We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Basic Value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Georgetown Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Georgetown Inn to your Saves list
Georgetown Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Good Basic Value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed here one night and chose this hotel because it would accept a small dog (a lot of the hotels/resorts in Canmore and Banff do not accept pets). The pet friendly room was pretty clean and had easy access to the outdoor areas. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. Dinner in the pub was good, but breakfast was quite disappointing (last night's french fries became the morning's hash browns....) and left us with some gastro issues. All in all, it is pretty good value. It is an older establishment and is showing its age, so keep this in mind. The cleaning aspect in the lobby and in some of the other areas, such as the bathrooms could be improved upon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    85
    28
    10
    9
See reviews for
40
204
13
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bentley, Alberta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

The service we received was wonderful! We spent a couple of nights here for our Anniversary and were treated with complimentary champagne and chocolates the first night, then were upgraded to a larger room with a jacuzzi and fireplace the second night, at no extra charge! The staff were pleasant and helpful and it was very evident that they wanted our stay to be memorable! The rooms were clean and nicely decorated! We also enjoyed 'the best fish in town' at the Inn's restaurant! Thank you for everything and for helping to make our Anniversary celebration so wonderful!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We found this through Priceline and stayed for two nights. Frankly, even though I read all of the good reviews and looked at their website, I thought that we would get a "Priceline" quality room. That is, a good room, but with a view of the woodpile just like the place we stayed at the night before. I was wrong, it was a great room with free internet and a hugely discounted breakfast. The staff was really nice to us and went out of way to make us feel welcome. The place was very nicely decorated and everything was clean, roomy, and very attractive. I am already making plans to return.

Room Tip: One thing to remember, if you call them, they will beat the Priceline rate - even when we went trhou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We chose to stay in Canmore to avoid crowds and high rates in Baniff and were delighted to have chosen the Georgetown Inn. It reminded us of country hotels in Britain and Ireland, with a very good and popular pub-restaurant on the ground floor with rooms above. We had room 2006, a larger-than-average one with a great bed, wet bar and oversized bathroom. The service and food in the restaurant, particularly breakfast, were excellent. The corridors are museum-like, lined with old movie posters for films made in the region. The only regret is we only stayed one night!"

Room Tip: Upgrade one notch to get Room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We loved our stay. Loved the historic biographies on on the walls of the pub. My children thought it was the "coolest" hotel we have stayed in, and we have stayed in alot of places. Nice to be in a place with real people and real service, not the cookie cutter corporate places. Hope to be back again and again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary Alberta
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We have stayed at the Georgetown four times in the past three months and each time have really enjoyed our stays! The rooms are very comfortable and clean. The service is exceptional. The restaurant-pub have great meals including a yorkshire pudding that would rival the best! The breakfast is very tasty and plentiful servings. You can enjoy any of the meals on their fun patio that has a great view of ha-ling peak! We will return!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ab, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This is my second night at the Georgetown inn. Last night the air conditioner went out and the hair dryer. I left a message with the front desk in the morning and came back after a full day of hiking. The AC still does not work, the hair dryer works for a few seconds then shuts off. They did not clean the bathroom today either. The girl at the front desk said 'I'll leave a note for the manager who comes in at 8am.'
POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Georgetown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Georgetown Inn

Address: 1101 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N4 , Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
#5 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Georgetown Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Georgetown Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Georgetown Hotel Canmore
Georgetown Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Georgetown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.