We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Kilchberg, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

The Rocky Mountain Ski lodge was a perfect base for our hiking, climbing and canooing in the Banff - Lake Louise area. We stayed over 10 days. The rooms are spacious, very clean; the staff is very friendly, and the many shops and restaurants of Canmore are within walking distance. We will return on our next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    76
    27
    8
    0
See reviews for
46
73
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel has the worst internet connection I have experienced since dial up. I understand that it's in the middle of the mountains and the service may not be as good as it is in the city. I also see the irony that I'm in the mountains and should be out enjoying them instead of being inside on my computer. At the end of the day I would like to sit in my room and check my emails. It has taken me hours just to open a small number of emails and a couple of pdf attachements. I am getting a much faster connection by tethering my laptop to my iPhone.

Please contact your isp and get some better service.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were so glad we picked Rocky Mt Ski Lodge for our 3 night stay. First, Canmore is the place to stay to get away from busy/hectic Banff. This is basically a motel which I think, is so handy to get in and out of your vehicle and out into the blue sky& fresh air. No elevators and long halls. The surrounding mts are right up close. Yes, the rooms are decorated a bit old fashioned but is comfortable, tidy, clean and have all the needed conveniences like coffee maker & refridgerator, BBQS, picnic tables & morning newspaper.
Grounds are well cared for with huge baskets of flowers. I thought the room was a bit warm at night even when we opened both windows as we preferred the cool mt air to the air conditioner.
It is close enough to downtown to walk to restaurants. It even has playground and grassy area for the kids. Very good value and I compared alot of prices. Book through the hotel for best rate. We were glad we did!

Room Tip: The ones closest to Hwy a bit noisy but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is an 'old style' motel, and a pleasant alternative to the big chains. I was there for a brief overnight only. My room looked a bit shabby but was in fact clean and all the utilities worked. Parking lot was crowded, due to the many over-sized vehicles and trailers. Evidently the motel used by commercial travelers as well as vacationers. To me having free WiFi is a must for a hotel/motel and the service worked flawlessly. Although situated alongside a major road (not Hwy 1) and the train tracks it wasn't too noisy and is nicely located within walking distance of some restaurants (3 mins) and the center of town (10 mins). The two ladies at reception in the evening were friendly and professional. The jagged peaks above Canmore are incredible and I just had to pause for a few minutes in the early morning when checking out just to marvel at the skyline in the soft morning light.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

More motel than lodge but ok for a night on our road trip. Aging decor in a swiss loft style with two doubles in the mezzanine loft and a double next to bathroom plus futon. Ok space for 4 - very cramped for 8 people. Had to mend the toilet in the night as it kept filling and also the balcony flyscreen which came off its runners when moved, so could do with an update/maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you’re on a budget this is a great place to stay in the Rockies- close to Banff but much less expensive- the good: a bedroom with door separating it from the main living room- bed is hard but comfortable and clean- living room area has a small television and electric fireplace, stove, full fridge, microwave, table, chairs and futon- the futon is very comfortable to sleep on unlike pullout couches which are terrible for anyone but small children. Staff are friendly, helpful and eager to please. There are washers and dryers available for a fee. There is a hot tub but we did not try it. The real problem is that the air conditioner is only in the bedroom- it is small and not strong enough to reach the living area. We requested and were promptly provided with a very good floor fan and the heat we experienced in July is probably only a problem for a few months of the year given the climate in this area- but you can’t really leave the doors or windows open at night because of noise from the highway and train across the street- so even though it cools down at night you need to have the doors and windows closed (unless you don’t mind that kind of noise). This is the only real downside of this facility. Otherwise, in spite of the fact that it is an older facility, it represents good value and for most of the year air conditioning is probably not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found this to be an exceptional value in a high priced resort town. Our room was clean and had a fridge and microwave as well as dishes and cutlery. The hotel also offers a couple of gas grills for the guests to use although on some nights you might need to wait in line to use one.

Basic, clean rooms at a bargain price for the area, I would stay again without question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#12 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.