We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Quaint... Not for the Faint of Heart” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Charming and Quaint... Not for the Faint of Heart”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Need some inspiration for your vacation? This is definitely a place with some character. Antique items fill the lobby and old movie posters hang the walls. There is even an interesting pub that makes the most incredible Guinness steak pie...OMG I don't even like gravy normally, but you have to try this. The rooms have been recently updated and look really nice, they finally have flat screens. The cleaning staff outdid themselves. We come here twice a year for a girls’ scrapbooking retreat and typically get great service and accommodation.

This time was mostly good, but there's a bit of a downside. Dorian is usually an angel by making sure that the food service is extra special, but unfortunately, he fell a little behind this time. It appeared the staff were busy and overworked, being expected to work split shifts and to move from site to site. It is possible that they were short staffed, but overall the food service was pretty disorganized and inconsistent. Most of the time, we had to flag someone down to serve us and we ended waiting almost an hour for one of our breakfasts, which wasn't that great once it arrived. I don't like to be a complainer, but we drop quite a bit of dough at the property when we come to these things and deserve better than this. I wonder if someone can move Dorian over to the front desk side and have Annik sort things out over in the pub. Nevertheless, it is a cool pub, lots of locals go there, which is a great sign.

Now there is something you should know about this hotel. If you are a person who has particular tastes and cannot let things slide, you should not visit. It's very laid back here. Sometimes I wonder if the place is haunted. As mentioned in previous reviews, the staff leave you alone at night and its a bit of a complicated, confusing process to let yourself back in if you leave the premises late at night. Additionally, locking the scrapbook room is an interesting experience. This is what I like about the place though so I don't think it should change. Overall, great minus the food part.

Room Tip: Talk to Boz
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    81
    27
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
190
12
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had 2 lovely nights at Georgetown Inn in Canmore. Room was comfortable yet small. It was a nice surprise to have a gas fireplace. Restaurant served large and tasty meals, especially the Full English Breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for staying with us!!! Glas to hear that you enjoyed your two nights with us and tried the traditional english breakfast!!! Hope to see you again very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Had an opportunity to visit here on our getaway weekend from the city, very quaint and certainly charming which is exactly what we were looking for. The suite we had made us feel at home the minute we entered. It did not feel like a hotel or commercial place at all. As soon as you walk in, you go back in time a bit. The staff was great, French Toast with Berries capped off the next morning perfectly. Strongly suggest you get away to this romantic and quiet spot at least once. If you live in Calgary or the area, this is a gem in your own back yard.
The Georgetown Inn has certainly earned its "Charming Inns of Alberta" designation in our mind.
B&C

Room Tip: Get a suite and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your kind words about our charming inn.....we are so glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.....you should check out our new Date Night in the Pub package!!!! You will love it!! Hope to see you both back again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We purchased a deal through LivingSocial.com for a 2 night stay at Georgetown Inn. It was a really good deal and had a limited budget for our Honeymoon. We wanted to slip away for a few days to relax and our time at the Georgetown Inn was perfect. The hotel is very charming, we really enjoyed the relaxing atmosphere. And the morning breakfast was delicious! We can't wait to go back on our 1st year Anniversary. If you are looking for a clean, quite and charming hotel I would suggest staying at the Georgetown Inn in Canmore, AB.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Congratulations and thank you for staying with us for your honeymoon!! We hope to help you celebrate many anniversaries to come......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

We were first nervous looking at the room pictures thinking they may be a bit Quaint for an Energy Service Executive retreat. This was not the case the guys enjoyed many features of the hotel. The guys enjoyed the fireplaces and high back chairs to catch up on reading before the meetings and in the evenings,(a few even admitted to having tea with the china). The pub was a great place for lunch on the patio and a great place to socialize after the days meetings. The staff organized us great restaurants for us to attend in the evening to change up the location and even organized our golf at Silvertip to top off a great week of meetings. The only hard part was trying to tell the wives that it was work attending a retreat in Canmore in September with the weather above 20 degrees each day. We will definitely go to Georgetown Inn again for our Executive Retreat. I will bring my wife also to the Geogetown Inn for a little R&R without the kids on an extended weekend, that will make up for being AWOL for the week of The retreat! Thanks Judy for organizing a great week and hats off to all the staff (from the manager, front desk,cleaning staff and pub staff) ensuring our retreat was a success.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your meetings were a success with us. I will be sure to tell everyone/staff how much you and your delegates enjoyed themselves. I hope to see you again and help you book another successful meeting at the Georgetown!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed in the "Albert Suite" for one night after attending the Canmore Highland Games and would stay again with no hesitation. The room had a King bed which was very comfortable with an abundance of fluffy pillows. It was one of the best nights sleep I've ever had in a hotel, I might even drive out there just for the night so I can sleep in the super comfortable bed again! There was a fantastic view of the mountains from our room and we weren't bothered at all by the pub right below us. We only heard the train once and it wasn't loud at all, if you didn't know that the tracks were close by you might never hear it. This is the best property of all the ones we've stayed at in Canmore.
We were surprised when checking in to find out that breakfast the next morning would be included which was a welcome bonus. We both had the full breakfast and weren't disappointed. Everything was well prepared and delicious, especially the bacon and home made hashbrowns. The entire breakast menu is included in the free breakfast, including their "famous" french toast.
The staff were really warm and friendly, making sure you are comfortable from check in to check out.
The property is a nice short walk to Main Street if you want to check out the shops.
We will be returning soon, and will encourage our friends to do the same.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waymarker, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our property. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return. We cannot wait to have you back!! Thank you also for spreading the word to your friends, it is very much appreciated!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

I had a wonderful stay in Canmore at the Georgetown Inn. The room was clean and had quirky touches in interior design. The bed was comfortable with loads of pillows and extra throws. The dressing gowns with the name of the hotel on were a nice touch.
Room had coffee percolator and kettle with some tea and coffee provided and even a couple of big chocolate chip cookies as a welcome - yummy. We arrived late so had to get security to let us in and then were lucky to meet a helpful member of the bar staff when we found that no hand soap was provided - she was very welcoming and helpful.
There were two comfortable arm chairs and a small table in front of the fire-heater and TV. The bathroom was clean if small but this was made up for in the amazing two person hot tub - wow. After a day skiing in the cold or a hot day in the summer this would be such a treat. The room was air conditioned and came with a fridge also - perfect for your milk and wine/beer. Glasses were also provided. The room is a little cramped with two suitcases and hand luggage so would be more suitable for a short stay. Our room was the queen room and was just perfect for a romantic stay in the mountains.
A major plus for this hotel is the breakfast included in the price - we had ours in our room too. A full english breakfast (even if there version is a north american version) and the french toast is something to try.
I also enjoyed the film posters and information about movies shot in the location. Was sad to leave.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerscl, Director of Sales at Georgetown Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Thank you for enjoying your stay with us and sharing your experiences with the Trip Advisor community. We are known for being quirky and unique so thank you for pointing that out. We try to be for everyone but sometimes cannot achieve this but we did with you folks!! I am so glad to hear that you had a romantic time and we hope to see you back very soon!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.