We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great value & location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a great value & location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

We stayed here for a week while on vacation exploring all things in the Banff area. Canmore is a great town located five minutes from the entrance to Banff National Park. We stayed at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge in a 1 bedroom apartment. It is in a great location and you can walk to the grocery store, restaurants, & downtown.

We ate out most of the times but it was also nice to have a kitchen in the apartment so that we could cook a few meals at home & save some money. The Lodge is very clean and we were very comfortable throughout our stay. A laundry room is available for washing clothes.

We found the location to be SUPER convinient. We were able to ski Lake Louise (45 mins), have afternoon tea at the Banff Fairmont (15 mins), visit the Upper Banff Hot Springs (20 mins), and do some cross country skiing at the Canmore Nordic Center (10 mins). Canmore is surrounded by wonderful trails and we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    98
    31
    8
    0
See reviews for
57
83
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2010

I stayed here a couple of nights on a skiing trip at a modest price. The room was a pleasant size, had a fridge, many channels on TV. I was in walking distance to Main Street and an easy drive to the ski hills.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2010

The Rocky Mountian Ski Lodge is a great place to stay if you are going to Canmore. But beware of the front desk staff , we had issues with the older gentalmen whom could not find our reservation and later on in the evening when we when to get ice we had found him getting high! no wounder he couldn't find our reservation. When we check out we had mentioned this to the lady working and she said "that dosen't surprise her". Over all The price is great and the rooms are super clean and the housekeeping is very friendly and welcoming! if only is wasn't a crack-house on the side!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

We visit here whenever we can get away from the city. Close to Tim Horton's, walk to restaraunts, and wake up to breathtaking views. The price is always right, the place is quiet, ther'e a playground for my daughter and the suites are huge. What more could I ask for?

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitaebella990
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in the second week of June. We got a really good price : 3 nights at 64$. Staff is really nice, they had move us in another room before we arrived because there were some people partying around the room they had booked for us. The hotel is close to the Highway so this is really easy to go to Banff and it is closed to Groceries, shops, restaurants in Canmore Village. Our room had a Fireplace, fridge, microwave. For us, it surely worth it!

I'm not sure I would have paid the regular price for it (around 134$ i think).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

I was very pleased with our hotel. We wanted a kitchenette and were happy to find a very clean facility, fully stocked with the kitchen equipment we needed. The rooms are updated, modern, clean and rustic (in a nice sort of way). We only stayed one night, but after seeing the room, we wished we would have booked longer. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2009

First off this is a great location from which to explore the Rockies. We paid CAD$134, which with the dreaded tax comes out at CAD150 (£83 at current rates).
The rooms are clean and comfortable and the staff are very good (no foreign students as a previous visitor wrote?).
The downside for us was the plumbing. It is so noisy on the ground floor that sleep is often interrupted. Unfortunately we must have had a lunatic above us first night as the water never stopped running. I think they must have run a bath at 3am!
Fair play to the manager, when he heard the noise after the second night he moved us pronto and although there was an improvement, a peaceful night's sleep for my daughter in the living room proved elusive. The refrigerator was also very loud unless the door was left open, which we had to do on the last night there.
I may stay here again but would be tempted to pay extra for a first floor room, then again if there was another accommodation close by for around the same price I may be tempted to try elsewhere.
Bonus for us was the rabbits and ground squirrels that inhabit the locality - highly amusing at times. Also take the river float tour, very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.