We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extra Charges and Terrible Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quality Resort Chateau Canmore to your Saves list
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Extra Charges and Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Let me begin with a review of the hotel itself: decent view, good sized room, poor service, passable cleanliness, noisy rooms and ‘affordable rates’ IF they charge you correctly. Now onto my major problem with the hotel and why I will NEVER stay at it, or any Choice Hotel again for that matter. Upon returning from our stay at the hotel a month ago, I noticed that I’d been billed an additional $173.31 on my credit card. I called the hotel and spoke to a woman in HR who assured me that it was only a hold, not a real charge and would disappear from my credit card soon, which to this date has STILL NOT happened. I understand that mistakes happen and am not upset about the mistake but rather the complete lack of service from the hotel in regards to resolving this issue (which is ironic since on their website they claim to have a service guarantee - yeah right what service?). Several follow up phone calls to the hotel managers have not been returned and neither has an email to their head office. Unbelievable right? As a last resort I have contacted my credit card company who has kindly agreed to temporarily suspend the charges and will be launching an investigation into this fraudulent charge. You can rest assured that even if i never see my $173.31 again (which I'm hoping is not the case), it will cost the hotel a lot more than it will cost me as I am sharing my terrible and costly experience with family, friends, coworkers and other travellers in the hopes that they will never stay at a this or any Choice hotel and save themselves the headaches, hassles and extra charges.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cloyne, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by the size of the room. Even had a fireplace which would have been more useful during ski season rather than a warm day in Sept. A good deal for a nice clean room with mountain views. Highly recommended, even though it does not include any breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for two night (suprise on the final bill it said three, big discussion with the rude manager). The rooms are big but I think they forgot to clean the bathroom, HAIRS everywhere! If you have a mountainside room, you'll have a train basically going through your room every hour, starting at 6 in the morning. Roadside room: well, all night traffic going on there. The staff is very friendly, if you can find them ... restaurant is ok. I wouldn't stay here again and I'm pretty sure you can find better, keep looking!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sopor81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Canmore hotels

Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This hotel is not high end, but very comfortable.As we don't spend alot in the room, just basically to sleep, We thought it was great. I had 2 of the best sleeps in a long time here. The beds are comfortable and there's lots of pillows. A fridge and a microwave make hotel stays easier. We stayed August 10-12 .We never had any problems at all. I noticed while walking the dog, how nice the landscaping is compared to the neighboring hotels. Also the complementary coffee 24 hrs a day is a nice touch. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EdmontonGottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Lobby and exterior very nice. rooms a bit dated but basically clean and comfortable. ours came with a mini living room - so we had 2 TVs which made it nice given we were travelling with our 2 kids. Room had very high ceilings with a very good view. It also had a window that opened to the outside. Weather was a perfect temperature and I always prefer not to use the AC if possible. Service was so so.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smagf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Yes this Hotel is one of the lower priced, you get what you pay for!

The exterior and lobby gives the impression that you are statying at a very nice establishment. However the rooms have not been updated since the late 80's and appear tired. The service in the hotel is questionable, the staff from the manager down appear disinterested and overwhelmed. We had a fire alarm go off during a thunder storm and staff did not communicate with anyone as to a muster point or when it was all clear to go back to the rooms.

Do not reserve a room alongside the main train line, the rooms along the roadway are quieter, you do hear the occasional train and highway traffic noise.

The restaurant was great for the first two days and the third service was terrible and the food was not much better.

Please research your stay in Canmore this is an average place to crash for one night or those on a budget.

Room Tip: Do not book a room adjacent to the railway tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haggisbasher07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
75 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights using Choice Hotels points. In summary, it was a good choice for free nights with points, but I wouldn't have felt so happy if I had to pay the going rate for the room. As I said in the title; OK, but not great. (At the bottom of this review is an important comment about the railroad tracks right next to the hotel).

Firstly the positives; great view of the mountains from most of the rooms. Air conditioning was great (as it was mid August it was essential). The room was dated but clean. Free WiFi was good. Parking was OK (close to the hotel but it got full every night). There was no noise from adjoining rooms or the ones above. Good location less than 1 minute from the highway and in walking distance of the entire town. The pool (indoor) and hot tub (outdoor) was small for a hotel this large, but it was well maintained. The gym was fantastic, one of the best hotel gyms I have used in years.

The negatives: for a room that is supposed to sleep 6, the bathroom was tiny (and I mean tiny). Not enough room to swing a toothbrush, let alone a cat. This is the only Quality Inn / Choice Hotels property I have every stayed in with no free breakfast. There aren't enough power sockets in the room so be sure to bring a power bar with you. The layout is pretty confusing, with one slow elevator in the center of the hotel and no option of using stairs from the third or fourth floor, and a separate elevator to the restaurant that doesn't go to the lobby. Weird.

Now, on to the railroad tracks ... Yes the Canadian Pacific Railroad is immediately behind the hotel. There are a lot of reviews moaning about this. However we did have a room overlooking the railroad and we loved every minute of it. There is something magical about seeing large trains rolling through the mountains, they are part of Canada's (and Canmore's) history and there is nothing better than having a close-up view from your hotel window. About 4 or 5 trains rumbled on through in the middle of the night but it was part of the experience (very cozy to lie in bed listening to the trains making their way through the valley in the dead of night).

If you don't like trains, don't come to Canmore - period. If you choose Canmore and this hotel, enjoy the trains for what they are - a wonderful part of the history and of the mountains. Ask for a room facing the trains!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Canmore hotels
0.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Canmore
Econo Lodge Canmore
#10 of 30 in Canmore
4.5 of 5 stars 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
Rocky Mountain Ski Lodge
#11 of 30 in Canmore
4.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Canmore
Ramada Canmore
#16 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
0.1 mi away
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
1.3 mi away
Windtower Lodge & Suites
Windtower Lodge & Suites
#17 of 30 in Canmore
3.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Resort Chateau Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Resort Chateau Canmore

Address: 1718 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 2X3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 30 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Resort Chateau Canmore 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Resort Chateau Canmore is an all suite property features 93 units, offering spectacular views of the Canadian Rocky Mountains. This full service hotel includes a family restaurant, sports lounge, and full fitness centre. You can enjoy a refreshing dip in the pool or soothe aching muscles in the outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Quality Resort Chateau Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Hotel Canmore
Quality Inn Canmore
Quality Hotel Chateau Canmore
Quality Resort Chateau Canmore Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing