We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
St. Albert, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

From prior visits to Canmore I had seen the outside of this property and it looked old and worn. I guess I shouldn't judge a book by its cover. Although the buildings are older the rooms were in great shape, roomy and very clean. Most rooms have kitchenettes. The front desk staff were very helpful. I will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    98
    31
    8
    0
See reviews for
57
84
20
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, BC, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Location is right off the trans-Canada hwy and close to several places to eat. A 2 minute drive gets you to Safeway and Starbucks, and main street Canmore is a 3 minute drive or a 12 minute walk. Place was clean and comfortable, well equipped and affordable. The downside was the loft type rooms were quite noisy though - the hwy noise and nearbybrailroad was an issue for all our group - the in wall a/c units are equivalent to having a window open.
We relocated to one of the motel type rooms and all had a very good sleep. Overall, this place was one of the better location on our Rockies trip. Just bring earplugs.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilchberg, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Rocky Mountain Ski lodge was a perfect base for our hiking, climbing and canooing in the Banff - Lake Louise area. We stayed over 10 days. The rooms are spacious, very clean; the staff is very friendly, and the many shops and restaurants of Canmore are within walking distance. We will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel has the worst internet connection I have experienced since dial up. I understand that it's in the middle of the mountains and the service may not be as good as it is in the city. I also see the irony that I'm in the mountains and should be out enjoying them instead of being inside on my computer. At the end of the day I would like to sit in my room and check my emails. It has taken me hours just to open a small number of emails and a couple of pdf attachements. I am getting a much faster connection by tethering my laptop to my iPhone.

Please contact your isp and get some better service.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were so glad we picked Rocky Mt Ski Lodge for our 3 night stay. First, Canmore is the place to stay to get away from busy/hectic Banff. This is basically a motel which I think, is so handy to get in and out of your vehicle and out into the blue sky& fresh air. No elevators and long halls. The surrounding mts are right up close. Yes, the rooms are decorated a bit old fashioned but is comfortable, tidy, clean and have all the needed conveniences like coffee maker & refridgerator, BBQS, picnic tables & morning newspaper.
Grounds are well cared for with huge baskets of flowers. I thought the room was a bit warm at night even when we opened both windows as we preferred the cool mt air to the air conditioner.
It is close enough to downtown to walk to restaurants. It even has playground and grassy area for the kids. Very good value and I compared alot of prices. Book through the hotel for best rate. We were glad we did!

Room Tip: The ones closest to Hwy a bit noisy but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is an 'old style' motel, and a pleasant alternative to the big chains. I was there for a brief overnight only. My room looked a bit shabby but was in fact clean and all the utilities worked. Parking lot was crowded, due to the many over-sized vehicles and trailers. Evidently the motel used by commercial travelers as well as vacationers. To me having free WiFi is a must for a hotel/motel and the service worked flawlessly. Although situated alongside a major road (not Hwy 1) and the train tracks it wasn't too noisy and is nicely located within walking distance of some restaurants (3 mins) and the center of town (10 mins). The two ladies at reception in the evening were friendly and professional. The jagged peaks above Canmore are incredible and I just had to pause for a few minutes in the early morning when checking out just to marvel at the skyline in the soft morning light.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

More motel than lodge but ok for a night on our road trip. Aging decor in a swiss loft style with two doubles in the mezzanine loft and a double next to bathroom plus futon. Ok space for 4 - very cramped for 8 people. Had to mend the toilet in the night as it kept filling and also the balcony flyscreen which came off its runners when moved, so could do with an update/maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.