We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting Canmore and Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Medellin, Colombia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Visiting Canmore and Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Our family - seven persons - 5 adults & 2 children- , have a wonderful night in our trip from Edmonton to Banff area.
For us the site was ideal; we prepare our own food in the kitchen; being rated 2 stars in the website, we were very happy there.

Room Tip: It has wonderful sights of mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    30
    8
    0
See reviews for
56
83
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
cerritos
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very good option when visiting Banf, on the way when driving from Calgary (east). Away from the crowded, pricey Banf. Very near to many shops, convenience stores, restaurants, main high way. Requires driving (we stayed here 2 nights). Well maintained rooms with kitchen and living room. Great for families too!. This was in August 2010 (sorry for the late review).

Room Tip: Being next to the main street, not sure there is any difference? May want to avoid the rooms close t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The room was clean, good space. The location is good. Close to the town, easy access to major attraction and highways. The staff is ok, helpful and friendly.
Good option if you are looking for an economical place to stay, while enjoying your summer/winter vacations.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment, my 4 and 6 year old shared the futon and we had a playpen in the bedroom. The room was clean a little dated but fine. The room was warm, the heater a little noisy, oven worked well. 15 minute walk into town

Room Tip: Wouldn't want 2 big kids sharing the futom
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bar harbor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been staying at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge every winter for the last 6 years and will continue to do so. The rooms are clean, property is well maintained, the staff is super friendly. I have always gotten a room with a kitchenette which has saved me a ton on meals. Weekly discounts are a huge help on saving too. I have always gotten a good nights sleep at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge.

Room Tip: Ask at the desk for room selection- quiet, by the hot tub, next to the playground, bbq etc. One bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent the weekend here (jan 2013). Was a very nice hotel, and was extremely clean. Staff were extremely nice too! Hot tub/sauna room were very very well maintained and very clean! Beautiful view of the mountains. Accommodating with BBQ's, park,snack machines/pop machines, laundry room etc. I would stay here again in a heart beat. I mean if your looking for a romantic getaway it may not be the place to chose. Bed was a bit small for two, and a little uncomfortable but whatever! We didn't spend much time there! Enjoy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Spent a weekend in Canmore & stayed at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge (Jan 2013). This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. On this occasion, there were 2 couples in our party. We had a one bedroom apartment. There was a bedroom, bathroom & then a living area with a kitchen, sofa/pull out bed. Both the bed in the bedroom & the pull out futon bed were comfortable. Kitchen was equipped with fridge, stove, microwave, plates etc. The room was clean. The fireplace in the living area was a nice touch.

Location is good - about a 10 minute walk to downtown shopping, bars, pubs & restaurants. Boston Pizza is directly opposite the hotel. If you are looking for breakfast, just a 3 min walk away is Chez Francois Restaurant (beside the Econolodge)

The hotel has a large hot tub & sauna room. They offer free wifi (codes required for each device, but they gave us as many codes as we needed). You can park right outside your room as it's motel style buildings. Vehicle plug in's available for wintertime.

I would have preferred it if there had been a safe in the room. Value for money was good. Staff were friendly. Overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.