We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in area ....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best value in area ....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Have stayed here many times with our 2 dogs .
One review states rooms are dated but that is a bit misleading as the owners have undertaken updating in many of the rooms in late 2011 and 2012 .
During our last stay in October a drunken group had booked several rooms in the motel and were warned by management to be quiet , weren't quiet and after one more warning by a private security company one of the group was taken to jail by local police for disorderly conduct .
We ended up getting one free night's stay on our next visit for the inconvenience of putting up with the yahoos whose names were taken and they are forbidden from renting rooms there from now on .
That's what I call good customer service .
Onsite staff are very friendly and helpful .
That's one of many reasons we've kept coming back to Rocky Mountain over the years .

Room Tip: Rooms just down from office are great - pet - friendly available which is perfect for us and our 2 d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    98
    31
    8
    0
See reviews for
57
83
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

we stayed at rocky mountain ski lodge in the fall,it was very clean,and quiet.the staff were helpful.
bed was clean and comfy.its next to the mountains,and the air is clean and fresh.
they do not serve breakfast but that's no worry.craigs diner is just west of the motel.great eats.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I have stayed at "the Rocky" many times over many years. Staff are always friendly and rooms are always clean. Most (if not all) rooms are kitchenettes, which can be convenient if you want to cook for yourself. It is a pretty old motel and has not been remodelled much, but the rooms are cosy if not fancy. The Rocky has many different room configurations, from straight up motel style, to big two story loft rooms, which are are quite interesting. The Rocky has good access to the Trans-Canada highway, which is a plus. On the slight minus side, it is about a 15 minute walk (two minute drive) into "downtown" Canmore. A strip mall is just across the street, which has a liquor store, Boston Pizza and some other restaurants, if you don't want to stray into town.

Room Tip: Pet friendly hotel. Some rooms can be books, allowing for dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge is a great motel for a stay in Canmore, whether overnight or longer, and you certainly can’t beat the price. There are multiple room configurations: from one or two beds with or without a kitchen/kitchenette, all the way up to 1 or 2 bedroom suites with a large living area and full kitchen. The loft suites can be pretty warm in the loft bedroom, but there is an air conditioner to help with the heat, as well as a small window you can open. If you plan on being out for a while, run the air conditioner while you are out to cool off the loft sleeping area.

We have stayed in many of the rooms and have always found the rooms clean, and the beds comfortable. The pillows are sometimes a bit flat, and there are no duvets – only a warm blanket and a quilt that will keep you nice and toasty. There are always plenty of extra towels in the bathrooms, the water pressure is at least average, sometimes even better, and we have never run out of hot water. Toiletries are delivered in dispensers, rather than small bottles, and there is always a small bar of Rocky Mountain Soap Company Lavender soap – heaven!

The hotel has been around for a while, so it is getting a bit tired. However, there is a continuous upgrade occurring, with new TVs, upgraded appliances in the kitchens, new tubs and upgraded shower hardware, and I think there have been new pillows and even new beds in some of the rooms. I’m pretty sure the carpets have been upgraded, too, over the years. It’s a fairly large hotel, so upgrades do take time, but they are certainly occurring.

There is a large Jacuzzi tub and a sauna to warm up after a long day on the slopes, (or a day of scuba diving) or just to relax some tired muscles. There is also a meeting room on site, with its own kitchen for larger groups. There are BBQs outside for guests to use and a playground for the kids.

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance – Boston Pizza is right across the street, and just down the street is Craig’s Way Station, fantastic for breakfast. Downtown Canmore is a 15 minute walk from the hotel. There are train tracks across the street, but I have never had a train wake me at night.

The staff are always friendly and helpful. Whatever you need to find in Canmore, they can point you in the right direction.

Room Tip: loft suites tend to be very warm in the loft area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Never judge a book by it's cover! I'm so glad we took a chance on this cute little place. We stayed in the apartment with our 7 year old and another couple. It was clean, smelled nice and was excellent for what we needed. Yes it's older but very well maintained, we won't stay anywhere else the next time were in Banff!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

We stay here every single time in Canmore. They have motel type rooms as well as full kitchen apartment units that are perfect for those who don't want to eat out every day. Close walk to downtown area and a grocery store as well has a Boston pizza across the street for an easy late meal. Staff is fairly knowledgable depending on who may be working but all are helpful and courteous. Great value for ski/hike/bike/etc...trips.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

From prior visits to Canmore I had seen the outside of this property and it looked old and worn. I guess I shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Although the buildings are older the rooms were in great shape, roomy and very clean. Most rooms have kitchenettes. The front desk staff were very helpful. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.