We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I had decided I wanted to take my girlfiend out to the mountains for the night since she had never been. It was a surprise and although I had a room booked at the Georgetown Inn I told her I didn't. Funny enough as we were driving through Canmore "looking for a room" my girlfriend chose Georgetown as it just has a unique charming feel to it that can be noticed by the outside. I had booked a room with a jacuzzi tub, fireplace and mountain view. We ended up staying in room 301 and it was perfect, couldn't have asked for a better night. The Inn itself was beautiful, very quiet and the staff were super friendly.The room was homey and cozy, we woke up to a beautiful mountain view after a wonderful nights sleep. In the morning we were greeted by Sadie the hotel consierge and it just topped off a perfect stay. I would highly recommend this Inn to anyone who is looking for a romantic night with someone special or a room in a nice quiet inn that feels like home and not just another hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    85
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
204
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

We opted as we usually do for a B&B or an inn. This one did not disappoint. Beds comfy, inroom jacuzzi great, and decor nice. The pub is also a delight in decoration and food. Made to look old, but is new building. Although on main intersection, we heard no traffic noise and had a nice view of the mountains from our spacious room. Expedia advertises full breakfast included but you get a $7 voucher instead. This covers some breaky menu items but not all so you end up paying approx $10 for breakfast over and above- The front desk said they are trying to get the wording changed on this for a while now. Not to deter the breakfast (recommend stuffed blueberry french toast) was excellent. They brought a dvd player and movies to view up to your room at no charge as they do not have "inhouse movies".

Room Tip: Ask for mountain view. Jacuzzi room - big and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

I came up to stay on a business trip, later to be joined by my partner. Overall a great stay- we were both very impressed. I had one of the larger rooms on the top floor with a jacuzzi tub. Very spacious, with a cool, rustic, old-fashioned type of feel. The bed was amazing- I had 3 of the most well-rested nights of my life, in spite of also having very early mornings and late nights getting in.

The staff in the pub were very welcoming and accommodating- went in there for drinks one night and breakfast on the last morning there. Everything about this place has character- making it stand out from other hotels in the area. For a relaxing stay, I would definitely recommend the Georgetown. It's also only a 10 min drive to Banff and you are close to everything you could need in Canmore.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Though not an old building the decor is intentionally rustic, room was nice and clean (ours was one of the small ones) and had nice extras like 2 bathrobes, fridge, coffee maker, kettle. Also has a restuarant/pub onsite though we did not eat there other than the morning breakfast for which we had received a $7 voucher per person upon check-in. The only downer for us was that like all Canmore accomodations on Bow Valley Trail, it is a long walk into the downtown area because of the train tracks and limited access around them.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrisburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

my family recently travelled to Canmore for a wedding.We held our rehersal dinner at the Georgetown Inn and it was perfect.The food was amazing and the service was wonderful...great price too !!!! Also stayed at the B & B..the room was very clean and had everything that we could possibly need...Overall we arevery glad to have found the Georegetown Inn

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gleichen, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

if you want character rather than a bland modern hotel, then stay at the Georgetown Inn. We just booked on the morning before leaving home. Delighted to find a hotel with atmosphere without it feeling contrived. Lovely large room, jet tub, and the food in the pub was delicious.
Would happily go back, wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I booked this B&B online because of the great reviews that it had. This was very disappointing. Our first room so small we asked to be moved to another suite. They did accomodate us to a larger suite, on the road side. We heard the trains all night long, about every four hours. If your a light sleeper, don't stay here. The food was just horrible. We had breakfast. The eggs were overcooked, the hash browns were cut up french fries, the fruit at least fresh and the coffee $2.50. With our $7.00 voucher, I guess it was worth the $5.00 we paid. I was very disappointed to say the least. We used thousands of points and some cash for this property. Not worth it. Oh and the gal that checked us in was also the housecleaner!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.