We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bow Valley Motel to your Saves list
Bow Valley Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Excellent Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I use to live in Canmore and work in hotels in the town - never stayed at the Bow Valley Motel, but I can assure that I will be staying here from now on when I visit town again! The service was perfect, the room was very accomodating, and larger than expected. Its right on main street, which is very handy and an excellent location.
Thank you for a great stay!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Bow Valley Motel. Delighted you had a great stay with us! And very glad you enjoyed your time back in Canmore.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The Bow Valley Motel is excellent for anyone looking to stay at a good location in Canmore. While it may not have the amenities of one of the resorts, if you are looking to go out on the town or spend most of your time outdoors, this is an excellent option. There are several restaurants and pubs in very close walking distance, along with all of the shopping of the town centre. The staff was great! Definitely will be returning on my next trip to Canmore.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Great to read your comments. Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We enjoy (and appreciate!) the people who stay with us. We also enjoy the great restaurants and shops in our friendly little town centre - glad you were able to take advantage of them while you were here. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This motel is not the fanciest place to stay in Canmore but its definitely the best location and the best value. The motel is right in town so you can walk to all the restaurants for breakfast or a pint. The rates are super affordable and our room was spotless. The bathroom was immaculate and although the rooms are dated they have been kept clean and in very good repair. If your hotel room is just a place to crash while you're in the mountains this is a great option.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post your comments. We enjoy the location as well! And we are very grateful for our excellent housekeepers who work hard to keep the rooms up to their own high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Bow Valley Motel in February and had a fantastic time. They had an amazing deal on with the 3 local mountains. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The location could not have been better, with Main street and nearly all the restuarants and shopping in Canmore within walking distance. We have both done a fair bit of traveling and I would say this is one of the cleanest motels I have ever stayed in. For it's price, location and quality of service I don't think there's a better deal in Canmore.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, General Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you took advantage of our "Stay & Ski Package". All the staff are so happy to hear that you enjoyed our location, cleanliness and service. Hope to see you again here at the Bow Valley Motel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I can only echo what others have said. This is an older place that has been well-looked after. The bathroom is clean, the TV is a modern flat-screen with a nice choice of channels, the internet works well, the mattress is good (but not great). The side-to-side soundproofing is fine, but you'll hear the occasional footstep from upstairs.

I stayed three days this time, I've stayed before and I'll be back. The price is good value, the staff are friendly, the location is great. There are places in Canmore with a waterslide or a spa. This has an outdoor grill in the summer, and there are several room types with different features. For someone like me, an older guy traveling alone, this is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I made reservation here so we had a place to land after a long drive from Minnesota. We spent the next week exploring Banff and Jasper National Parks. We liked the vibe in Canmore so much we reserved a room for our last night in the area a week later. The hotel was a good value and conveniently located in the center of Canmore so we could walk to restaurants, coffee shops, and grocery stores and even take a pleasant walk along the river. Because of the central location and because it is also a motel , there was some noise ( a drunk couples argument) from the street below late at night that woke us up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This motel is clean, fairly priced, and in a fantastic location. Booking a room with a kitchenette allowed us to cook our own meals, which is a penny-saver in Canmore. The room was comfortable and the staff nice. The location is what's best...close to downtown, grocery stores, and two doors down from The Grizzly Paw--a great local brewery. Money saved cooking our own meals went to a few pints each night followed by a brief, but freezing walk back to the motel. Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.