We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Banff National Park, Canada
Level Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Cute hotel and pub not a chain atmosphere in a good location in downtown. We stayed one night in the Georgetown Inn in a king bed room. They have only rooms with one queen bed or 1 king bed so not really condusive to sharing friends only couples. While the bedding was nice the room was not particularly appealing. Dirty light switches and bathroom doors. Scuffed dressers gungy looking floors. The hotel was not full but they put us right over the door of the back entrance that slammed when someone entered or left and we had the most expensive room in the place so that was not appreciated with people coming and going after midnight.The pub below is ok nice atmosphere with what tasted like premade meals. The lobby and common areas are dirty and dark. For 189.00 you can do better in Canmore even the holiday inn has much cleaner standards. Look around before you book.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    94
    34
    12
    10
See reviews for
47
224
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cochrane AB
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Ever since we moved to Canada, we've been looking for a getaway location to match the little bed and breakfast in the English Lake District that we visited two or three times every year. Finally we think we have found it. The Georgetown Inn is small but cozy, and the rooms are very well appointed. The bar and restaurant are excellent - we particularly enjoyed the French toast for breakfast.

I should add that due to a technical problem, the room we had booked was not available on the night. The staff went out of their way to resolve this for us and to compensate us for the disappointment, and we will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and apologies for any mix ups.....we are glad that we could resolve your issues right away . Thank you for your patience!!!! We hope to see you again very soon!!!! Thanks so much for your kind words.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Need some inspiration for your vacation? This is definitely a place with some character. Antique items fill the lobby and old movie posters hang the walls. There is even an interesting pub that makes the most incredible Guinness steak pie...OMG I don't even like gravy normally, but you have to try this. The rooms have been recently updated and look really nice, they finally have flat screens. The cleaning staff outdid themselves. We come here twice a year for a girls’ scrapbooking retreat and typically get great service and accommodation.

This time was mostly good, but there's a bit of a downside. Dorian is usually an angel by making sure that the food service is extra special, but unfortunately, he fell a little behind this time. It appeared the staff were busy and overworked, being expected to work split shifts and to move from site to site. It is possible that they were short staffed, but overall the food service was pretty disorganized and inconsistent. Most of the time, we had to flag someone down to serve us and we ended waiting almost an hour for one of our breakfasts, which wasn't that great once it arrived. I don't like to be a complainer, but we drop quite a bit of dough at the property when we come to these things and deserve better than this. I wonder if someone can move Dorian over to the front desk side and have Annik sort things out over in the pub. Nevertheless, it is a cool pub, lots of locals go there, which is a great sign.

Now there is something you should know about this hotel. If you are a person who has particular tastes and cannot let things slide, you should not visit. It's very laid back here. Sometimes I wonder if the place is haunted. As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff leave you alone at night and its a bit of a complicated, confusing process to let yourself back in if you leave the premises late at night. Additionally, locking the scrapbook room is an interesting experience. This is what I like about the place though so I don't think it should change. Overall, great minus the food part.

Room Tip: Talk to Boz
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had 2 lovely nights at Georgetown Inn in Canmore. Room was comfortable yet small. It was a nice surprise to have a gas fireplace. Restaurant served large and tasty meals, especially the Full English Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!!! Glas to hear that you enjoyed your two nights with us and tried the traditional english breakfast!!! Hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had an opportunity to visit here on our getaway weekend from the city, very quaint and certainly charming which is exactly what we were looking for. The suite we had made us feel at home the minute we entered. It did not feel like a hotel or commercial place at all. As soon as you walk in, you go back in time a bit. The staff was great, French Toast with Berries capped off the next morning perfectly. Strongly suggest you get away to this romantic and quiet spot at least once. If you live in Calgary or the area, this is a gem in your own back yard.
The Georgetown Inn has certainly earned its "Charming Inns of Alberta" designation in our mind.
B&C

Room Tip: Get a suite and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our charming inn.....we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.....you should check out our new Date Night in the Pub package!!!! You will love it!! Hope to see you both back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We purchased a deal through LivingSocial.com for a 2 night stay at Georgetown Inn. It was a really good deal and had a limited budget for our Honeymoon. We wanted to slip away for a few days to relax and our time at the Georgetown Inn was perfect. The hotel is very charming, we really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. And the morning breakfast was delicious! We can't wait to go back on our 1st year Anniversary. If you are looking for a clean, quite and charming hotel I would suggest staying at the Georgetown Inn in Canmore, AB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Congratulations and thank you for staying with us for your honeymoon!! We hope to help you celebrate many anniversaries to come......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We were first nervous looking at the room pictures thinking they may be a bit Quaint for an Energy Service Executive retreat. This was not the case the guys enjoyed many features of the hotel. The guys enjoyed the fireplaces and high back chairs to catch up on reading before the meetings and in the evenings,(a few even admitted to having tea with the china). The pub was a great place for lunch on the patio and a great place to socialize after the days meetings. The staff organized us great restaurants for us to attend in the evening to change up the location and even organized our golf at Silvertip to top off a great week of meetings. The only hard part was trying to tell the wives that it was work attending a retreat in Canmore in September with the weather above 20 degrees each day. We will definitely go to Georgetown Inn again for our Executive Retreat. I will bring my wife also to the Geogetown Inn for a little R&R without the kids on an extended weekend, that will make up for being AWOL for the week of The retreat! Thanks Judy for organizing a great week and hats off to all the staff (from the manager, front desk,cleaning staff and pub staff) ensuring our retreat was a success.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your meetings were a success with us. I will be sure to tell everyone/staff how much you and your delegates enjoyed themselves. I hope to see you again and help you book another successful meeting at the Georgetown!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.6 mi away
Falcon Crest Lodge
Falcon Crest Lodge
#1 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 999 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Canmore
Holiday Inn Canmore
#13 of 33 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
0.7 mi away
StoneRidge Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Copperstone Resort
Copperstone Resort
#1 of 3 in Dead Man's Flats
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pocaterra Inn
0.8 mi away
Silver Creek Lodge
Silver Creek Lodge
#9 of 33 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.