We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest rate in mid-July; average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Save Saved
You added Quality Resort Chateau Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in Canmore
The World
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Cheapest rate in mid-July; average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The rates in Canmore in mid-July were very high despite the recent flooding and many hotels were booked up. The Quality Resort had the best price for a Saturday night by far & we were expecting a real budget experience, but the hotel is a decent place to stay if you are on a budget and are just expecting a 3 star hotel. We paid $150 when the going average in the area was $200+.

Hotel is within walking distance to the main street and just off of Highway 1. It was difficult finding parking, but the hotel was sold out, so that was to be expected. Despite a lovely lobby, the hotel itself is a bit worn down; the single elevator is very slow, the room had been updated aesthetically (and looked quite nice) but on closer inspection, the bathrooms and counters showed their age and needed an update. We did have a grinding air conditioning unit , but honestly we weren't expecting much for the cheapest hotel in the area! We were mainly just happy that it worked. Could not get hot water from the shower, but the luke warm water was fine for a hot summers day. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you suffer from back or hip pain as the beds are quite hard. Despite being fully booked, there were no problems with noisy guests and we had a great sleep. We also found the customer service/front desk staff to be friendly and helpful with inquiries. Seemed a bit understaffed (1 person at front desk) during peak season, so there was 2-3 people waiting to check in / out each time we passed by the lobby. All in all, a pretty average budget hotel experience, if you are paying for a cheaper hotel in the area, don't expect much. Works great for those who are spending most of their time outside of the room, and quick overnight stays, which was the purpose of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    51
    39
    24
    25
See reviews for
54
51
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burnaby, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place looks decent from the outside but the inside is another story. Its not "uncleaned" as the bed sheets appear to be fresh and so are the pillow cases but that is it. The only reason we booked this place was because of the additional sofa bed which had food crumbs all over the bare mattress and underneath is even worst. The toaster was full of crumbs too. There was water damaged removable ceiling tile (black mildew/mold stain from a leak upstairs) - easy enough to replace but they did not bothered. The window screen frame was all bent out of shape so we can't get fresh air because can craw in. The carpet had stain/bleached marks all over. Loose lamp socks and wall plugs, not to mention the 9 volt batter hanging from the alarm clock. All these issues that you can see tell me that they have a low standards for maintenance so the stuff you cannot see is probably much worst! Do not recommend this place at all. The location is nice - likewise any other hotel in Canmore!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Didn't think this place was as nice as the reviews I've read. Rooms are ok, but warm (not too warm outside), and the a/c unit in the loft needs replacing as it rattles and hisses all night, making for a subpar's night sleep. You can probably find better in Canmore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall I am rating this a hotel with 4 stars because it has a very cute mountain lodge feel, the staff was very friendly & I really enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast. Our room had mountain views & it's located on the hotel strip, a short drive to Main Street. The reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the rooms are outdated & some sheets had small stains. We arrived right after the flood & the staff was very accommodating (we did book it 2 weeks before the flood). The water advisory was active so the front desk gave us 2 free bottles of water. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Set in the midst of the Rocky Mountains in the Bow Valley, with a view of the beautiful mountains, we were so pleased with our accommodation. The unit had a bedroom loft, a living room and a mini-kitchen area with ample space and even a fireplace in the living room. The furniture was very comfortable and in good repair. The internet was excellent and also television reception. The young man at the front desk was very polite and friendly and even gave us an early check in. Being a diamond member with Choice Hotels is helpful with early check-ins.
The only negative would be the train that runs behind the hotel, but we did not find it disturbing at all. Being a resort hotel with limited kitchen facilities, there is no complimentary breakfast, but we did not mind at all. McDonalds, Tim Hortons an restaurants close by and there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel.
My husband and I travel extensively and have stayed in many hotels - this hotel should have at least a 4.7 in our estimation.

Room Tip: May be quieter on the front section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent three nights recently Great lobby..........lady working the front desk frendly and attentive. The other front desk staff were, in my opinion, disinterested!! Room was small and a ittle worn out! HVAC was poor and very noisy, Room was very hot and dry even w the AC at full tilt, Beds were comfortable, pillows......not so good! Overall Chateau rooms needs a retrofit!! Cleaning staff were very good and thourough. Didnt use the pol or fitness center. Fitness Center looked vg!!

Would I stay here agan? Maybe, maybe not!!! IMO, Canmore is full of newer condos etc for similar rates. Possibly a better option!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms are ample, with a separate area with a hide-a-bed couch, microwave, and a small fridge, plus a sink. Also, a second tv in this area. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, the most complete hotel gym I have seen, and many other amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Canada and Venere so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Resort Chateau Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.