We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for your dollar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bow Valley Motel to your Saves list
Bow Valley Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Lethbridge, Alberta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great location and value for your dollar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

In a nutshell, if you are looking for a safe, clean motel to stay in, that is close to everything you need, and at a reasonable price, I would recommend Bow Valley.

I didn't feel very appreciated, either coming or going, by the lady at the front desk, but other staff I dealt with were very pleasant.

Would I stay here again? Definitely.

Pros:
Great location - this motel is within walking distance of numerous locally-owned shops and restaurants
Very clean
Felt safe
Excellent dollar value
Great water pressure in the shower - probably the best I've ever experienced in any motel/hotel
Flat screen tv's with a fair amount of channels

Cons:
Noise - the walls are incredibly thin, so you can hear everything! We stayed on the second floor and could even hear the person below us snoring
The towels really need to be updated - thin, scratchy, and fraying
No microwave in our room - fridge, but no microwave
Deposit policies are a little skewed if paying by debit
The walk up to the second floor is a bit dicy - steps can be slipper, and the top step is quite steep

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Drumheller, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a pretty decent place with fantastic rates considering its location. It's right near the entrance to the main drag of downtown Canmore so it makes a great base. In a short walk (less than 3k) I went down the main drag, into the woods along the river and back up to Safeway to grab some food to take back to the hotel. A very enjoyable loop. The rooms have flat screen tv's with plenty of channels. The coffee maker was a Keurig, which was fine, but there was no microwave. The hotel also backs onto a pond on Policeman creek. A very good choice in the Canmore area.

Room Tip: Anyone with mobility issues may find the outdoor stairs a little difficult (especially in winter) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Canmore was a wonderful place to stay while exploring the Lake Louise and Banff areas. Very affordable and less crowded than Banff itself. The Bow Valley Motel was very affordable and was in a perfect location. We had a room with a small kitchen that met all of our needs. We couldn't have asked for a better stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Canmore is a delightful town set in stunning scenery, with plenty to do and see, and this motel, conveniently located in Main Street close to shops and eating places, represents excellent value for money. Overlooking a small creek with wildfowl and with the mountains as a backdrop it couldn't be better located.
It is not 5-star luxury but it is kept very clean and the daily maid service was excellent. All the staff were pleasant and helpful. We stayed for a week in a room with a kitchenette, but also had some of our party in a standard room. In both rooms it was clear that updating of furnishings and fittings was taking place - some items were new, others needed replacing, but the overall impression was good, especially considering the very good rates. The rooms were warm and cosy, and the beds very comfortable. The only small negative was that there was rather a mixed assortment of crockery/cutlery/glassware in the kitchenette and the pots/pans left a bit to be desired! We would agree with another reviewer that for a long stay the space to hang clothes is a bit limited.
It was mostly very quiet throughout our stay (even being on Main Street there was no road noise) but the downside of this type of building is that noise from other rooms does travel very badly. On the occasions when there were other guests above us we heard every chair scrape, every word spoken and every toilet activity!! However there's not much that the owner could do about this.
Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and hope to return in the future.Thanks to all at Bow Valley Motel.

Room Tip: From our experience of a ground floor room being noisy from guests above, maybe an upstairs room is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Cheap and cheerful! Great location- right at the beginning of the main streets of shops and resteraunts. Also just a 15min drive from banff. Tge room was clean and spacious - Great value for money. Only downside is the very loud heating system- if you keep it on through the night it may very well wake you up! The staff are also very friendly and will give you info for things to do in and around canmore and banff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We enjoyed our 8 night stay at the Bow Valley Motel. We had an upstairs, corner room that was quite large with a separate bedroom. The price was very reasonable, the place was clean, the office staff were friendly, the maid was friendly, beautiful view of the mountains from our windows and the bed was comfortable (we slept great). I noticed right away how clean the bedding was. I did appreciate that, of course. Some places I have stayed the bedspread looks like it has not been cleaned in ages! We had no issues with noise as it seemed to quiet down quite a bit at night. We loved the town of Canmore and were so glad we stayed there instead of Banff. It didn't take us that long to drive to Banff and do some sightseeing there. There are some fun places to eat in Canmore and we look forward to coming back to Canmore. We liked how everything was within walking distance. Policeman's Creek boardwalk is just across the road and a nice walk. We did that and several other walks to warm up for the hiking we were going to do.

Just a few friendly suggestions for the owners. It would help to have a towel rack next to the shower instead of behind the door. There is room to hang one there, just below the window. Also, a few more hooks to hang clothes on would be helpful. For those who stay for more than one night more hanging options would be nice (not just the one by the front door).

Thanks again to the group at Bow Valley Motel for a fun 8 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We love this place...it was a lot cheaper than staying in Banff (a 15 minute drive)...it has recently been redone and is extremely clean. We were able to get a room with a kitchenette which included a refrigerator, kitchen sink, range, kitchen table, adequate kitchen tools and plates, and a Keurig Coffee Maker stocked with some great coffee!!! The motel is at the edge of Main Street which allows you to take a few steps and you are walking down the street where all of the shops and restaurants are...HOW CONVENIENT IS THAT? This is a perfect place to use as a base camp for you and your family to be centrally located to all of the Banff area attractions. It is not as full of tourists as Banff is either. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;