We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Habitat Restaurant & Bar

Habitat Restaurant & Bar
901 Mountain Street | 901 Mountain Street, Canmore, Alberta T1W 0C9, Canada
403.679.5228
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Habitat Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 103 Restaurants in Canmore
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Bow Valley Trail
Description: Discover Habitat Restaurant & Bar, Canmore's latest culinary landmark that offers sophisticated gourmet fare in a lively atmosphere. Deliciously located in the luxurious Grande Rockies Resort - Canmore's new home to all things tasteful. Sleek, contemporary decor and East-meets-West cuisine, local and regional meats, seafood and produce will be reflected in a creative menu. Chef Linton invites you to join him for a 3 course Table d'Hote menu, choose from a variety of appetizers, entrees and desserts, starting at $28 per person. Enjoy "Happy Hour" in the lounge with $5 cocktails and $5 glasses of wine from 4:00pm to 6:00pm daily. Luscious libations and exquisite cuisine - what can be more satisfying after a day of adventure in the mountains or on the golf course?
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Absolutely amazing! The service was terrific. The pork main course was so delicious! Go before 6pm for happy hour drinks and appetizers too. A bit pricey, but we will definitely be back! So good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Habtiat Restaurant and Bar patron,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent visit to Habitat. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and you were able to take advantage of our daily happy hour offerings. I have shared your comments with our team and mentioned to our chef that you really enjoyed the Pork dish.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Habitat in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager
Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    8
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incredible happy hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The food and wine/cocktails here are so good and so reasonably priced from 4 to 6pm. Try the sweet potato fries and the bruschetta, with the Miles from Nowhere red - yum-may!! This hotel is first-class and the food just reinforces that.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Habitat Restaurant Patron,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your last visit to Habitat. It is great when we hear from our guests and knowing how we are doing. It is great that you were able to take advantage of our happy hour offerings and took advantaged of perfect wine pairing. Our Food and Beverage Team and Chef take a lot of pride in providing high quality food and wine at a reasonable price. The brushetta that you mention is one of my personal favorites as well and always well received by our guests.
Thanks again for posting a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Habitat in the near future to take advantage of the many promotional nights that we are hosting.
Kind Regardds,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager-Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Impeccable Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went there for Breakfast based upon a recommendation even though we weren't staying at that hotel. It was so good that we returned again the next day. The waiters are charming and quick to refill your coffee or juice. The food was delicious. Had the omelette both days as it was really light and fluffy. Nice view of the mountains from within the restaurant and the prices are very reasonable. I highly recommend this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Habitat Restaurant and Bar Patron,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your past visit to Habitat. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience the first time that you had to return for a second breakfast. Habitat is a great little gem in Canmore for all meal periods. Our team is committed to delivering a very high standard and service and providing high quality food. I am glad that even though you were not staying with us in the hotel, that you were able to experience Habitat. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are back in Canmore.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager-Grande Rockies Resort/Habitat Restaurant and Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Lousy service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Habitat restaurant was not that great. We had breakfast and a light supper there and the food was mediocre at best. The service was slow and not that good at all. The resort itself that it is in is fabulous, but I would not eat there again for sure.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRRSales, General Manager at Habitat Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Habitat Resaturant Patron,
Thank you for taking the time post a review on your recent visit to Habitat. On behalf of the restaurant, I apologize that your experience was not great and you found the service not to be at par of where it is expected to be. Service is something that we pride ourselves on and deliver to our guests each and everyday. When we fall short of that, we need to ensure we are doing the proper follow up to this. I would like the opporutnity to discuss your conerns further with you and get more details on your experience. Please do not hesistate to contact me directly at 403.679.5201 or jason.guyitt@granderockies.com.
I look forward to speaking with you soon.
Kind Regards,
Jason Guyitt
General Manager-Grande Rockies Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonerful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My spouse and I ate here on a Sunday night, so needless to say, it was not busy. As a result, we had wonderful relaxed service here and attention from not 1 but 2 very knowledgable and friendly servers. The food was excellent. We had the pork cheek ravioli, braised bison short ribs and the lamb duo, all of which were beautifully prepared. I am also a big fan of their Sunday evening half-price on the wine, a nice touch. Will definitely return.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Habitat Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
Canmore, Kananaskis Country
 

Been to Habitat Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habitat Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.