We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location, and ample parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bow Valley Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bow Valley Motel to your Saves list
Bow Valley Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Big Trout Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“excellent location, and ample parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We first tried to book into a hotel in Banff. They were full, and/or expensive.
We then tried Canmore... I am glad we did. It is not far from Banff. Better prices, lots of shopping and restaurants.
The Bow Valley Motel has an excellent location, and ample parking. It was quiet at night. Good WiFi.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    51
    16
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Given the price we paid I really can't rate this higher than a three. Not that we had a bad stay. The room was a decent size, had a good bed, AC that worked and was clean. For the rest it was nothing special. Pillows were a little flumpy, you could hear water running in adjacent suites, street noise and people walking on the stairs and upper level walkway. If you are a light sleeper like me that will keep you awake. Also there is no breakfast offering at all. For $110 + tax I was hoping for more,

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anastasia B, Manager at Bow Valley Motel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your candid review of our property. We pride ourselves on being an excellent value for your money. We are sorry to hear you didn't feel this when staying at our property. Typically June-September is considered high season here in the mountains. We find our rates to be very competitive and are some of the lowest in the Banff / Canmore area, especially when you take in consideration you are right downtown in the heart of it all. I am sure if you compared your stay with us against some of the other properties in the valley you would see we are very reasonably priced and a great value when visiting the mountains.

We are a small family owned and operated business , we constantly do updates to help maintain our property but it can come with some older plumbing. Unfortunately we do not offer breakfast as we are within walking distance of over a dozen eateries and do not have space on site for a breakfast room.

We hope to welcome you again,

Anastasia Breeze
Manager
Bow Valley Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan,England
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Stayed three nights in September.Room was clean and comfortable with all the necessary facilities.Ideally situated at the bottom end of Main Street within walking distance of shops and restaurants.Only down side was the public laundromat at the entrance to the motel,a little noisy early morning.Try supper at the Rose and Crown pub at the end of Main Street,the steak and kidney pie and fish and chips are excellent.A good value for money motel.

Room Tip: As far away from the laundromat as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Bow Valley was a pleasant surprise, as you never quite know what to expect from an independant motel. The owners have obviously invested to keep the motel up to date; we had a big comfortable bed, a large flat screen TV, and free wifi (an advantage that they don’t mention in the rather unassuming website). The room was a fair size and well furnished. The views, even from a room overlooking the car park, are quite striking. It’s a shame that they don’t throw in a free breakfast, but we bought some things from the local supermarket (in easy walking distance) and ate at the table in the room. The motel is set in the heart of town, but right next door to some fine walks, and a restaurant recommended by the motel served a superb dinner at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend three nights at the Bow Valley Motel last month. It's good to find a human-sized motel these days. The competition all seemed to be huge corporate -looking supersized monoliths.
The motel is very comfortable, the staff is remarkably helpful, and the location is ideal- A walking path by the creek right outside our window.
Canmore is a good place to stay, even if your destination is Banff. Banff is crowded, hectic, and expensive. Canmore is smaller, quieter, and offers many pleasant walks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Springs, Missouri, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The motel is not new, but is very well maintained, modernized and clean. It is located in downtown Canmore on the river and within walking distance to all the downtown shopping and restaurants. The value for the money was excellent, and Devin who helps manage the property was great in giving us info on where to eat, hike etc. Room was very clean, staff friendly and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Have kitchenettes available, with ground floor and second story rooms available also.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were a little skeptical about booking a room at this place, but since it was a child-free weekend we wanted to stay central so we didn't have to worry about driving. We were pleasantly surprised! Our room had a seperate bedroom with a queen sized bed (comfy) and a big window that looked out over the bow river. There was also a full kitchen which we didn't use (again, no kids in tow so we wanted to spend as little time as possible in the hotel) and a living room with a murphy bed. our room was clean, they were very friendly at check-in, and i would not hesitate to stay here again. nice to be able to park the car for the weekend and walk everywhere!
also, we left an iphone charger in the room after check-out, and the front desk emailed us about it almost before we were out of the mountains.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bow Valley Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow Valley Motel

Address: 610 8th St., Canmore, Alberta T1W 2B5, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bow Valley Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bow Valley Motel welcomes you to Main Street in the Mountains an ideal base for the independent traveler, family, or small group. Clean, comfortable, affordable accommodations with the wonder of the peaks all around you. 25 spacious rooms with one or two queen beds - each providing complementary coffee, fridge, cable TV, telephone, full bath and free wireless internet. Some units with kitchens, upper and ground units upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bow Valley Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow Valley Hotel Canmore
Bow Valley Motel Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bow Valley Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.