We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice views of mountains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice views of mountains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012 via mobile

More motel than lodge but ok for a night on our road trip. Aging decor in a swiss loft style with two doubles in the mezzanine loft and a double next to bathroom plus futon. Ok space for 4 - very cramped for 8 people. Had to mend the toilet in the night as it kept filling and also the balcony flyscreen which came off its runners when moved, so could do with an update/maintenance.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    97
    31
    8
    0
See reviews for
57
83
19
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brampton, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

If you’re on a budget this is a great place to stay in the Rockies- close to Banff but much less expensive- the good: a bedroom with door separating it from the main living room- bed is hard but comfortable and clean- living room area has a small television and electric fireplace, stove, full fridge, microwave, table, chairs and futon- the futon is very comfortable to sleep on unlike pullout couches which are terrible for anyone but small children. Staff are friendly, helpful and eager to please. There are washers and dryers available for a fee. There is a hot tub but we did not try it. The real problem is that the air conditioner is only in the bedroom- it is small and not strong enough to reach the living area. We requested and were promptly provided with a very good floor fan and the heat we experienced in July is probably only a problem for a few months of the year given the climate in this area- but you can’t really leave the doors or windows open at night because of noise from the highway and train across the street- so even though it cools down at night you need to have the doors and windows closed (unless you don’t mind that kind of noise). This is the only real downside of this facility. Otherwise, in spite of the fact that it is an older facility, it represents good value and for most of the year air conditioning is probably not a problem.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights and found this to be an exceptional value in a high priced resort town. Our room was clean and had a fridge and microwave as well as dishes and cutlery. The hotel also offers a couple of gas grills for the guests to use although on some nights you might need to wait in line to use one.

Basic, clean rooms at a bargain price for the area, I would stay again without question.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This was my first experience of Canada and was all I expected. We stayed our first 4 nights at the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge with great views all around of mountains and pine trees. The staff at the hotel were very helpful and polite and made us feel very welcome. The room was spacious with an upstairs bedroom for the kids and a seperate bedroom for us adults. The room was cleaned daily . The kitchen area had a big fridge freezer and a kettle which was a fantastic after a long walk . Limited air conditioning upstairs. Hotel is just a 5 minute walk from a Safeway Supermarket for getting groceries etc. Unfortunately you can hear traffic noise from the nearby highway and need to keep windows and doors shut at night.
We had hired a car so driving to Banff was not a great distance as Canada goes, the views as you drive are just breathtaking. Canmore Town was a short walk away and we spent Canada Day celebrating with proud locals watching parades and marching bands'
Various sorts of resturants were local to the hotel, varying in quality and prices, all a short walk only across the road. Anybody new to Canada should observe road rules and cross the road at the crossings.
I enjoyed watching the very large goods trains(approx 100 trucks) passing alongside the mountains
If this is what the rest of Alberta is going to be like I can't wait to see it.
Rob Bloomfield and Family

Room Tip: although the views are spectacular the roadside rooms can be noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

Good Value Motel, only had an apartment left and was given it at room rate. We were very happy with it, might be old, but rooms were clean. Staff were helpful and guests were friendly.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

There's nothing fancy about the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge. It gets the job done. The TV is very small, but works. The decor is kind of dated, but if you are looking for a place to sleep, then it's okay.

I stayed during the busy summer months. I think CAD$148 (including taxes) is expensive for a place like this, but there wasn't much else available that had a decent rating.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed in room 264. there was an overall appearance of a quick flip. There was large brown stains on the carpeting and all the sheets etc. are very well worn. On the day we checked out we were able to see into other rooms and obviously we got shafted as some were certainly cleaner. Property is nice and staff ok but ewww gross. There is way cleaner places to stay for the same money. We mentioned it upon checkout and received the so sorry, please pay now.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you move all your stuff into it. Especially if you're staying for a w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge

Address: 1711 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Canmore
#13 Romantic Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcoming, clean and customer service-oriented, the Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge offers a variety of accommodation options from standard rooms to studio and apartment condominiums in Canmore, Alberta. All rooms have fridges, wireless Internet access and great mountain views. Enjoy amenities such as a Jacuzzi, sauna, laundry room, playground and barbecue. Weekly rates are available. Convenient location in Canmore and 5 km (3 mi) from Banff National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Ski Hotel Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Canmore
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge Canmore, Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.