We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Getaway in Canmore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Save Saved
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Save Mid-week 15% off
Ranked #3 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“A Getaway in Canmore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed two nights here for a birthday get away. Loved it. The suite was very nice with a huge comfortable bed, and a sitting room with a fireplace and a corner spa tub in an alcove so you could sit in the tub and watch the fire. We ate at the English style pub for two dinners and two breakfasts and enjoyed both the food and the atmosphere. There were also little extras, like a tea tray and (because they knew it was my birthday) some chocolate covered strawberries. For a romantic getaway or just a nice place to stay in Canmore I would definitely recommend the Georgetown Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
We are honoured that you stayed with us for your birthday and are so tickled that your enjoyed it. We love doing these small extra touches so our guests feel at home and pampered especially on such an important day for you. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    162
    70
    21
    7
    6
See reviews for
34
164
11
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cute hotel and pub not a chain atmosphere in a good location in downtown. We stayed one night in the Georgetown Inn in a king bed room. They have only rooms with one queen bed or 1 king bed so not really condusive to sharing friends only couples. While the bedding was nice the room was not particularly appealing. Dirty light switches and bathroom doors. Scuffed dressers gungy looking floors. The hotel was not full but they put us right over the door of the back entrance that slammed when someone entered or left and we had the most expensive room in the place so that was not appreciated with people coming and going after midnight.The pub below is ok nice atmosphere with what tasted like premade meals. The lobby and common areas are dirty and dark. For 189.00 you can do better in Canmore even the holiday inn has much cleaner standards. Look around before you book.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane AB
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ever since we moved to Canada, we've been looking for a getaway location to match the little bed and breakfast in the English Lake District that we visited two or three times every year. Finally we think we have found it. The Georgetown Inn is small but cozy, and the rooms are very well appointed. The bar and restaurant are excellent - we particularly enjoyed the French toast for breakfast.

I should add that due to a technical problem, the room we had booked was not available on the night. The staff went out of their way to resolve this for us and to compensate us for the disappointment, and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and apologies for any mix ups.....we are glad that we could resolve your issues right away . Thank you for your patience!!!! We hope to see you again very soon!!!! Thanks so much for your kind words.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Need some inspiration for your vacation? This is definitely a place with some character. Antique items fill the lobby and old movie posters hang the walls. There is even an interesting pub that makes the most incredible Guinness steak pie...OMG I don't even like gravy normally, but you have to try this. The rooms have been recently updated and look really nice, they finally have flat screens. The cleaning staff outdid themselves. We come here twice a year for a girls’ scrapbooking retreat and typically get great service and accommodation.

This time was mostly good, but there's a bit of a downside. Dorian is usually an angel by making sure that the food service is extra special, but unfortunately, he fell a little behind this time. It appeared the staff were busy and overworked, being expected to work split shifts and to move from site to site. It is possible that they were short staffed, but overall the food service was pretty disorganized and inconsistent. Most of the time, we had to flag someone down to serve us and we ended waiting almost an hour for one of our breakfasts, which wasn't that great once it arrived. I don't like to be a complainer, but we drop quite a bit of dough at the property when we come to these things and deserve better than this. I wonder if someone can move Dorian over to the front desk side and have Annik sort things out over in the pub. Nevertheless, it is a cool pub, lots of locals go there, which is a great sign.

Now there is something you should know about this hotel. If you are a person who has particular tastes and cannot let things slide, you should not visit. It's very laid back here. Sometimes I wonder if the place is haunted. As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff leave you alone at night and its a bit of a complicated, confusing process to let yourself back in if you leave the premises late at night. Additionally, locking the scrapbook room is an interesting experience. This is what I like about the place though so I don't think it should change. Overall, great minus the food part.

Room Tip: Talk to Boz
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had 2 lovely nights at Georgetown Inn in Canmore. Room was comfortable yet small. It was a nice surprise to have a gas fireplace. Restaurant served large and tasty meals, especially the Full English Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!!! Glas to hear that you enjoyed your two nights with us and tried the traditional english breakfast!!! Hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had an opportunity to visit here on our getaway weekend from the city, very quaint and certainly charming which is exactly what we were looking for. The suite we had made us feel at home the minute we entered. It did not feel like a hotel or commercial place at all. As soon as you walk in, you go back in time a bit. The staff was great, French Toast with Berries capped off the next morning perfectly. Strongly suggest you get away to this romantic and quiet spot at least once. If you live in Calgary or the area, this is a gem in your own back yard.
The Georgetown Inn has certainly earned its "Charming Inns of Alberta" designation in our mind.
B&C

Room Tip: Get a suite and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our charming inn.....we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.....you should check out our new Date Night in the Pub package!!!! You will love it!! Hope to see you both back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We purchased a deal through LivingSocial.com for a 2 night stay at Georgetown Inn. It was a really good deal and had a limited budget for our Honeymoon. We wanted to slip away for a few days to relax and our time at the Georgetown Inn was perfect. The hotel is very charming, we really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. And the morning breakfast was delicious! We can't wait to go back on our 1st year Anniversary. If you are looking for a clean, quite and charming hotel I would suggest staying at the Georgetown Inn in Canmore, AB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Congratulations and thank you for staying with us for your honeymoon!! We hope to help you celebrate many anniversaries to come......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.