We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, affordable, nice.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bow Valley Motel to your Saves list
Bow Valley Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great location, affordable, nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I made reservation here so we had a place to land after a long drive from Minnesota. We spent the next week exploring Banff and Jasper National Parks. We liked the vibe in Canmore so much we reserved a room for our last night in the area a week later. The hotel was a good value and conveniently located in the center of Canmore so we could walk to restaurants, coffee shops, and grocery stores and even take a pleasant walk along the river. Because of the central location and because it is also a motel , there was some noise ( a drunk couples argument) from the street below late at night that woke us up.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fair Oaks, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This motel is clean, fairly priced, and in a fantastic location. Booking a room with a kitchenette allowed us to cook our own meals, which is a penny-saver in Canmore. The room was comfortable and the staff nice. The location is what's best...close to downtown, grocery stores, and two doors down from The Grizzly Paw--a great local brewery. Money saved cooking our own meals went to a few pints each night followed by a brief, but freezing walk back to the motel. Perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yyc
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

What lovely and quaint motel. It was like staying in a time capsule. You were immediately transported back to the 1980s in this great little Motel. It was super clean and in a great location on Main Street Canmore. Waliking distance to a variety of restaurants, pubs and shopping. The lady behind the reception desk was very friendly and helpful.

The room was well appointed for a Motel. Nice new Flat Screen TV, Coffee maker, Fridge. The bed was comfortable and the motel was quiet which made it easy to have a good restful sleep.

The price was just like being in the eighties as well. Great value!! I will be back to visit the Bow Valley Motel the next time we go to Canmore for the weekend.

Room Tip: Try to get a room where the door faces south and you get a fabulous view of the three sisters mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This place is your average hotel, but the location can't be beat! It is right along the "main drag" in Canmore, everything (shops, pubs, eateries) is in walking distance! Lots of parking is available and included in the price. I would definitely stay again and would also recommend to anyone (families, couples, solo travelers). It is not for someone wanting a luxury stay - very basic and outdated however clean and convenient. The staff were also very friendly and accommodating. I would suggest an upstairs room if you plan to sleep in - the walls are quite thin and I woke early when vehciles started up outside my room. I am a very light sleeper, however. I also woke in the middle of the night when the guys staying beside me arrived back at 3am.

Room Tip: Stay in a room upstairs if you are a light sleeper and don't plan to be up when others are leavi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

This motel is a good value for the money and is located just down the street from the downtown shopping district and approximately 3 blocks from a shopping mall with a large grocery store. It has a fridge and coffee maker in the room, room was clean, and we had an amazing view from our front window of amazing mountain peaks.

Room Tip: ask for one on the second floor for a view...however watch the stairs for ice in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is a decent motel in the heart of Canmore.
If you're not expecting much you won't be dissapointed, the furniture is old but functional, the bathroom clean, the room clean by motel standards :)
They have this huge flat screen TV in the room, the only reason i'm mentioning it it's because they placed it at 90degrees angle from the bed/sofa, so impossible to watch.
Very good value for money.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

As everyone knows travel in Canada can be pretty costly. We were doing a road trip in Canada this summer and found the Bow Motel in Canmore, Alberta to be a really good choice for a place to stay while we were in the Banff area. Banff is much more expensive and is only a few miles away. The town of Canmore is really nice with lots of good restaurants and plenty of shops to visit. This motel is perfectly located for walking and has a laundry mat right out front. The people were very helpful, rates were good and we found it to be one of our best catches of our entire trip and we were on the road for over 5 weeks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.