We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected and inexpensive gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Save Saved
You added Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 33 hotels in Canmore
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“An unexpected and inexpensive gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Decided on a last-minute trip to Canmore over Easter weekend, so accommodations were somewhat limited. This hostelry turned out to be a real surprise. Okay, it lacks the basic facilities that so many other hotels in the area boast but it is warm and inviting, the staff are very friendly and it is spotlessly clean. They even throw in a continental breakfast at no extra charge. But the best bit: we rented a twin room for four of us (2 adults, 2 small children) for under $100 per night. Highly recommended if you're planning on a short stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the upper floor offer best views and have small balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you for your review. We invite you to return anytime and please expect the same great service and friendly staff each and every time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    37
    13
    2
    5
See reviews for
22
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had decided to take a day trip to Banff on a Sat. afternoon. The day in Banff was great we spent some time shopping and had supper. when we left to go home to Calgary it started to snow as we reached the park gates. Twenty Ks past Canmore the traffic was at a stand still after sitting for 2hrs. we were able to turn around and get back to Canmore. We saw the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn the sign said 79.00 a night they had a room so we decided to stay for the night. We told the Reception our situation they gave us tooth paste and directed us to a store around the corner to pick up other necessitys. We had a relaxing evening and a free contenental breakfast. We had never stayed in Canmore before we always stayed in Banff but we will be returning there again.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have out side axcess to a patio and the parking, easier to load and unload the ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you for your review. We’re pleased able to accommodate you on such short notice. As always we will have some basic items for the stranded traveler and warm and wonderful breakfast to get you on your way again. Please come back again soon, we look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was great - it's not too far from all the attractions of Canmore but it is quiet. Our room had a fireplace, and a small balcony which looked out onto another hotel, but you could still see the mountains. The room was quiet and roomy for two. The complimentary breakfast was among the best I have had. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank your for your review. We’re pleased you made good use of your guest balcony. We invite you to stay with us again and to reserve a room with a balcony on the road side of the hotel, the views are even more breathtaking and far less obstructed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

friendly service, good value for $. recent renos,gas fireplace in the room, cheaper than staying in Banff, continental breakfast great,its on the northside of the main road, away from the trains. bar fridge, and microwave in room. The front entry, has a large comfortable conversational area with fireplace, excellent idea, with updated furniture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and welcome you back for another visit and stay at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had booked a one night stay here rather than going into Banff where the prices jumped overnight at least $30 for the hotels we were looking at (why do they do this???). As we were just travelling through the park on the way to BC from Edmonton we didn't want to spend a fortune! Unfortunately we had a huge snow fall in Edmonton and did not feel equipped to try the roads so we called Booking.Com to see if we could change the booking. The very helpful person there called the hotel and spoke with Ellen who said she would either cancel or change the booking which we really appreciated (the booking stated we would have to pay cancellation charges as it was just the day before). We decided to rebook and did in fact arrive safely the next day. We found Ellen at the front desk and she was once again extremely helpful and friendly. A great asset to the hotel we feel.
The rooms were fine. Bathrooms are a little bit on the small side but clean and functional. The rooms have a gas fireplace which is wonderful and quickly warmed us up. Also a fridge and microwave which was a plus. A little balcony in the summer must be lovely to sit out on. There is a very nice large room with a huge log fireplace on the ground floor. It has comfortable chairs and a fantastic view of the mountains where you could sit and have coffee and read or access the wi-fi internet access which is throughout the hotel now.
The breakfast was good in the morning with more than enough choices. All in all we were very pleased to have found this hotel and again we really appreciated the fact that we arrived a day later than planned but we did not incur any extra charges.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking another building so if possible I would ask for a room that fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second trip to Canmore this year.
The first time we stayed at the Ramada and were kept awake from the loud noise of the train passing throughout the night.
This hotel is located a bit further down the road and on the other side of the train tracks, so sleeping was not an issue. We had a great room facing the mountains and the breakfast was very good as well.
The beds were a little low and lumpy and the shower drain was very clogged.
But, it is very comparable to the Ramada and I had a way better sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We only spent a night there. The room was nice with a fireplace. It also had a little balcony. The bathroom was comfortable and clean as was the rest of the room. The breakfast was buffet (included in the price). WiFi free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn Alberta
Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.