We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheapest rate in mid-July; average experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Resort Chateau Canmore to your Saves list
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
The World
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cheapest rate in mid-July; average experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The rates in Canmore in mid-July were very high despite the recent flooding and many hotels were booked up. The Quality Resort had the best price for a Saturday night by far & we were expecting a real budget experience, but the hotel is a decent place to stay if you are on a budget and are just expecting a 3 star hotel. We paid $150 when the going average in the area was $200+.

Hotel is within walking distance to the main street and just off of Highway 1. It was difficult finding parking, but the hotel was sold out, so that was to be expected. Despite a lovely lobby, the hotel itself is a bit worn down; the single elevator is very slow, the room had been updated aesthetically (and looked quite nice) but on closer inspection, the bathrooms and counters showed their age and needed an update. We did have a grinding air conditioning unit , but honestly we weren't expecting much for the cheapest hotel in the area! We were mainly just happy that it worked. Could not get hot water from the shower, but the luke warm water was fine for a hot summers day. I wouldn't recommend this hotel if you suffer from back or hip pain as the beds are quite hard. Despite being fully booked, there were no problems with noisy guests and we had a great sleep. We also found the customer service/front desk staff to be friendly and helpful with inquiries. Seemed a bit understaffed (1 person at front desk) during peak season, so there was 2-3 people waiting to check in / out each time we passed by the lobby. All in all, a pretty average budget hotel experience, if you are paying for a cheaper hotel in the area, don't expect much. Works great for those who are spending most of their time outside of the room, and quick overnight stays, which was the purpose of our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caricar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place looks decent from the outside but the inside is another story. Its not "uncleaned" as the bed sheets appear to be fresh and so are the pillow cases but that is it. The only reason we booked this place was because of the additional sofa bed which had food crumbs all over the bare mattress and underneath is even worst. The toaster was full of crumbs too. There was water damaged removable ceiling tile (black mildew/mold stain from a leak upstairs) - easy enough to replace but they did not bothered. The window screen frame was all bent out of shape so we can't get fresh air because can craw in. The carpet had stain/bleached marks all over. Loose lamp socks and wall plugs, not to mention the 9 volt batter hanging from the alarm clock. All these issues that you can see tell me that they have a low standards for maintenance so the stuff you cannot see is probably much worst! Do not recommend this place at all. The location is nice - likewise any other hotel in Canmore!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TimbitnMuffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

Didn't think this place was as nice as the reviews I've read. Rooms are ok, but warm (not too warm outside), and the a/c unit in the loft needs replacing as it rattles and hisses all night, making for a subpar's night sleep. You can probably find better in Canmore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbruno74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall I am rating this a hotel with 4 stars because it has a very cute mountain lodge feel, the staff was very friendly & I really enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast. Our room had mountain views & it's located on the hotel strip, a short drive to Main Street. The reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the rooms are outdated & some sheets had small stains. We arrived right after the flood & the staff was very accommodating (we did book it 2 weeks before the flood). The water advisory was active so the front desk gave us 2 free bottles of water. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NaderProperties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Set in the midst of the Rocky Mountains in the Bow Valley, with a view of the beautiful mountains, we were so pleased with our accommodation. The unit had a bedroom loft, a living room and a mini-kitchen area with ample space and even a fireplace in the living room. The furniture was very comfortable and in good repair. The internet was excellent and also television reception. The young man at the front desk was very polite and friendly and even gave us an early check in. Being a diamond member with Choice Hotels is helpful with early check-ins.
The only negative would be the train that runs behind the hotel, but we did not find it disturbing at all. Being a resort hotel with limited kitchen facilities, there is no complimentary breakfast, but we did not mind at all. McDonalds, Tim Hortons an restaurants close by and there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel.
My husband and I travel extensively and have stayed in many hotels - this hotel should have at least a 4.7 in our estimation.

Room Tip: May be quieter on the front section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdy56Whitby_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent three nights recently Great lobby..........lady working the front desk frendly and attentive. The other front desk staff were, in my opinion, disinterested!! Room was small and a ittle worn out! HVAC was poor and very noisy, Room was very hot and dry even w the AC at full tilt, Beds were comfortable, pillows......not so good! Overall Chateau rooms needs a retrofit!! Cleaning staff were very good and thourough. Didnt use the pol or fitness center. Fitness Center looked vg!!

Would I stay here agan? Maybe, maybe not!!! IMO, Canmore is full of newer condos etc for similar rates. Possibly a better option!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJRCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms are ample, with a separate area with a hide-a-bed couch, microwave, and a small fridge, plus a sink. Also, a second tv in this area. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, the most complete hotel gym I have seen, and many other amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinchote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Canmore
Econo Lodge Canmore
#10 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
#11 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
1.3 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing