We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay at a fraction of a banff hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Econo Lodge Canmore

Save Saved
You added Econo Lodge Canmore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Canmore
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1602 2nd Avenue (Hwy. 1A), Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE BANFF DAY PASS
Ranked #6 of 32 hotels in Canmore
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Decent stay at a fraction of a banff hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

The service was very good, the rooms were clean, and the stay was very comfortable. I chose this hotel because it was pet friendly and way cheaper then staying in banff. All and all I will probably stay here again in the future. They also offer a decent continental breakfast !

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    88
    76
    21
    3
    1
See reviews for
47
81
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at the property for one night on our way back from Calgary to Kelowna. The room was fine for our purposes as a one night stay, and that they accomodate a dog is great as well. At check in we ran into a bit of a glitch as the room we were assigned was not made up for some reason. The MOD - Kyle Lamothe - asked us for our patienance and called to get housekeeping in to get the room ready. We walked into Canmore for a drink and on our return all was ready. The next day, we were taken care of by Kyle again as a result of teh inconvenience we had faced the night before. This was actually our second stay here and Kyle was on duty that time as well and handled everyitnign with the utmost professionalism.

The only other recommendation would be to have a once over of the rooms to fix small issues - slow draining sink for example. Good value for the location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

We were very happy with our recent two night stay at this clean, well kept (new carpeting, neatly painted) property. We were greeted by a cheerful, welcoming desk clerk. Our room was large, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was updated and featured a jacuzzi tub. There was a gas fireplaces, flat screen TV, refer and microwave. The free breakfast included boiled eggs, yogurt, apples and oranges, cereal and breads, coffee tea and cocoa. But best of all, was the view! We had a room on the second floor front of the building with a sliding glass door that opened out to a wide terrace with a spectacular view of a snow capped mountain range!! Sitting out there with a warm drink and watching the sun set over the peaks was the perfect end to a day exploring Jasper and Banff parks. There are several interesting restaurants in Canmore. We thought staying here was a great alternative to the pricier hotels in the town of Banff. We will be sure to book a room here (and request second floor front), if we ever have the good luck to be able to visit this area again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When we checked in, the desk clerk said “All we have left is a standard room. Would that be ok?” She looked genuinely apologetic, enough to make me ask “Is there anything wrong with the standard room?” She said that is was only two queen beds and a regular room. Ok... that’s pretty much the same anywhere, isn’t it? We requested a later check out and requested that we not be disturbed until that time. The clerk readily agreed to both requests.

The room basically looked like any other standard hotel room... fridge, TV... you know the drill. The view left a little to be desired... a back alley and the back yards of 3 houses. It seemed reasonably clean but the tub had some "little black hairs" that did not come from either of us. The bed was super hard and embarrassingly loud, considering we could hear the conversations in the next room... in fact I even heard a zipper from the next room! And then... SURPRISE! In walked the cleaning staff after I had mocked my husband for making such a big deal about our not being disturbed until our later check out time. I told him all we had to do was put out the DO NOT DISTURB sign, but oddly enough there wasn’t one.

For an extra $6 per person you can upgrade to a free breakfast (Two types to choose from or you can pick anything off the menu for $10 per person discount) The breakfast was delicious. We both agreed it was the best breakfast we could remember in a very long time.

The fact that the desk clerk seemed apologetic to give us this room makes me think the other ones must be better. The restaurant was excellent, but expensive. (Worth it.) The main reason we picked this hotel was that it was walking distance to restaurants and anything else we needed so it served it’s purpose. Amazing place? Nope.

Room Tip: If the clerk looks apologetic when she’s handing you the keys, there’s probably a good reason! Room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicamous, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Last weekend my wife and I were going to a wedding at Silvertip in Canmore. We didn't know where to stay but one of my friends mentioned the Econo Lodge. He said it was a good price so we booked. As it turned out I got the seniors rate and he didn't because he is one year younger. In all we booked 4 rooms for the Saturday night. We arrived early (1pm) and asked if we might check in early. The front desk lady who was very nice said she would check to see if it was clean. It was and we checked in three hours early, no charge. Upon entering our room we found it very clean, quite large, with a fridge, stove, microwave, large screen TV, fireplace and Jacuzzi tub, quite a lot more than we expected. After a good night at the wedding we slept in till almost 9:30, unheard of for us, must have been the bed. We met the friends in the restaurant which was next door, but attached. We had discount vouchers from the front desk ($6) and had an excellent meal. It should be noted we could have had the free breakfast but we slept too late and it was over.
I would not hesitate to stay at the Econo Lodge again. My only build would be to have the continental breakfast on a little later, but then who sleeps till 9:30!!,
I also note it is a Choice Hotel so we got our points!

Room Tip: Ask for a fireplace and Jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We booked a standard King Bedroom for 1 night and loved it! We were pleased that we got the corner room on the 2nd floor with very beautiful mountain view. Very good value for the price.
Loved the fireplace, the TV, the jacuzzi tub, and the view. The room was in good condition, but the mattress was pretty old - husband woke up with a back pain. We will definitely come back because of the price and the location. The front desk staff were pretty friendly, too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldstream, British Columbia, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Once the town fixes the road to the lodge this will be as convenient as one can ask for. Clean room with a fire place, a big screen TV and since the room was on the back side no road traffic and I didn't hear a train, either. WiFi included - I didn't use it since I make it a point to have a holiday from the Internet, too.

Room Tip: Rooms out the back are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Econo Lodge Canmore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Canmore

Address: 1602 2nd Avenue (Hwy. 1A), Canmore, Alberta T1W 1M8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Kananaskis Country > Canmore
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Canmore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Canmore 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Econo Lodge Canmore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Canmore Alberta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Econo Lodge Canmore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.