We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place was great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre to your Saves list
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   511 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N7, Canada (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Canmore)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3 nights Get 25% Off
Ranked #18 of 33 Hotels in Canmore
A TripAdvisor Member
“This place was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2005

My girlfriends sister got married in Canmore. We had a party of about 30 and this hotel did a great job of accomodating all of us. Lots of fun. It is about 2 mile outside of the main drag which was a little far but never honestly affected any of us... The grounds were very pretty and the accomodations could not have been nicer when taking in what the price was. This place was fun!

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    126
    83
    48
    17
See reviews for
77
94
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2005

I stayed at the Radisson this may long weekend. And the reviews i read were quite critical. The service is so-so and the only thing impressive is the lobby. There are more good things to say than bad things. One bad thing is don't get the suite in the other building because they are old and creaky, like an old apartment. It looks very nice (decorative), but we were presumed at the front desk that we (Mr and I) needed 2 suites for "entertaining". So to speak. We changed rooms to a smaller 2 queen rooms with great (slect a firmness or softness number on boths sides) beds and white bedding. It is semi-loud but there is alot to do. We enjoyed the steam room and the pool and hot tub, the restraunt and bar and gift shop are all very nice. I would recommend this place for a "thirfty" wedding. The parking is great, all the rooms are non-smoking and the washooms are small. the room has coffee and maker, iron, board, radio, room service, hairdryer and is motel like with the sliding doors to parking lot on the first floor. I would definitely stay at the Radisson again and the price is just right. About 120 Cdn. for the budget traveller. I would rate this place a 4 out of five.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, USA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2005

My husband and I had booked a week at the Radisson in a "Deluxe" room with two queen beds. We got what seemed like a great AAA rate. But when we arrived, well, that room looked an awful lot like a very cramped standard hotel room, with stained carpet and a noisy heater. You get what you pay for I guess. The same room with one king might have been ok, though the bathroom was also amazingly small. The units in the main building may have been better - my room certainly didn't look anything like the virtual tour from their web site. Their marketing team needs to work on setting expectations somewhat inline with the check-in reality.

After a couple days, we moved to another hotel with bigger rooms and a better location.

If you are staying for more than a couple days, you might consider upgrading. Also, the some of the rooms face either the highway or a busy road, so you might take a look at the room before signing in.

On the upside, the staff was friendly enough, and the hot tub was nice at the end of the day.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2005

We just stayed at the Radisson in Canmore, Alberta last night. The outside and inside (lobby, restaurant and facilities), looked like a true Radisson hotel, but once you got off the 1st floor, you entered a world of loud elevators, squeaky and stained floors and carpets, and mediocre bedrooms. We paid $82 CAD (which is a deal we got on priceline.com), the regular price was $95. I would recommend that this hotel should not charge more than $60 per night.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2004

My husband and I had business meetings here this weekend. Although all the staff seemed very young, they were all very eager to please and very friendly. When they didn't have an answer they looked until they did. The rooms were clean and quiet and although the freeway and train appeared close, we never heard anything while inside our rooms.

I did find the restaurant overpriced but pretty much anything in the Banff/Canmore region is. The lounge food was more reasonable and again the staff was very eager to please.

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2004

We just returned from a 9-day trip to Alberta. We stayed 1 night in the Radisson in Canmore. We stayed in a nice ground-floor room that faces the garden and fountain near the restuarant. Our room had new and modern furnishings. The bathroom floor was heated (nice touch!). Everything was comfortable and clean. This property was conveniently located in Canmore, which is a short drive to the town of Banff and all the sights.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2004

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights in early July. This is a huge place with 3 seperate wings, with 3 floors each.
This is an older hotel which is showing its age. The floors in the halls and rooms are squeaky and sagging. The rooms have old looking counter tops in the bathrooms, and tubs fitted with plastic surrounds. The carpets are old and worn, only the lobby area looks like it has newer carpeting.
Our room was adequately clean, with tea/coffee and toiletries replenished daily. It had a sliding door to a non-existant balcony. The door had a broken lock and torn, ill-fitting screen. Since there were no balconies and we were on the third floor, it felt safe enough to leave the door open at night for some fresh air. However, the broken lock would certainly be a problem for the lower floors.
Parking was outdoor and free.
The pool area was in a separate building. We had to walk outside and around the restaurant's patio to get to the pool. A room key-card is required to get in. The pool was a good size, but too cold for my liking. The kids enjoyed it. A little basketball set and pool toys, such as balls and noodles are provided. The whirpool is small and very hot. There is a steam room as well. Towels are provided but in limited supply. There are showers in the change room, but neither one had any shampoo. The containers were empty. Walking back to our room past the restaurant patio was not the most fun. It was quite cool outside in the evenings. We noticed an outdoor fireplace on the restaurant patio. That would be a pleasant place for a drink in the evening. However, we didn't have enough time to use the restaurant.
During our stay, there were quite a few large tour buses arriving with people there for sightseeing and also for conferences. The meeting rooms seemed very busy.
This was not a bad place to stay, but I think we would choose a different hotel if we were ever in the area again. I don't think it's the best value for the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre

Address: 511 Bow Valley Trail, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1N7, Canada (Formerly Radisson Hotel & Conference Center Canmore)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on three acres of land in the heart of the majestic Canadian Rocky Mountains, the Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre offers an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. Featuring 164 well-appointed rooms, our hotel is only 15 minutes from Banff, 45 minutes from Calgary and in close proximity to some of the best attractions and activities the area has to offer. We have been awarded a 4 key rating from the Green Key Eco-Rating Program - recognizing us as a hotel that has taken significant steps to protect the environment. Strong environmental programs, best management practices, training programs and engineering solutions have been implemented which have benefited the environment and the local community. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Hotel And Conference Center Canmore
Radisson Hotel Canmore
Radisson Canmore
Canmore Radisson
Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Canmore Hotel & Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.