We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is mountain country, the owner is a climber and hiker, who also loves geology and paleontology.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B

Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Canmore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B
Save
You added Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
546 Grotto Road, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1J2, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 Canmore B&B and Inns
VANCOUVER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“This is mountain country, the owner is a climber and hiker, who also loves geology and paleontology.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

Comfortable, and definitely geared to help those who want to get out there and make the most of this magnificent countryside.
Bev, the owner knows her mountains and was able to guide me to all the places of scenic and geological interest.
I enjoyed finding out about these mountains and their ancient history, and how to get anywhere, an expert guide is on tap at the B&B>
I needed some two weeks rather than only 2 nights,
Thank you Bev for a great visit, I will be back if I am able.
Tony Nicholls South Africa

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    0
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
1
3
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
VANCOUVER
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2009

I felt completely at home with a friendly helpful and expert hostess,
She spoke of this magnificent arena of nature - first-hand.
She guided me to exactly where I wanted to be, taking account of scenic, trails and geological places of interest.
Bev is a seasoned trail and climbing person, who loves the area and this is infectious.
I needed two weeks rather than the two days I had.
If you need to find your favorite geological area, Bev will get you onto the right trail.
She was a great person to talk to about this amazing part of the planet.
I would recommend all climbers and trail hikers and those who have an interest in geology and paleontology to stay here and use it as a base.
Thank you Rocky Mountain High for a comfortable stay.
Tony Nicholls South Africa

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed 3 nights at the Rocky B&B out of our 14 day trip through the Rockies area. We simply loved Canmore. It's quiet, sleepy, relaxed. Exactly like what a holiday trip should be. And we stayed at exactly the right place. Rocky B & B was simply great. We loved the home-made bread, lots of fresh fruit (strawberries, kiwi fruit, bananas, etc), yoghurt and cereals. Very good healthy breakfasts. Small minus point was that my cot was made up of a safari bed with a mattress on it. A bit unstable but comfortable nevertheless. We had the use of the entire living room and kitchenette. We were the only guests at that time. Really comfortable and good for lounging around. Sat up late to read on the sofa late into the night, forgetting the time. It's that homely.
The best part of staying in this B & B? Surely Bev! Fantastic advice, very good directions. We really enjoyed driving out to the wonderful places and taking the walks that she recommended. Kananaskis Country was beautiful, unspoilt and teeming with wildlife. Also Johnston Canyon (where my parents & I got separated, and I spent 1 hour running up and down literally the 2.5 km climb up the canyon to look for them). Covered 10km in all... phew... but it was mind-blowing the canyon. Plus Moraine Lake and Lake Louise (the latter too commercial). Also great advice for where to stop to look and walk on our forward journey to Jasper. Thanks Bev also for the very wonderful, stimulating conversations about Canada and the way common folk find life over there... overall, perfect stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmoreSkier, Owner at Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B, responded to this review, July 21, 2009
We enjoy meeting people from all over the world. It is such fun for us to recommend the best sights and walks to our guests each day.
Our B&B has just 2 guest rooms and each room sleeps only 2 people. Sometimes people ask if we can possibly put 3 people into one room. We accommodate them by setting up a cot with a thick foamy mattress for their 3rd person. It is not ideal but at least they can all stay in the same room.
We love living in the Canadian Rockies! Canmore is our dream location. Come and share our dream!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We booked two of the rooms(2 couples) they were both perfect. It was everything we could have wanted. Just like staying in a close relatives home. There were lots of extra's . Even let us use the internet to check our e-mail from home. The host prepared a breakfast for us to include a loaf of warm home made bread and gave us the recipe tool A good location for the Canadian rockies ( Banff, etc) and we also took an evening walk by the local river . Close to town in a quiet residental area. Would highly recommend!

S.C.

  • Liked — Friendly informative host
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie from UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2008

An excellent B&B with very friendly hosts. They helped us plan our hikes each day and provided maps for us. All their advertising is accurate: it states what is provided for breakfast and what the rooms and shared area is like. We were very pleased that they provided free internet access. All in all, we got excellent value for our money!

  • Liked — The hosts were fantastic
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, AB
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

We spent a night at this B&B in the middle of July tourist season. For the price, you definitely don't get what you paid for. For $140, the room was very small with no view other than the garden and the house next door. The bed was not very comfortable. The bathroom was small but clean. The owners live upstairs and we could hear them moving around at 5:30 AM! The other guests wery very loud and woke us up as well. Breakfast consisted of a loaf of homemade bread (very good), strawberries and cereal. We were planning to take the leftover bread for lunch after a day of hiking. However, the owner joined us at the table about half way through our breakfast and then told us she would clean up after us before we had finished eating!!

Friends of ours were staying at the Best Western nearby and actually paid less for a huge room plus breakfast! We should have stayed there instead.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CanmoreSkier, owner at Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B, responded to this review, May 3, 2008
We are a quiet, retired couple who enjoy having guests from all over the world!

Our breakfast is "continental plus" and includes fresh fruit, fresh home baked bread, jams, choice of cereals, yogurts, fruit juice, milk, coffee and tea."

Our guests can see the Three Sisters Mountains from our guest lounge and front door entryway. You can see a picture of these mountains on our website.

We now have seven guest books filled with wonderful, positive comments about our hospitality, our knowledge of the trails, photo opportunities, and places to see. We have people who return to stay with us year after year.

We welcome you to our home in the heart of the Canadian Rocky Mountains!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 546 Grotto Road, Canmore, Alberta T1W 1J2, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of the Canadian Rockies! Our guest entrance opens into the spacious "Alpine Lounge" which has wireless internet, satellite TV, VCR, and a dining area. Our small library has local hiking guide books, and maps of the area for site seeing and walking. When you arrive, we can help you plan the best places to visit, walk, or photograph! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B Canmore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alberta Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.