We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The nicest we stayed at” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lady Macdonald Country Inn

Save Saved
You added Lady Macdonald Country Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lady Macdonald Country Inn
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1201 Bow Valley Trail | Box 2128, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The nicest we stayed at”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Thank you for our stay at the Lady Mc Donald. We stayed at 3 places during or week in Canada and the Lady McDonald was the nicest place, most resonably priced an offered the most amenities. Lovely!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    23
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
15
65
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Really lovely, quirky B&B. A real home-from-home. The owners could not have been more attentive and the homecooked breakfasts are wonderful. I truly appreciated the fresh tea (with milk) and the serve-yourself-cake available at all times. This is a real treasure and certainly shows up the large hotel chains. Canmore itself is much more sedate than brashy Banff, I strongly recommend a visit to its Quilt Shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Inn is located in Canmore, a few kilometres out of Banff National Park, a great location to explore the parks. The host was very welcoming and had great recommendations where to hike, even some tips you would not find otherwise. We had the best breakfasts there out of all B&Bs we have travelled to in Canada, which is something. The room was nicely furnished, though a bit dusty.
The Inn is located close to the railway line, and you hear the railway throughout the night, which was not an issue for us.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Honeymoon suite and enjoyed the spacious room, which is furnished with a comfy couc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

if you want a nice little B & B close to the town centre, this is the one, although located on the main drag it was quiet and we were served an excellent home cooked breakfast, a nice touch was home cooked cake and coffee avialable in the afternoon, a welcome break from the big hotel chains,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed 4 nights in this great B&B. Friendly innkeeper and his wife is a trained chef who prepared the best breakfasts we have had during our many B&B stays around the world. Evening snacks were also great. Canmore is a good location with many affordable restaurants. We especially liked Flatbread Pizza which also has very good pasta. The local brewpub is also recommended. Our innkeeper recommended that we take the Kananaskis Loop Drive. It has a lot of dirt road but the scenery is great!!
Be forwarned that like many places in the area this B&B has no airconditioning and it was unseasonably warm during our stay. Also a main railline is nearby, They provide earplugs in the room if needed.

Room Tip: Having a room away from the tracks could help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved our stay at Lady Macdonald Inn in Canmore. Canmore was much less crowded than Banff and therefore more relaxing and enjoyable. We arrived at the inn tired and hungry after a long day's drive. Peter greeted us, showed us our room and pointed us to The Georgetown, right across the driveway, for a most satisfactory meal. Our room was comfortable with nice beds and linens. They supply earplugs which made me nervous but we never needed them. We slept very soundly all 5 nights. We stayed at the beginning of July and the loft did tend to get warm but fans were available.
The breakfasts were superb - cooked by Tammy. I had informed her of my dietary restrictions in advance. She was so creative about providing me with lovely alternatives to the main meal, as needed. She did the same with the most welcome snacks that were provided each afternoon. The food was as beautiful to look at as it was to eat! Peter used to be a tour guide and was most generous and appropriate with his suggestions for hikes for our group of mixed age and ability. We felt totally pampered and would stay there again in a flash!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our room at Lady Macdonald Inn was OK - nothing great - but clean and comfortable. It wasn't as big as we expected, based on the picture we had seen. The bed springs were squeaky but did not cause problems during the night as we feared they would. The general areas downstairs were lovely, and the breakfast each morning was good and enjoyable, with a variety of fruits, cereals, hot baked fruit dishes, plus the main dishes each day. Though the inn is located on a major street through Canmore, there was no street noise during the night. The inn next door also has a pub that blared loud music on Saturday night, but it stopped at 11 pm so wasn't really a problem. The owner was nice and helpful in advising about places to eat in Canmore and was responsive in re-booting the router when we told him the Wi-Fi was not working. The inn is showing a bit of wear-and-tear and could use some refurbishing to spruce it up.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lady Macdonald Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lady Macdonald Country Inn

Address: 1201 Bow Valley Trail | Box 2128, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1P5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lady Macdonald Country Inn 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 room country inn filled with cozy charm. Start each morning with a sumptuous breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lady Macdonald Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Lady Macdonald Country Inn Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lady Macdonald Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.