We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bow Valley Motel to your Saves list
Bow Valley Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Close to everything a traveler need, even laundry.
Clean room. Beautiful view. Fresh air. Everyone smile. Love the rule for late arrive and early leave. Like live in friend's house. We stayed in the room close to stair/office and felt comfortable.
PS: If you want a super quiet stay, choose other place. Except the traffic, restaurants around motel also make sounds.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    65
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
26
94
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We spent 3 nights here at the Bow Valley Motel. It was a fair establishment for the price, nothing extravagant. At the time we were there, several of the guests were displaced family's from the floods a year before, then could not go back into their homes because of mold. The motel put them up for a time and they were starting to move out during our stay. Quite a bit of commotion was going on then. The rooms are adequate but no microwave oven in the room we had, only a fridge. Great view from our balcony. Location is near all attractions of downtown. Only downside was the noise from the local Brewster patrons next door in the early morning hours on a Friday night.

Room Tip: Only stairs to the upper level, no elevators. Best view is from the back units from the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
95 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We had a good two nights stay in July. We had a quiet room on the third level with a great view outside our door. The room came with a fridge, air conditioning and WIFI. There's no lift at this motel so getting heavy bags to the 3rd floor is a chore. This motel is in the middle of town within walking distance of many restaurants. As mentioned in other reviews, the office staff were more then friendly and helped make the stay great. We used this motel to explore Banff attractions which is about 22 Km away.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The lady working at the front desk was wonderful and made you feel very welcomed and made sure if you needed anything at all she would help!
The rooms were very clean,comfortable and warm as you can control your own heat! Was great as we happen to be there when the temperature outside went to -41 that night.The outside plugs in to plug the car in was a added benefit that cold night.
We would stay there again it's a great value in a fantastic setting in the mountains..

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We had a great stay at the Motel! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was cozy and quiet and right in the heart of Canmore. We actually enjoyed Canmore even more than Banff as it felt more 'original' and less touristy.

The motel must have been remodelled not too long ago. Our bathroom was brand new and although not fancy, it was very clean and functional
The room had good, reliable WIFI and plenty of Cable channels..and aCA$70 the room was well worth the money.

Would definitely recommend my friends to stay at this Motel if they're in Canmore.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Alberta
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

In a nutshell, if you are looking for a safe, clean motel to stay in, that is close to everything you need, and at a reasonable price, I would recommend Bow Valley.

I didn't feel very appreciated, either coming or going, by the lady at the front desk, but other staff I dealt with were very pleasant.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

Pros:
Great location - this motel is within walking distance of numerous locally-owned shops and restaurants
Very clean
Felt safe
Excellent dollar value
Great water pressure in the shower - probably the best I've ever experienced in any motel/hotel
Flat screen tv's with a fair amount of channels

Cons:
Noise - the walls are incredibly thin, so you can hear everything! We stayed on the second floor and could even hear the person below us snoring
The towels really need to be updated - thin, scratchy, and fraying
No microwave in our room - fridge, but no microwave
Deposit policies are a little skewed if paying by debit
The walk up to the second floor is a bit dicy - steps can be slipper, and the top step is quite steep

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drumheller, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a pretty decent place with fantastic rates considering its location. It's right near the entrance to the main drag of downtown Canmore so it makes a great base. In a short walk (less than 3k) I went down the main drag, into the woods along the river and back up to Safeway to grab some food to take back to the hotel. A very enjoyable loop. The rooms have flat screen tv's with plenty of channels. The coffee maker was a Keurig, which was fine, but there was no microwave. The hotel also backs onto a pond on Policeman creek. A very good choice in the Canmore area.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility issues may find the outdoor stairs a little difficult (especially in winter) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.