravy normally, but you have to try this. The rooms have been recently updated and look really nice, they finally have flat screens. The cleaning staff outdid themselves. We come here twice a year for a girls’ scrapbooking retreat and typically get great service and accommodation.

This time was mostly good, but there's a bit of a downside. Dorian is usually an angel by making sure that the food service is extra special, but unfortunately, he fell a little behind this time. It appeared the staff were busy and overworked, being expected to work split shifts and to move from site to site. It is possible that they were short staffed, but overall the food service was pretty disorganized and inconsistent. Most of the time, we had to flag someone down to serve us and we ended waiting almost an hour for one of our breakfasts, which wasn't that great once it arrived. I don't like to be a complainer, but we drop quite a bit of dough at the property when we come to these things and deserve better than this. I wonder if someone can move Dorian over to the front desk side and have Annik sort things out over in the pub. Nevertheless, it is a cool pub, lots of locals go there, which is a great sign.

Now there is something you should know about this hotel. If you are a person who has particular tastes and cannot let things slide, you should not visit. It's very laid back here. Sometimes I wonder if the place is haunted. As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff leave you alone at night and its a bit of a complicated, confusing process to let yourself back in if you leave the premises late at night. Additionally, locking the scrapbook room is an interesting experience. This is what I like about the place though so I don't think it should change. Overall, great minus the food part.

Room Tip: Talk to Boz
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.7 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 527 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#9 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.