We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable hotel with disgraceful management” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Resort Chateau Canmore to your Saves list
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unacceptable hotel with disgraceful management”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Chateau Canmore looks like a decent place to stay from the outside and even from the lobby. But once you make your way around the building, restaurant and rooms, you will find the hotel is absolutely awful. The rooms are outdated and still appear from the 90's. Sometimes small details make a huge difference, and with this hotel that is true. Dust in every corner of the room, dirty glassware, old TV's, you can guarantee your carpet has stains somewhere, and the amenities old and very unclean. You can easily find out these thing for yourself if you stay at the Chateau.

The overall service of the hotel is very weak. The front desk staff have very little knowledge of how the hotel operates and seem to do the bare minimum. If you get the right staff member, you may get great service. I suggest avoiding the General Manager at all costs. She is a very unprofessional, degrading, unhelpful and unpresentable person who will break the main rule in customer service of "the customer is always right", to the GM, she is the one who is right. The manager has no idea how to run a hotel, let alone manage her own personal duties at the hotel. Absolute garbage if you ask me.

*If you decide to use the pool, hot tub or fitness centre, be sure to wear flip flops, gloves and maybe even a hand sanitizer shower afterwards. The pool is about the size of a child's blow up pool and the change rooms are filthy. This property has had the Health and Safety board called numerous times, which is a fact.

This all may seem harsh, but if you listen to one review, please may it be this one. When you want to spend your time in such a beautiful place, you don't want it ruined by the disaster that is the Chateau Canmore. This over priced, outdated, poorly managed and low quality hotel is not where you want to spend your time.

Room Tip: Ask for road side room. Always make sure you are charged the correct amount and never ask to speak t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    60
    45
    31
    31
See reviews for
61
64
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We took a midweek break on Canmore, and as usual we stayed at the Chateau Canmore, taking one of the regular rooms, which has a separate bedroom and sitting room. Clean room, clean bathroom, good wifi. Restaurant closed during our stay, but plenty of places close by.

Room Tip: If a light sleeper, ask for room on north side of hotel, away from the railway track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

When we arrived, we were told we were "upgraded" due to overbooking. We had booked 2 queen beds since our 34 yr.old daughter was with us. They put us in a loft room with a king bed and a fold out couch on the main floor. The pull out sagged in the middle and was lumpy. Going downstairs 3x a night was difficult with knee problems. The unit was old and very outdated. The carpet was badly stained, very dirty and unsanitary. The tiny kichenette had a toaster, an old, old small microwave, coffeepot, and bar fridge. There was cups and glasses but no utensils, plates, dishsoap or teatowel. Our view was the parking lot. A train roared by several times just behind the parking lot. We had no controller for the TV upstairs and the controller on the main floor did not work. The air conditioner was ancient and very noisey.The lobby was nice and the sheets were clean otherwise this place was very disappointing. We didn't expect luxury for this price but this place was bad.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This hotel was one of the best values on my recent trip to Canada. I was looking for an affordable hotel outside of Banff National Park since nothing in the park was affordable. This hotel filled the bill admirably. It had not only a bedroom area but also a small sitting room with its own TV. The room was nicely decorated and very clean. The value was excellent ($110 US) especially for the location. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a railroad line running by the south side of the hotel but the rooms were soundproofed enou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Let me begin with a review of the hotel itself: decent view, good sized room, poor service, passable cleanliness, noisy rooms and ‘affordable rates’ IF they charge you correctly. Now onto my major problem with the hotel and why I will NEVER stay at it, or any Choice Hotel again for that matter. Upon returning from our stay at the hotel a month ago, I noticed that I’d been billed an additional $173.31 on my credit card. I called the hotel and spoke to a woman in HR who assured me that it was only a hold, not a real charge and would disappear from my credit card soon, which to this date has STILL NOT happened. I understand that mistakes happen and am not upset about the mistake but rather the complete lack of service from the hotel in regards to resolving this issue (which is ironic since on their website they claim to have a service guarantee - yeah right what service?). Several follow up phone calls to the hotel managers have not been returned and neither has an email to their head office. Unbelievable right? As a last resort I have contacted my credit card company who has kindly agreed to temporarily suspend the charges and will be launching an investigation into this fraudulent charge. You can rest assured that even if i never see my $173.31 again (which I'm hoping is not the case), it will cost the hotel a lot more than it will cost me as I am sharing my terrible and costly experience with family, friends, coworkers and other travellers in the hopes that they will never stay at a this or any Choice hotel and save themselves the headaches, hassles and extra charges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloyne, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Even had a fireplace which would have been more useful during ski season rather than a warm day in Sept. A good deal for a nice clean room with mountain views. Highly recommended, even though it does not include any breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for two night (suprise on the final bill it said three, big discussion with the rude manager). The rooms are big but I think they forgot to clean the bathroom, HAIRS everywhere! If you have a mountainside room, you'll have a train basically going through your room every hour, starting at 6 in the morning. Roadside room: well, all night traffic going on there. The staff is very friendly, if you can find them ... restaurant is ok. I wouldn't stay here again and I'm pretty sure you can find better, keep looking!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Resort Chateau Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.