We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upgrade Internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #14 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
“Upgrade Internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel has the worst internet connection I have experienced since dial up. I understand that it's in the middle of the mountains and the service may not be as good as it is in the city. I also see the irony that I'm in the mountains and should be out enjoying them instead of being inside on my computer. At the end of the day I would like to sit in my room and check my emails. It has taken me hours just to open a small number of emails and a couple of pdf attachements. I am getting a much faster connection by tethering my laptop to my iPhone.

Please contact your isp and get some better service.

Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    69
    26
    8
    0
See reviews for
42
68
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banff National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We were so glad we picked Rocky Mt Ski Lodge for our 3 night stay. First, Canmore is the place to stay to get away from busy/hectic Banff. This is basically a motel which I think, is so handy to get in and out of your vehicle and out into the blue sky& fresh air. No elevators and long halls. The surrounding mts are right up close. Yes, the rooms are decorated a bit old fashioned but is comfortable, tidy, clean and have all the needed conveniences like coffee maker & refridgerator, BBQS, picnic tables & morning newspaper.
Grounds are well cared for with huge baskets of flowers. I thought the room was a bit warm at night even when we opened both windows as we preferred the cool mt air to the air conditioner.
It is close enough to downtown to walk to restaurants. It even has playground and grassy area for the kids. Very good value and I compared alot of prices. Book through the hotel for best rate. We were glad we did!

Room Tip: The ones closest to Hwy a bit noisy but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This is an 'old style' motel, and a pleasant alternative to the big chains. I was there for a brief overnight only. My room looked a bit shabby but was in fact clean and all the utilities worked. Parking lot was crowded, due to the many over-sized vehicles and trailers. Evidently the motel used by commercial travelers as well as vacationers. To me having free WiFi is a must for a hotel/motel and the service worked flawlessly. Although situated alongside a major road (not Hwy 1) and the train tracks it wasn't too noisy and is nicely located within walking distance of some restaurants (3 mins) and the center of town (10 mins). The two ladies at reception in the evening were friendly and professional. The jagged peaks above Canmore are incredible and I just had to pause for a few minutes in the early morning when checking out just to marvel at the skyline in the soft morning light.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

More motel than lodge but ok for a night on our road trip. Aging decor in a swiss loft style with two doubles in the mezzanine loft and a double next to bathroom plus futon. Ok space for 4 - very cramped for 8 people. Had to mend the toilet in the night as it kept filling and also the balcony flyscreen which came off its runners when moved, so could do with an update/maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you’re on a budget this is a great place to stay in the Rockies- close to Banff but much less expensive- the good: a bedroom with door separating it from the main living room- bed is hard but comfortable and clean- living room area has a small television and electric fireplace, stove, full fridge, microwave, table, chairs and futon- the futon is very comfortable to sleep on unlike pullout couches which are terrible for anyone but small children. Staff are friendly, helpful and eager to please. There are washers and dryers available for a fee. There is a hot tub but we did not try it. The real problem is that the air conditioner is only in the bedroom- it is small and not strong enough to reach the living area. We requested and were promptly provided with a very good floor fan and the heat we experienced in July is probably only a problem for a few months of the year given the climate in this area- but you can’t really leave the doors or windows open at night because of noise from the highway and train across the street- so even though it cools down at night you need to have the doors and windows closed (unless you don’t mind that kind of noise). This is the only real downside of this facility. Otherwise, in spite of the fact that it is an older facility, it represents good value and for most of the year air conditioning is probably not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found this to be an exceptional value in a high priced resort town. Our room was clean and had a fridge and microwave as well as dishes and cutlery. The hotel also offers a couple of gas grills for the guests to use although on some nights you might need to wait in line to use one.

Basic, clean rooms at a bargain price for the area, I would stay again without question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was my first experience of Canada and was all I expected. We stayed our first 4 nights at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge with great views all around of mountains and pine trees. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome. The room was spacious with an upstairs bedroom for the kids and a seperate bedroom for us adults. The room was cleaned daily . The kitchen area had a big fridge freezer and a kettle which was a fantastic after a long walk . Limited air conditioning upstairs. Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from a Safeway Supermarket for getting groceries etc. Unfortunately you can hear traffic noise from the nearby highway and need to keep windows and doors shut at night.
We had hired a car so driving to Banff was not a great distance as Canada goes, the views as you drive are just breathtaking. Canmore Town was a short walk away and we spent Canada Day celebrating with proud locals watching parades and marching bands'
Various sorts of resturants were local to the hotel, varying in quality and prices, all a short walk only across the road. Anybody new to Canada should observe road rules and cross the road at the crossings.
I enjoyed watching the very large goods trains(approx 100 trucks) passing alongside the mountains
If this is what the rest of Alberta is going to be like I can't wait to see it.
Rob Bloomfield and Family

Room Tip: although the views are spectacular the roadside rooms can be noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta
Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list