We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Canmore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The room was basic, but clean and had a comfortable bed. The highlight of the stay was the friendly service followed by the nice continental breakfast. The view from the back was great, but there is a nice balcony.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Please come and stay with us again where you will always find a clean and comfortable room and a warm a friendly smile.
Thanks for your patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Good value, nice staff. It's not the best place in the area...but it was cheap.

We stayed with our dogs, which was nice. The staff was very nice and helpful. We had two dogs with us but they only charged us the cost of one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again and expect the same good value and nice staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I think the best way to describe my room is: it is like a Motel 6, clean room and bathroom, basic mattress which is OK comfortable not exceptional, without the uniformity of decor of Motel 6. Our large room had what appeared to be a small kitchen table for a bedside table. The front desk staff were very welcoming. I did not eat breakfast there as I had made other plans, so I cannot comment on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re pleased you found our front end staff to be friendly and welcoming and we hope that you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night after a flight from the UK to Calgary. Easy to locate and amazing welcome from front of desk lady. The lounge area was so cosy, exactly what we expected from a Canadian lodge. Our room was massive and extremely clean. We slept so well. The breakfast room in the morning was basic but exactly what we needed. Nice juice and great waffle maker. When we walked out of the hotel in the morning, the view was amazing. The gorgeous mountains, lovely properties. We stocked up at the Safeway before moving on.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope to see you again soon. We welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here to break up a trip between Kelowna and Edmonton. Front desk staff was very friendly and very helpful. The lobby is welcoming, but the hotel itself is a bit dated and the rooms are spartan. Was told we got a room with "the new beds" - the bed was very firm and squeaked; I would hate to sleep on the "old" beds. The bathroom, while OK on first glance, still had hairs stuck to the walls and spots of black mold in the tub/shower. The room itself was large and clean. We had to unplug the fridge since it was quite loud when it came on during the night. Parking is a bit awkward - lots of spaces at the back of the hotel but only stairs down to the back door, which makes it difficult to transport heavy luggage/stroller between the car and the room if you don't want to go through the main doors. Breakfast was adequate; nothing fancy. Overall, good value and would recommend for an over-nighter in the area if you don't want to pay Banff prices.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to review your stay with us. We hope to offer a newly renovated suite for your next for greater comfort. If ever you need assistance with luggage or anything else do not hesitate to let us know. Please come and stay with us again anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night on our way to see my sister. We were greeted by friendly management at the front desk and quickly got the paper work out of the way. We were upgraded to a room facing the mountains and with its own fireplace and balcony. The rooms are serviceable and clean and the beds comfy and with the room you also get breakfast included. A great value for the money. The charming part of the hotel tho is the lobby with great leather couches, games, tv, antiques, puzzles, books, coffee and tea .A place that says "living room" and come in and stay a while, homey!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see again and you can expect the same friendly service, clean room and great value.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Canmore was our first stop in the Rockies on a recent Canadian road trip. The Rocky Mountain Inn is conveniently situated for the town's main facilities, and it stood out very positively amongst the dozen or so hotels we stayed in during our trip. Large, comfortable room, very clean, airy and well appointed. The buffet breakfast offered a wide variety of good quality food and, unlike some places we stayed in, there was always space in the breakfast room. An original and very welcome feature was the large sitting room with open fire, a variety of board games, and complimentary coffee. The front desk staff were absolute stars, particularly Geoffrey, who was incredibly helpful, and a colleague of his who gave us detailed local wildlife information. The whole place had a very positive, friendly and comfortable vibe to it AND it was excellent value for money. Canmore is charming and unspoilt and being just outside the national park, it is not prone to the crowds and inflated prices of Banff and Jasper.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I have to agree with you that the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn is a special property. Thank you very much for your kind words. You are welcome at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn Alberta
Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.