We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Service very good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bow Valley Motel to your Saves list
Bow Valley Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Bolligen, Switzerland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Location and Service very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We recently stayed two nights in Canmore. Banff NP is very close, so the location is ideal for day visits in this area.
Friendliness of the staff and the room was very good, we enjoyed our stay and would definitely choose this motel again for another visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thonon-les-Bains, France
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Nice staff, friendly and very helpfull. Comfortable and clean room, equipped with a kitchen. Motel located in a beautiful resort, at the beginning of Banff National Park. I highly recommend Bow Valley Motel!

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

No great shakes from the outside, this is our favourite motel in Canmore after a recent stay. Very warmly greeted on arrival, entered to find a a renovated room. TV with lots of channels, a fridge that worked and Keurig complimentary coffee - all the extra coffee we liked available in the office.

We like to walk everywhere so for us this was the perfect location. We walked to a number of great restaurants and cafes during our stay. The just before high season rates were great too.

The rooms are not very sound proof and there is traffic noise from the Main Street. We didn't find the traffic to be a problem but we were back from the road. The management is very good about asking partiers to tone down noise.

Recommended for folks who want to explore the town on foot or who don't want the bother of a designated driver in the evening.

Room Tip: Ask for a room furtherest from the street. If you don't mind stairs, the third level might be t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Canada
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent, excellent, excellent. Clean, clean. Very reasonable. Not fussy,but, is very comfortable. Great view. Efficient and knowledgeable staff. Situated on main drag close to all the shopping and resturants. Loved it

Room Tip: Efficient and friendly staff, VERY clean rooms, right on main drag,can see mountains, exceptionally...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I use to live in Canmore and work in hotels in the town - never stayed at the Bow Valley Motel, but I can assure that I will be staying here from now on when I visit town again! The service was perfect, the room was very accomodating, and larger than expected. Its right on main street, which is very handy and an excellent location.
Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Bow Valley Motel. Delighted you had a great stay with us! And very glad you enjoyed your time back in Canmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Bow Valley Motel is excellent for anyone looking to stay at a good location in Canmore. While it may not have the amenities of one of the resorts, if you are looking to go out on the town or spend most of your time outdoors, this is an excellent option. There are several restaurants and pubs in very close walking distance, along with all of the shopping of the town centre. The staff was great! Definitely will be returning on my next trip to Canmore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Great to read your comments. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We enjoy (and appreciate!) the people who stay with us. We also enjoy the great restaurants and shops in our friendly little town centre - glad you were able to take advantage of them while you were here. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This motel is not the fanciest place to stay in Canmore but its definitely the best location and the best value. The motel is right in town so you can walk to all the restaurants for breakfast or a pint. The rates are super affordable and our room was spotless. The bathroom was immaculate and although the rooms are dated they have been kept clean and in very good repair. If your hotel room is just a place to crash while you're in the mountains this is a great option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We enjoy the location as well! And we are very grateful for our excellent housekeepers who work hard to keep the rooms up to their own high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.