We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet gem in Canmore” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn to your Saves list
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Regina, SK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Quiet gem in Canmore”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was great - it's not too far from all the attractions of Canmore but it is quiet. Our room had a fireplace, and a small balcony which looked out onto another hotel, but you could still see the mountains. The room was quiet and roomy for two. The complimentary breakfast was among the best I have had. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest, thank your for your review. We’re pleased you made good use of your guest balcony. We invite you to stay with us again and to reserve a room with a balcony on the road side of the hotel, the views are even more breathtaking and far less obstructed. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    52
    18
    2
    6
See reviews for
29
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rimbey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

friendly service, good value for $. recent renos,gas fireplace in the room, cheaper than staying in Banff, continental breakfast great,its on the northside of the main road, away from the trains. bar fridge, and microwave in room. The front entry, has a large comfortable conversational area with fireplace, excellent idea, with updated furniture.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BesthotelinCanmore1, Manager at Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased we were able to exceed your expectations and welcome you back for another visit and stay at any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We had booked a one night stay here rather than going into Banff where the prices jumped overnight at least $30 for the hotels we were looking at (why do they do this???). As we were just travelling through the park on the way to BC from Edmonton we didn't want to spend a fortune! Unfortunately we had a huge snow fall in Edmonton and did not feel equipped to try the roads so we called Booking.Com to see if we could change the booking. The very helpful person there called the hotel and spoke with Ellen who said she would either cancel or change the booking which we really appreciated (the booking stated we would have to pay cancellation charges as it was just the day before). We decided to rebook and did in fact arrive safely the next day. We found Ellen at the front desk and she was once again extremely helpful and friendly. A great asset to the hotel we feel.
The rooms were fine. Bathrooms are a little bit on the small side but clean and functional. The rooms have a gas fireplace which is wonderful and quickly warmed us up. Also a fridge and microwave which was a plus. A little balcony in the summer must be lovely to sit out on. There is a very nice large room with a huge log fireplace on the ground floor. It has comfortable chairs and a fantastic view of the mountains where you could sit and have coffee and read or access the wi-fi internet access which is throughout the hotel now.
The breakfast was good in the morning with more than enough choices. All in all we were very pleased to have found this hotel and again we really appreciated the fact that we arrived a day later than planned but we did not incur any extra charges.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back overlooking another building so if possible I would ask for a room that fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was our second trip to Canmore this year.
The first time we stayed at the Ramada and were kept awake from the loud noise of the train passing throughout the night.
This hotel is located a bit further down the road and on the other side of the train tracks, so sleeping was not an issue. We had a great room facing the mountains and the breakfast was very good as well.
The beds were a little low and lumpy and the shower drain was very clogged.
But, it is very comparable to the Ramada and I had a way better sleep.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We only spent a night there. The room was nice with a fireplace. It also had a little balcony. The bathroom was comfortable and clean as was the rest of the room. The breakfast was buffet (included in the price). WiFi free.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way up to Jasper. The rooms were lovely and roomy and I loved the small balcony where we had a view of some mountains. The breakfast was also very good. Loved the waffle maker. Wifi Internet also stong which makes a change for the area. Overall I would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Invermere, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

From the moment I walked in the door at the Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, I was impressed. The lobby was inviting and clean, and the front desk supervisor greeted me right away. She was incredibly friendly, personable and helpful, and actually ended up giving me a room with a better view. The room was clean and bright, and the bath tub was to DIE for. It was seriously the best one I've ever been in.

The bed wasn't the most comfortable I've ever slept in, but it wasn't awful. Overall, it was a great experience and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone, and stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn

Address: 1719 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1L7, Canada (Formerly Westridge Country Inn)
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 32 Hotels in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy Hotel in the Canadian Rocky Mountains, Canmore, Alberta, near Banff National Park. 3.5 stars Canada Select. Retreat for vacations and conventions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canmore Rocky Mountain Hotel Canmore
Westridge Country Hotel
Country Inn Canmore
Canmore Country Inn
Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canmore Rocky Mountain Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.