We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value, good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“good value, good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for three nights during the Lake Louise/Banff leg of our trip. Canmore is conveniently located about 20 minutes from Banff and is much more chill and affordable. Picked this place for its location and value, plus we thought it would be more fun to stay in a local place rather than a chain hotel.

The motel is located right off the highway. It's a little dated and worn, but the room was clean and had all of the amenities. Only negatives were that the room had a weird smell, but it was either taken care of after the first night or we just got used to it. Also, wifi is only so-so, but I think that's probably the case with any place in the mountains. Our room looked out onto the parking lot, but I saw that others look out on the mountains, so those rooms are probably more desirable.

Canmore is a small but nice little town and there are a lot of restaurants and stores near the motel. We had a cozy and comfortable stay and would recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    104
    33
    8
    0
See reviews for
62
85
21
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

A good value motel with all the facilities you need. In lovely picturesque area plenty of food outlets in the area as well as a supermarket. Handy for Banff & Lake Louise at less cost than you pay in those resorts. Staff were friendly and helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have had a wonderful stay at this lodge on the edge of Canmore township. We arrived to notes stating we would have to boil ALL water before using, due to the recent floods. Not a real bother to us. Our room was comfortable, with fridge and TV, with Iron and Microwave available in another area of the facilities.
The office staff have been friendly and helpful in answering our questions when sought out and the room staff have also done a terrific job with our room.
The scenery from the room is amazing enough, but when you step outside - it is more spectacular.
Worth a visit - as it is close to Calgary to the east and Banff / Lake Louise to the west.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

If you don't want to pay the prices in Banff but still enjoy the area Canmore seems ideal. The Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge is located on the Banff side of town, has a number of restaurants but is probably a10/15 minute walk from the main downtown area. The scenery around the Lodge is stunning and we were in a first floor room which had been recently refurbished and was excellent. It had the normal facilities in the room hairdryer, TV, Coffee maker and kettle ( unusual in many hotels in Canada from our experience) with the exception of a safe .
Staff were excellent as we were caught in the recent storms that hit the area and were having a day our in Banff when Canmore were cut off, as a result we were unable to spend our third night there and because rooms were requisitioned for army use our rooms had to b cleared of our belongings by the hotel staff. I am pleased to say that this was done without any problem. When eventually we were able to get back to Canmore for our possessions, the hotel loaded up the bags and brought them to the bus stop for us.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs refurbished first floor room, the other are at car park level. Specify if you do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornhill
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

The lodge is located very good, we got a family room for 5 nights with kitchen - very good. The staff gave excelent service. There is hot tub that we did not use, free coffee at the lobby, free internet. reasonable rate.

Room Tip: There are renovated rooms but we have no idea about it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wemindji, QC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

•Service Excellent

Thank you for your exceptional kindness, Gemma of the Rocky Mountain Ski Resort for forgiving the fee that is usually associated to a cancellation of less than 48 hours notice.

We were supposed to arrive this evening, but plans changed suddenly and we simply could not do the trip. Because of your caring treatment, I shall sing your praises far and wide and, in addition, I look forward to seeing you this summer! Your lodge is our first choice!

Sincerely, Eleanor Cowan, Wemindji, Quebec (James Bay)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is an older place, but it is very clean and well maintained. We stayed in a room with no kitchen, but there was still a fridge and a few kitchen items (toaster, coffee maker etc.). This is a great place for the price. Staff are very friendly and there is a park on the property if you are with your family. One more thing I have to add: the shampoo and conditioner smelled AMAZING.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.