We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Descent option near Banff, nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Save Saved
You added Quality Resort Chateau Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Descent option near Banff, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Didn't think this place was as nice as the reviews I've read. Rooms are ok, but warm (not too warm outside), and the a/c unit in the loft needs replacing as it rattles and hisses all night, making for a subpar's night sleep. You can probably find better in Canmore.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    36
    24
    18
See reviews for
48
49
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Overall I am rating this a hotel with 4 stars because it has a very cute mountain lodge feel, the staff was very friendly & I really enjoyed the restaurant for breakfast. Our room had mountain views & it's located on the hotel strip, a short drive to Main Street. The reason it didn't get 5 stars is because the rooms are outdated & some sheets had small stains. We arrived right after the flood & the staff was very accommodating (we did book it 2 weeks before the flood). The water advisory was active so the front desk gave us 2 free bottles of water. We would return.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Set in the midst of the Rocky Mountains in the Bow Valley, with a view of the beautiful mountains, we were so pleased with our accommodation. The unit had a bedroom loft, a living room and a mini-kitchen area with ample space and even a fireplace in the living room. The furniture was very comfortable and in good repair. The internet was excellent and also television reception. The young man at the front desk was very polite and friendly and even gave us an early check in. Being a diamond member with Choice Hotels is helpful with early check-ins.
The only negative would be the train that runs behind the hotel, but we did not find it disturbing at all. Being a resort hotel with limited kitchen facilities, there is no complimentary breakfast, but we did not mind at all. McDonalds, Tim Hortons an restaurants close by and there is a restaurant adjacent to the hotel.
My husband and I travel extensively and have stayed in many hotels - this hotel should have at least a 4.7 in our estimation.

Room Tip: May be quieter on the front section of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Spent three nights recently Great lobby..........lady working the front desk frendly and attentive. The other front desk staff were, in my opinion, disinterested!! Room was small and a ittle worn out! HVAC was poor and very noisy, Room was very hot and dry even w the AC at full tilt, Beds were comfortable, pillows......not so good! Overall Chateau rooms needs a retrofit!! Cleaning staff were very good and thourough. Didnt use the pol or fitness center. Fitness Center looked vg!!

Would I stay here agan? Maybe, maybe not!!! IMO, Canmore is full of newer condos etc for similar rates. Possibly a better option!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms are ample, with a separate area with a hide-a-bed couch, microwave, and a small fridge, plus a sink. Also, a second tv in this area. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, the most complete hotel gym I have seen, and many other amenities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

The hotel is good. It’s not top of the line, but it’s clean and has a hot tub, pool and exercise room. It also has a basket ball court as well.

It’s very neat that each room has a fireplace and a mountain view. We quite enjoyed that.
We got the two double bed deluxe room. It had a separate living room and bedroom. When we arrived some kids were playing in the hall. We could hear them from the living room, but once we closed the fire-rated door to the bedroom, we couldn’t hear a thing.

The hotel was right next to the train as most are in Canmore. It didn’t bother us.
One thing that would have been nice is if the restaurant was open more than just the morning. We didn’t end up trying it.

I booked this hotel originally for my daughter and I to stay. It turned out that my husband and our dog wanted to join us. We called back after I had booked to ask if pets were allowed and they were. We asked about a weight restriction and there was no weight restriction. We asked if we would still be able to get a room near the pool for our daughter even with the dog and they said that the whole hotel was pet friendly. Those with allergies read this… The WHOLE hotel was pet friendly. You would think that that would be great for pet lovers like us. Well, yes that’s really great that we could have what we wanted and that for once our dog wasn’t treated like a pest. We do try to be very considerate of other people who don’t like pets. We don’t like to let our dog go near people who may be afraid (he is 120 lbs of love). We also don’t want his presence to cause allergy attacks. I was asked to give feedback by the hotel and I said this myself. I wish that they would only have a specific wing that was pet friendly and that it was on the main floor near a side exit so that we didn’t have to bring our dog through the main entries. A poor woman who met us in the lobby gasped, “My allergies! I don’t have my pills!” I felt horrible. That being said, I was so happy to find a decent pet friendly hotel.

Room Tip: The second floor is where the entrance to the pool/hot tub/ exercise room is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews, I thought it was gonna be a yucky hotel but to my surprise it was great. The rooms were clean, the staff were super nice and the breakfast was the best food we had during our stay. More value for what you are paying

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Choice Canada, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Resort Chateau Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.